Fiction logo

The Candle In The Window

Cabin Story Rendition #2

By Z-ManPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1

"The cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years, but one night, a candle burned in the window."

"As legend goes, whosoever glimpses it first must venture within, alone, to discover what has been left behind."

"It has been said that a treasure beyond all imagining lies deep inside, unguarded, there for the taking by whomever is brave enough to risk all for it."

(I pan over the flickering faces around me.)

"There is but one warning, my friends: that the way to the treasure shall close by midnight of the ember's sighting. And the hidden pathway shall close, regardless of where, or if, any traveler remains."

"It has been said that many have tried to take on the challenge by strength of faith and will alone, but those many have been lost to the final turn of that ethereal key. That key of time lost."

"I won't keep you under false pretenses. I have never found the path, nor have I witnessed the mystical candle or its ghostly flame; not once in my many years on the hunt in these woods have I found any evidence of cabin or of supernatural insight. However, someone has, and in my confidence did relay their own experience of this haunting legend."

"That someone is very much here with us tonight."

(I pan again, taking care not to linger on the object of my secrecy.)

"I will do my best to honor their experience through my own voice."

"As their account was fashioned for me, this person--who we'll call Jordan--caught sight of the candle one day and, being an achiever of high degree, took on the challenge with confidence and stride. They moved up to the cabin's maw on swift wings, the candle like the North Star, fulfilled in its duty to lead all home to that glorious lost treasure."

"This person--Jordan--steadied their pack and pulled the door open wide. Its handle was ancient, but surprisingly sturdy, and fit their grip with ease."

"The foyer was dark and drab, a mask the rest surely must follow. Jordan checked their watch. It was 3:13 PM. Plenty of time to search for the treasure. But delay would not be allowed to cost. For Jordan set about with vehemence to discover the secret entrance to that oft-spoken glory."

(I sip my coffee and ruminate on the details to follow.)

"By simple logic, they began in the basement, knowing any hidden path must start from there. They scoured the basement high and low, and found nothing. They looked at their watch: it was 4:07 PM."

"Undaunted by this disappointment, the realization came: that it would surely be on the ground floor, then. Basements were so cliched, after all."

"So Jordan probed the contents of every cabinet, every basin, every floorboard...anything with space beyond to mask the key. But, once again, nothing was found. The watch remained the only confessor. It read, simply: 4:47 PM."

"It was by this trying turn of events that the legend had begun to lose something of its luster. Barring an attic, there was only one floor left to check. Jordan could only figure the way to the treasure must involve a trick dumbwaiter or laundry chute. Yet, there had been no sign of either in the basement. The squared room and many windows had revealed no suspicious internal, or external, deviations to the cabin walls."

"Still, with faith, Jordan pressed on. Every square inch of space was studied and prodded, every potential totem worked to excessive degrees. Indeed, there was an attic, and Jordan's ritual stopped at nothing to uncover the truth."

"But, still, there was no gateway to be found."

(I close my eyes and draw out the time a bit.)

"Unless..."

(I pause and look at the drawn out faces beyond me. I let them wonder a bit. I close my eyes once more.)

"No, they reasoned. No. It could not have been that easy. Of course, their desire would not be kept leashed, and they knew it. Against no insurmountable odds, they figured what they always had: that it was worth a shot."

"With an adventurer's thrive, Jordan returned to the ground floor, approached the candle...and extinguished the flame."

"In an instant, a mechanical rumbling echoed through the cabin, and something began to move. Jordan ran through the rooms, tracing the source of the sound, seeking to find where it must level out."

"Indeed, they found, the entrance must have been within the attic. So, with thudding heart and burning fascination, Jordan ran for the top floor and awaited the revelation swiftly to come."

"Within moments of their arrival, it did."

"But as darkness swiftly begot darkness, the treasure was revealed not in form, but in words. Words spoken from the darkened recess that had appeared in shadow ahead."

"My compliments to you, Seeker. You must know now that such wondrous bounty is indeed contained within these many walls. Yet, what you must find now is the will to accept the truth: that that treasure is life, and it is a tremulous treasure, indeed. For you see, mine had been lost long ago, and all too well I have learned its ultimate value. I had fashioned this puzzle to reveal but one thing to all those who sought to fulfill my prophecy: that that treasure is the only one worth venturing for. It is my curse to rob of and to give unto you at this mighty crossing, and for what it is worth, I indeed do apologize. Now go, Seeker. Go. Go and breath of Nature's air and sip of its Bounty; rejoice in the Laughter of Those you shall meet, and meet once again. For They are such things as gold and all its properties will never but Dream to be."

"And as the maw closes once more, Jordan pores over the words that have been set before them. With adventurous heart, a new journey has unveiled itself ahead."

"And as the front door approaches once more, there is but one last surprise to behold: that the candle has burned to the wick."

Mystery
1

About the Creator

Z-Man

\m/,

Hello all! I am an aspiring vocalist, filmmaker + writer. I hope you gain something personal + inspiring from my work here. You are also welcome to subscribe to my YouTube Channel: Ad-Libbing With The Zman.

Thank You!

Zach

B']

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.