Fiction logo

The Black Scarlet Macaw

The story of a lost, forgotten Black Scarlet Macaw. Who realized he had to do the most evil thing he thought of, to be payed attention to.

By Madison B. Published 3 years ago 9 min read
2

Everyone around me viewed me as different. Viewed me as the one who was never meant to belong. Who was never meant to exist. I lived most of my life in the shadows, dreaming, praying of a day of when I could come out. I stayed there for years, not knowing what to do. And that’s when it hit me; if the world would not notice me, I would have to do the worst thing I could do, to make sure they‘d pay attention. And let me tell you, after the the most wonderful, the most worst thing I did, everyone payed attention to me…

Let me start off with introducing myself. Hello, my name is Harron (unfortunate name isn’t it?), and I am the only Black Scarlet Macaw in the world. My mom said it was a wonderful gift. Other macaws would praise me, look up to me, wish to be me, “would treat me as a king” she said. And even people, human beings, would come down to the forest, take photos, admire me, make me the highlight of the news. People from all across the nations would come down, just to see me. I’m sad to say, she was wrong. No one came to see me, to look up to me, or to admire me. From other macaws I was put to shame. They ridiculed me, called me a loser, said I wasn’t pretty. And honestly, when I looked at them, I saw the truth in that last one. They all were beautiful! Red, blue, green, shining colors streaming all the way down their backs and wings. And oh their wings! How they sparkled and shined! The colors dripping off like a water fall as they gently soared across the blue sky. I wish I was like that. But no, I was black. And not a beautiful, midnight black that shimmered in the rays of the sunset. But a dark, old, decaying like black that stuck onto me like tar. I was lost, I was ugly, I was horrifying, I was depressed, I was the only Black Scarlet Macaw in the world, but in no way did I feel special. I felt, “un-special”. How else could you put that? I felt worn, I felt beaten up, I felt disgusting, revolting, like a loser, like I was never meant to exist.

But that day, when I came up with that grand idea! Where people had to notice me! If I did the worst, despicabl, most baddest thing I could do, then they would pay attention. The idea didn’t strike me until I noticed something veyr peculiar. I noticed that when I wasn’t in the shadows, all the fellow macaws deliberately ignoared me. But when I was in the shadows, I happened to catch that they couldn’t see me! And that’s when my brain made my perfect plan. This is the train of thoughts I had at that moment.

”They don’t notice me! Not on purpose this time at least… Wait, they can’t see me! I blend in perfectly with the shadows surrounding. I could get away with anything I pleased and if I stayed in the shadows. No one would take notice of my presence! I could get away with stealing, or doing something I shouldn’t. Ah yes! I can picture it now! It would be all over the macaw news, and those peoples papers. They would all be asking the same questions. “Who is this masked bandit? Who is stealing in such amazing feats of wonder? Who is this deranged maniac? When will he strike next?” Everyone would take notice of me then! Yes! That is exactly as I should do!”

So I set off in my adventure. And here is how is went…

It started off like any other day, the trees were swaying in the wind, the beautiful birds were gliding effortlessly across the horizon. My mother ignoring me as always. At this point in the story I should probably tell you my reader, that my mother left. That’s right, just 1 month after I was born, she left me, and now pretends I don’t even exist. I remember her exact words that day, “it’s not you personally dear. It’s your looks that make you a disgrace, a shame. I cannot be seen with you darling. Take care of yourself, run along now, leave. They won’t let you live here, they think you don’t belong here. And honestly, I think… I know, you don’t belong anywhere.” And with that, she flapped her wings and danced gracefully in the sky away. That seized a piece of my heart and ripped it out. And every time I see my mother flying in the sky, I sense that hole rising up again.

But now was time for my revenge. So I sat in wait in the shadows, waiting for my victim. While I was waiting, I started to plan out my next victim! It would be a lovely steal… ah the thrill of the steal! How much I want it! But, I would have to wait for the right time. Waiting… playing the waiting game. Something I have learned and mastered.

Oh but I didn’t have to wait any longer! There, I saw my victim. He glided gracefully with his long blue wings and showing off his yellow patches around his face displaying his beauty. I could sense the anger and hurt in me, it started to bubble up from my stomach… I thought I was going to throw up out of disgust.

The Blue Macaw flew straight above me. I knew him of course. His name was Johnson. And every week he flew to his brothers house and brought him a gift. But each time this gift was special in its own way. Last week he brought him an orchid. But to both of them it was something special. Their grandmother gave both of them an orchid right before she died. So orchids meant something to them. Another time, Johnson gave his brother a necklace with his initials on it that was made by humans. You see, Johnson and his brother (Billy) grew up around humans, even made some friends. And that necklace was made by an old friend who’s relationship with them went way back.

