Fiction logo

The Box Dilemma

Both boxes and love come in all shapes and sizes.

By Julianne McKennaPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 7 min read
20
The Box Dilemma
Photo by Zachary Keimig on Unsplash

My day always begins with breakfast in bed. Sometimes eggs and bacon, other times a ham and cheese omelette. On the weekend I may even have a little smoked salmon or Eggs Benedict. Don't you dare tell me I am spoilt? I am just very much loved and fortunate. Not all of us have been so lucky in life. This is the way it has always been since I was born. I have accepted this as my life, and I am in no hurry for anything to change.

Snuggling back under the doona, I have decided it is too early for me to be awake or make a move. The mattress is soft and comfortable, and the doona is snug and warm, just like being wrapped in a cocoon. The body heat beside me is perfect and I snuggle up against the warm back, stretching luxuriously on the silk sheets. Why waste energy dealing with the cold outside world when everything I need is right here in our bed?

I must have dozed off again as there is no one beside me when I wake the second time. They have gone. I don't remember hearing them saying goodbye or closing the front door. When will they return? What if something happens to me while they are absent? How can I feel safe and secure when there is a wild world at my very doorstep? What if someone knocks on the front door? What do I do? Panic and hide until they leave? I sigh. That's too many thoughts for someone who has just woken up and not yet had lunch!

Food. I need food. What if there is none in the house? What if I starve before anyone finds me? Damn. I've got to stop making myself panic so much! I'm sure there must be something in the kitchen. I shall go and have a look before I scare myself silly. I've got a warm coat on so I guess I don't need to worry about feeling the cold before I can return to my bed. I pitter-patter slowly down the hallway, listening carefully in case there are any unexpected surprises (read: burglars) as I really dislike those. No, I am not scared of my own shadow! Whatever gave you that idea?

The kitchen is quiet and still, and filled with sunshine from the windows that overlook the back garden. With a little rummaging around I find some biscuits and what looks like a lobster and vegetable broth. Yes, that will do just fine. I'm not going to starve after all. Might as well wash it all down with some milk. Every girl needs their calcium to keep those curves looking perfect, nails strong, and teeth pearly white.

Sitting on a chair at the kitchen table, I can feel the warm sun on my back. I give myself the once over, making sure I have removed all crumbs and drips. One must always look their best in case of any photo opportunities that may arise. Besides, I don't want people to refer to me as the filthy and unkempt one, who can't be bothered with her appearance. That would never be acceptable.

Feeling satiated and full, it's time to do a little tour of the house. I don't feel as if I have the energy for exercise right this minute, so I guess I can bypass the gym room. The exercise wheel in there is waiting for me, but it will have to wait. I survey the dining room, but it looks a little dull and uninviting, with nothing exciting to entice me in there. The view in the loungeroom is much better. The tall, wide glass windows reflect the sun and are warm to the touch. I think I shall just sit here for a while and enjoy the view of the verandah and front garden. It is peaceful and quiet, and before I know it, I find myself dozing off once again.

There is a noise, and I awaken with a start. Looking around the room I determine that nothing is out of order. Hmm...I wonder what disturbed my sleep? Rolling over from my sleeping position, I can see the pathway that leads up to the front door. Wait! What's that??? That wasn't there before! Where did that come from? Sitting on the top step of the front verandah is a suspicious box, wrapped in brown paper. I don't remember anyone saying anything about a delivery? Should I be worried about what is in the box? I don't like mysterious surprises arriving while I am asleep! I will leave the box for someone else to find. Feeling a little anxious, I wander off to find a snack. Food always makes me feel better.

I hear the rumble of the bike engine before it turns into the driveway. He's finally come back home! I have missed him so much as I race down the hallway to the front door. I can hear the thump of his boots on the front steps, and then the click and turn of the key in the lock as the front door swings open. I am only wearing my coat, but this doesn't seem to phase him as he scoops me into his arms, and I wrap my limbs around his neck, nibbling on his ear.

"Nikita quit that! It tickles, and I have to grab the delivery. Just wait a minute," he murmurs to me as he puts me down. Picking up the strange box, he walks inside, closing the front door behind him, and with long strides, heads down the hallway to the kitchen. I follow on his heels. He is not going to distract me that easily! Before I can make my move though, he has placed that damn mysterious box on the kitchen floor, right in front of me.

"I thought you would be excited, Nikita. This is a special surprise for you," he says with a big smile on his face. "Shall we open it?"

I look at the box. I look at him. And I wait. I have no plans on opening a box that holds goodness knows what inside! Does he think I am crazy enough to open a box when I have no idea what it may contain?

Looking disappointed at my reaction, he grabs a letter opener and slices the top of the box open. He fiddles with the flaps of the box, and suddenly they pop up. I am still not convinced that this is a good idea and sit down to watch. He bends over, putting his arms inside the box, and I can hear rustling sounds as he wraps his hands around something. With one quick movement, he lifts a large shape out of the box and what looks like snow, falls to the kitchen floor.

"Nikita, come here. I want to show you what you got," he calls to me. I respond with a yawn, and casually saunter over to see what he is holding. Whatever it is, it doesn't look very exciting to me. But on second thought, the now empty box is on its side, and the "snow" has tumbled out onto the kitchen floor.

Without warning, my instincts kick in, and I leap into the box, causing the pieces of snow to fly into the air, looking like an inside snow flurry, and the box to slide across the polished wooden floor. I charge out of the box, chasing snow flurries around the kitchen, and bolting back into the box, which slides again, bouncing off the legs of a kitchen stool.

He laughs and places the item he is holding on the floor, watching me do my snow dance in the kitchen.

"I should have known. Typical cat that loves the box more than what's inside it! While you are busy destroying my kitchen, I'll go hang this window bed in the lounge room window so you can relax while you watch the birds," he said with a sigh. "Geez, I am so glad I spent all that money so that I could make you happy with an empty box. Cats are so weird!", he muttered to himself as he walked away to the loungeroom.

"MEOW!", I replied and dived for the box once again, a flurry of styrofoam balls sailing into the air.

By Nathana Rebouças on Unsplash

*****************************************

Thank you for taking the time to read my story. This little action by you is greatly appreciated by me. If you enjoyed what I have written, please make sure to click on the heart button, and leave some love... and please feel free to share with others (if you enjoyed my story they might too), this is a wonderful (and free) way to show support for me. If you are truly impressed with my writing, tips are also most welcome (but are completely optional and not expected). :)

Contact Information:

Twitter: @JulesMcKenna13

Instagram: @theblingprincess

Facebook: Julianne McKenna

Short Story
20

About the Creator

Julianne McKenna

I write because my heart tells me to, I read because I love stories that make my eclectic soul happy. I'm an artist, scrapbooker, book nerd, animal lover, traveller and free spirit. Twitter: @JulesMcKenna13 Instagram: @theblingprincess

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.