Fiction logo

The Changing of the Times

A Conversation in Between

By Tales from a MadmanPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
2
The Changing of the Times
Photo by Nathan Anderson on Unsplash

Upon a dark, dusty mountaintop, two shadowy figures discuss the times. Their silhouettes stark against the dusky sky behind them as the sun is chased behind the horizon by the night sky.

"It is now that we may share, but you shall be gone by morning. Briefly abandoning me for the dawn." Says the taller of the two.

"Fret not, my friend, for I am always here and shall never be gone. Even when most are distracted and seem to have forgotten me." Replies the other figure.

"Yes, so many look right past you. Hoping, I suppose, to have a glimpse at me. Eternally guessing at my visage and hoping to alter me in their favor."

"Praytell, why do you imagine that such self-inflicted blindness may inspire so many and terrorize so many more?"

"Forgive my ignorance, but perhaps it is as much conundrum as your ever-present self so easily oversighted."

"Yes, here I stand, always and forever. Yet, rarely am I ever good enough. Most-seemingly fondness creeps in and out as I surround the multitude of madness that creates all life."

"Barely do they acknowledge the existence of you. While they are ever-aware of my impending arrival and delay."

"Surely, it is a lack of appreciation, or sense, for their own being. Each passing themselves plainly by as they seek someone else. Someone who's already done what they wish to do and is currently reaping the benefits thereof." The shorter figure says as it watches the last traces of light start the next day elsewhere in the world.

"And so you must on and away." Says to the empty air atop the mountain.

Gazing up at the night sky, the figure basks in the glory of the full moon and the stars dancing around her. Pristine and healthy she blesses the world with sight in the darkness, comfort in the unknown, and hope in bleakness.

"Another gone and another to come." Says a third figure, but now second. Slightly shorter than the previous silhouette, this one is here without arriving. "I have departed and thusly now I am here."

"Thusly so." Replies the tall figure. "Do you ever wonder upon the rest?"

"The way I see it, you and I are the rest. What remains, is neither the beginning, nor the end, but always the middle. Forever the same and always different."

"You and I are immutable, yet so intangible. They perceive us how they prefer." States the taller.

"Yes, which only the most blessed, or most cursed, can do with the rest."

"Ah, rest. Rest, by any other name would be as melodic to the weary. Despite the best laid plans and hardest made efforts may never come as they wish, yet is the only true guarantee I bring." The figure closes with a sigh.

"For my part in it, rest may be achieved. Though... it rarely seems enough. Like everything else with me."

"I feel it too. The ever present lack they face and create."

"Blessedly for you, however, you are unforgettable. Unattainable for some, unavoidable for others, and unwavering for many. You sneak and you rush and you insist on persisting."

"While I acknowledge your plight in being forgotten, I must attest to you. Those who dare to ignore you or let you slip entirely from sight are terribly mistaken. Through this self-inflicted ignorance, they shape me in your image."

"Ha, so they say and so they defy."

The two figures share a brief chuckle as the light climbs the mountain reaching toward their backs.

"I suppose it is time yet again." The taller figure concedes to reality.

"I suppose it is. I'll see you, Tomorrow."

By George Coletrain on Unsplash

Thanks for reading and...

Good Fortune to You

@TalesFromAMadman

FableMicrofiction
2

About the Creator

Tales from a Madman

@TalesFromAMadman

.. the figure in question had out-Heroded Herod, and gone beyond the bounds of even the Prince's indefinite decorum.

The Masque of the Red Death

Edgar Allan Poe

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.