This week I saw Johnson was carrying what looked like a homemade cookie. He flew just above the shadows where I hid. Using my stealth and silent wings, I flew directly beneath him in the black. I then spun slowly, my back to the earth and my talons carrying a large rock similar to the size and shape of the cookie (I picked it up seconds ago) near his talons. No one saw me or heard me when I silently swapped the rock with the cookie. Now I had the cookie, he had the rock. And silently I dropped, wings at my side, down to the ground. Then I soared just as gracefully as the rest of them as I triumphantly spread my wings again nearing the dirt and flew to a nearby branch. And in celebration, I devoured the cookie I had stolen. Then I silently followed Johnson once more just to see his brothers reaction when he hands him a normal, ordinary, plain rock. And it was very enjoyable to see the shock in Billy’s eyes to receive a rock. And to see the horror in Johnson’s eyes to see the cookie missing and replaced with a rock...

And that ladies and gentleman, was just the beginning.

Over time I mastered the art of steal even more! I started to steal from humans as well as all creatures of all sorts. And to make sure others would know it was me who came by, I’d leave my signature mark. What’s my signature mark? I’m glad you asked! I left a rose with thorns crawling all around it.

I became very popular all over the world. Even though I only committed these crimes in the area of where I lived, I became a legend. A wonderful legend indeed! My little house I lived in filled up with jewels, gold, necklaces, even cupcakes, cookies, food, and a many of books! I love to read, so I steal books often. But I will be honest, things got out of hand…

I don’t know how this happened. Or what exactly happened. All I remember is that beautiful bracelet sitting on a desk. I remember how it shined and glimmered in the sun, and how it seemed to whisper to me. I wanted, no, I needed it! Next thing I remember, is me swooping down to grab it. I remember then a flash of light, a hand, a knife, a shriek, a gasp, a struggle to breath (on my part), and the color red. I gasped a loud after the event as I quickly took hold of the shinning shimmering bracelet, and I quickly flapped my tar wings and back to my house I flew…

Long story short my dear reader, the world came to know of my existence. Once a murder was taken place, the whole world began to search even harder for this mysterious being. One of my old “friends” (I never really had any friends in the first place. But the ones who I did call my “friends” were at least a slight bit nicer then everyone else.) came to me to talk. He said he has noticed I’ve been more sheltered then normal. He then gave a long speech about how I should tell the truth of what’s really been going on. To be honest I wasn’t listening to most of what he had to say. I was looking at his beautiful feathers. How I wished for those! Even though I now had the attention I wanted, I still adorned for some green, red, yellow, or blue on me.

He finally finished his speech (again, to which I was half listening) and he asked me, “so, Harron, you’ve been sneaking off places so much recently. Are you the mystery stealer?”

”No! Why would you think that?” I exclaimed.

”Because it’s obvious. You’ve been sneaking off every day that a stealing would happen. And all the witnesses say that they always see a blur of black swipe in. That my friend, is you! And now… murder??? Hadron this has gone too far!” He said.

”It’s not me! You’ve got the wrong guy!”

”I think all that good and silver in your house would prove I’m right!” He said. I knew I was stuck…

And that was how everyone came to know who I was. I was put in birdie jail after the human cops found me. However, I do still feel happy to this day. Many humans who looked up to me daily come to my cell to talk, get my signature, and ask me questions. Now to a regular being like you my dear reader, you may not understand why these such beautiful people (and macaws) looked up to me. They did because they also all had their own flaws. They too were shunned out and ashamed for what they had become. Not all of them agreed with what I did, but they appreciated how I stood up for myself.

Now my reader, that is something I've been trying to say all throughout this story. I have learned that every living thing in this world is special. It may not be because of their looks, but because of their wits, skills, and strengths. As that old saying goes, "never judge a book by its cover." And that I have found to be oh so true. I judged myself by my cover, not even I saw my true beauty within. I realized I am a nice gentle macaw, I just let my feelings take hold of me. Yes, I know I will be in prison for the rest of my life, but I deserve it for all the chaos and ruin I've made. I now can spend the rest of my days making friends in this prison. Yes, it may not be the best life. But inside I finally feel the closure I've searched for dearly. So take this into account; I made the biggest mistake one could make. I saw myself as revolting disgusting loser. So learn from me, that even though you may be put to shamed by others because of your appearance, that doesn't mean you are not special, that you are not loved by someone out there, that you weren't meant to ever exist. Because we all have a purpose in life. So go ahead, put down my story, get up-

And go find yours...

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Madison B.

I love to write stories! I ❤ music (TOP, GD, MCR, SD, SWS, BVB, PTV, MIW, P!ATD, FAB, GS, B-182, FIR, ATL, MP, AY), the MCU, & animals. I hope u enjoy my stories and poems as much as I do! Have a great day! :)

Mystery

Thriller

Poems

Fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.