Fiction logo

The Chase

Running for our lives.

By Bridget GrubbsPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
4

Everything was blanketed in pristine snow. Flower beds and bushes were lost under the weight. Drifts of it covered the backyard with smooth designs. As if the wind were using snow as her art medium. The trees seemed to be the only thing able to stand against it.

The blinding, white light of it all attacked my eyes through the glass window. I blinked to adjust. My pupils constricted in discomfort but I dared not move a muscle. It was out there… waiting. If I looked away for a moment… I would lose its position.

He called me to the front door. Against my better judgement, I rushed to peer out the glass where he stood. I scanned through the falling snow, searching... Ah! There it was. The door swung open and I was gone. Like a coiled spring releasing every muscle in my body, I surged forward and flew off the porch. I didn't mind that my toes connected with the cold snow.

Racing across the back yard, my speed was slowed by the tall mounds with every step. Frigid, white powder flecked my face. The snowy landscape made it hard to pinpoint exactly where it was at… Just as I made it halfway across the yard, the tall ears of the rabbit popped up to face me. He high-tailed in the opposite direction. It was now or never. I pounced a moment too late… he escaped under the fence. I whined sadly at the opening.

thrillerMicrofictionAdventure
4

About the Creator

Bridget Grubbs

An artist with writer's inspiration and a reader's mind. Taken some creative writing courses and looking to improve my craft with short stories. I love history, fantasy, romance, thrillers, comedy, and spreading a good smile with words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Gigi Gibson3 months ago

    That was awesome Bridget! I was there chasing the rabbit too! You put the reader right into the story. Well done.

  • Jazzy 3 months ago

    I loved this, from the view of a dog I'm guessing??? Great and very original!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.