Fiction logo

The Cabin Boy and the Rat

A microfiction short tale of tragedy and the disloyalty of pets

By Rachel DeemingPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
6
The Cabin Boy and the Rat
Photo by Joshua J. Cotten on Unsplash

So, there we are. I'm tucked up nicely in the cabin boy's pocket when the Captain tells us we're going to be thrown off the ship! I've seen this before - crew member is forced to walk this plank, off the side of the ship and into the deep blue yonder. And is never seen again.

Ever.

I soon move, I can tell you and poke my snout out of the opening and sniff the air. I smell excitement, salt and feet. But also those dry crackers they keep in the hold. They'll keep for later.

The boy notices and says, "Don't worry, Ratty. We'll be alright," and his backside is prodded by one of those sharp things they try and kill me with (as if they're fast enough!) and there's cheering and I smell something else.

Fear.

And then, he's stepping up, my feeder and he's quivering and quavering and blubbering the whole time and I'm thinking, "I'd better get out of here." I'm starting to panic myself because the big 'un, the bosun, is on the plank too, laughing madly and jumping up and down, cheered on by the others and the plank's bouncing.

And just as he goes over the edge, I make a leap for it and cling to the edge of the plank.

Phew!

Last thing he sees is me looking down at him, his arms flailing as he hits the drink.

"Ratty!" he shouts. "NO!"

Is this ship sinking? I don't think so.

***

This story was written in response to the Vocal Social Society prompt to write a microfiction story of 250 words or less about "A Pet on a Boat."

The moral of the story? Choose your pets wisely.

FantasyShort StoryMicrofictionExcerptAdventure
6

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Sian N. Clutton9 months ago

    Excellent! Earned his name of Ratty!

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Ooooh the dirty rotten scoundrel, saving his own skin! What a rat 😁

  • Never trust rats! Scabbers from Harry Potter and Ratty from your story are perfect examples! Some humans are rats too but I digress, lol! Loved your story!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    Rachel I loved this! You chose a clever narrative and I love that you alluded to the saying about how rats are first to leave a sinking ship! I'm sad he's separated from the boy but I don't think he would have done well in the water either! Great story!! Loved it!

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Nicely done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.