Fiction logo

The Beginning pt.2

Some stories you can't skip

By Bruce ArnoldPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

She sat in the hospital scrubs, her eyes glistening with curiosity, elbows propped up on her knees. I expected her to be eager but this seemed a little much even for me. I hated when people stared at me and her big brown eyes made it abundantly clear. I almost turned bright red until I saw her gaze slowly soften until I felt I could speak freely.

"Do you remember Chrys?" I asked.

I figured I'd start with something I knew she'd like to hear. Plus the last time we had spoken I was still committed to the girl. She'd be really happy to hear how things had changed on that front. I shivered just thinking about the whole mess all those years ago. Had me and Chrys met now, things would have gone very differently

She sat back and said, "You mean Chrysanthemum? I remember her well. Didn't I warn you about her at some point? She was lying to you straight out the gate. "

"Yeeeeeaaah..." I groaned, "Well I didn't listen too well and she ended up ruining my life for another year. Though to be honest I didn't really listen to anyone."

Her eyes closed gently as she shook her head, "You thought you were in love. Young hearts are quick to assume and quick to trust. You have tell me how it ended though. I really hope you broke that little bitch's heart."

I chuckled, "Never heard you use that word before. Was she really that bad?"

"It's no secret I hated her," she answered, "And did you really just ask if she was that bad? You're the one who broke up with her and I want details. I've been sitting here waiting for three years for you to tell me something."

I scratched the back of my neck nervously and said, "True. Sorry about that. Got kinda busy...ish."

Three years ago I'd come to this room to talk with her and then disappeared. I guess for her nothing ever changed. She just sat here while my life went on and on and on. It'd give me a lot to talk about but it certainly wouldn't be fun when she started pouting over how much she'd missed out on. When we first met we spent a lot of time together. She was everywhere and then she wasn't. I thought I knew everything and didn't need help anymore. Looking back on it all now, I realize how wrong I had been. There were so many moments I needed her but was too proud to look for her. I couldn't make that mistake again. She might not come back.

"So how did you two split ways?" she asked, her tone regressing a bit.

"It's a long story," I joked, "Are you sure you wanna hear about it? I was kinda hoping to skim right through it."

"As many times as you complained about her? I'm curious as to what finally pushed you over the edge," she pressed, "It had to have been heavy if sleeping with the neighbor didn't scare you away."

She was right. The girl had done a lot and yet I never abandoned her. I definitely should have but for some reason, I never got the notion to. Someone once told me I'd make a lot of mistakes in high school. The last thing on my mind was falling for a girl with a name as long as her crimes.

I took a deep breath and sat back in the chair, "I really should have listened to you. Here it goes.....

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Bruce Arnold

I write. It's unclear to me if I am any good so I could use feedback. Let me know if I could improve on anything. My Instagram is @kalthurduran

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.