Fiction logo

The Big Splash!

A Mermaid's Tail

By Megan Ashley WhitedPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1

“I told you,” I began running towards the end of the dock “TODAY IS THE DAY!”

My heart raced as I heard my feet pound on the wood with every step. As I reached the edge, I used all my might and leaped into the air. I jumped so high that for a moment I felt like I was soaring… while in midair I realized that in all of the excitement of convincing all of my parents I was old enough to go into the ocean and embrace being a mermaid, I completely forgot that I have not been in the ocean since I was born. And that was ten years ago. Needless to say, I don't know how to swim.

Upon this realization I was filled with panic and until I came crashing down into the surface of the water. I smacked so hard that I am pretty sure I caused multiple hurricanes around the world.

After my body sank into the ocean, I became fully submerged and the world fell silent. “I am pretty sure I am going to drown, but man is it peaceful.” I slowly opened my eyes and began to look around as I continued to slowly sink. “Wow, this is breathtaking.” I said out loud. I tried to move my arms and legs, but I couldn’t. All these years later and I still cannot swim or float.

My mind began to race with questions. How can I visit Briny if I can’t survive under water? Will I ever be able to lead Briny and follow in my mother’s finprints? Why does my whole body hurt? Does a tail actually make the mermaid?

Around me the water began to move and splash. I felt the hands of my father embrace me and yank me back towards the surface. Before I knew it, I was back on the edge of the dock.

"Are you okay Margo?" FinnTastic quickly swam over to me.

I rolled over and coughed. “A little banged up but I will be alright… why did no one tell me the water is so hard?”

My mother, father, and FinnTastic all gasped in relief before chuckling. My father leaned in. “Well, my little minnow, you are supposed to dive in, not ‘belly flop’.” He booped my nose gently.

“I was trying to do a cannonball like Marcus always does, but I panicked when I remembered that I don’t know how to swim.” I replied.

“You gotta commit little sis.” Marcus said as he walked up from behind me and plopped down. “Besides, you are a fish. Of course you can swim.”

“I am not a fish, Marcus. I am a mermaid…” I turned to my parents. “But what if not having a tail actually makes a difference?”

My mother grabbed my hand. “Are you not the one who always says, ‘Tail or no tail, I am a mermaid’? Your whole life you have been determined to swim. Not just for the afternoon or for fun, but because you have a heart like the mother of the sea, and you were meant to swim. You are so incredibly special and that is not because you were born a little different. The ocean calls for you Margo.”

“The ocean?” I asked.

“Yes, my little minnow.” My father explained. “Your mother and I have not told you this story yet, but before we brought you here to live with Claire, Arlo, and Marcus, we took you to Briny’s best healer.”

“We wanted to try to learn more about your condition.” My mother added. “You could not swim or float, but you seemed to breathe perfectly. We were worried you would not thrive in Briny and that you could not survive on land.”

My father continued. “With no idea what to do with you, we went to visit the healer Hali. She was the best-known healer in all of the seas. She had advised us right before Cordelia became pregnant with you. When we brought you in, Hali was shocked. She had previously foreseen our daughter to be the best queen Briny would ever see. That vision had changed. She took you back to her healing room and began various enchantments. Your mother and I saw light flash multiple times until a soft glow of green began to illuminate from the back room. The glow strengthened until it was blinding. Then with a flash it was gone. Hali came out shortly after with you in her arms and told us that we could not keep you Briny. Devastated we brought you here.”

“When we returned to the castle, Hali greeted us and told us that she had omitted some information. She was wrong when she saw you as the best queen Briny would ever see, we could not keep you there because you were meant to help lead the whole sea.” My mother teared up. “We wanted to come back for you, but Hali made it clear that you are bigger than Briny. She said you could spend time there but tethering you there would bring ruin to the sea.”

“Are you sure this Hali lady got the right tailless mermaid?” Marcus cut in as he tried to hide his laughter. “Because I have spent way more time with Margo than her and I promise she is not that special.”

“I will have FinnTastic bite you.” I said to him as I stared deep into his eyes with rage.

Marcus jumped up. “You should really work on your aggression, little sis.” He turned around and walked away.

“Would you really ask me to bite him?” FinnTastic asked.

“Of course not! He would taste disgusting being so sour and all.” I paused. “But as long as he doesn’t know that it works.” Turning back to my mother and father. “So, what I am hearing you say is that I am a superhero of the sea?”

“Now why did we not come up with that?” My father laughed as he splashed me. “It is truly a fitting title, Queen Cordelia, her Councilor Bob, and their daughter, Margo, the superhero of the sea!”

“But if you are going to save the sea, you should probably learn to swim.” FinnTasitc stated.

“That is a very valid point, young FinnTastic.” My mother said, “So we might want to hold off on the ‘cannonballs’ until you can swim.”

“Well how else are you supposed to get in the water?” I retorted.

Quickly my father grabbed my hand and pulled me back into the water. He swam slowly as he pulled me along. My mother swam alongside us and grabbed my other hand. FinnTastic joined us and swam below me.

“Just focus on kicking your feet.” My mother said with a smile. “We are all right here with you, Margo.”

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.