Fiction logo

The Barista

By:Richard Quinteros

By Richard QuinterosPublished 3 years ago 4 min read

The Barista

Today is the day, Today I will finally ask her out.

That is all I can think about as I slowly crawl out of bed. Today is the last chance I have; Today is Emma’s last day of work. Next to my job there is a small coffee shop, I usually go there on my lunch break, and I always order the same thing. One large caramel latte, with a small slice of chocolate cake. Every time I go, there is always the same barista working, we usually have small quick conversations as I order, and she always makes my day so much better. Her long blonde hair is usually tied back and strung through her work hat, her beautiful blue grey eyes always looking around making sure everything is running smoothly, she always smiles at me when she hands me my food and drink, and there is always a small new drawing on the cup that usually isn’t very good drawn on there. But honestly those little drawing and the way she just lights up the room is the real reason I go back; she is the reason I go back. She makes the day go by faster and helps me forget about everything I am going through at work that day. I work as a writer for the LA times and my day usually consists of writing, rewriting, and proofing stories from myself and my peers.

Today is the last day Emma works at the coffee shop, she told me last week after I ordered my usual. She made the joke that other than her who else is going to draw the little pictures on my latte. At that moment I should have asked her out to dinner, but I chickened out. I just could not get the words out and I got butterflies in my stomach, so I awkwardly smiled and shrugged my shoulders. I know that today if I want to see her again, I have ask her out or at the very least tell her how I feel. So made sure to get to work early today and get all my work done as soon as possible to take a longer lunch and give myself the best possible chance to ask her out.

After hours of working myself to the bone, it is breaktime. I make sure I save all the things I was working on and stop by the bathroom to make myself look presentable before I head to the coffee shop next door. I take the elevator down from the fifth floor, the closer and closer I get to the first floor I can feel myself getting more and more anxious. At last, I hear the “ding” and the elevator doors open leading out to the lobby. I take a deep breath, steel my nerves, and take a step out of the elevator and making my way towards the coffee shop. Standing outside the coffee shop I take another deep breath and open the doors.

That is when the aroma of freshly brewed coffee, fresh baked goods, and the sound of a sweet familiar voice. “Hi, welcome”

Emma’s smiles as she looks up from the drink she is making and sees it’s me, I can’t help but smile back seeing her. Emma looks over at the line and motions me over to the open register after she hands the drink to her coworker to finish up. I walk over passing the line. “Michael you know you don’t have to wait in line, I always have your order ready” Emma says laughing as she puts in my order on the register.

“I know I just don’t like skipping ahead of the line past the customers who are waiting, I am a customer too.” I say handing her my debit card.

“Yeah, but you’re not like those customers, your special.” Emma says as she takes the card from my hand.

I don’t know if it was maybe it was hot inside or just me, but I could feel my face instantly get red hot and I hoped Emma did not notice. What could she have meant that I was special I wondered, but I couldn’t worry about that now, I knew had to make my move soon. “So, Emma today is your last day right, did you find a new job or something?” I say nervously hoping I don’t embarrass myself.

Emma looks up from charging my card, “Yeah, today is my last day, I got a job at the LA Zoo working as a veterinarian.” She smiles and hands me back my card.

“Wow that is amazing, congratulations.” I say as I put my card away.

Her face looks sad for a second but quickly changes back to normal. “Yeah, I’m going to miss this place though, I had a great time working here.” She turns around and grabs my order sitting on the counter and hands them to me.

I hold the cup up looking around the sides looking for the little drawing, but I don’t see one. I look back at Emma confused and honestly a little disappointed. “Where’s my drawing?”

Emma started giggling trying not to bring attention to herself but she can’t seem to hold it in and the other customers start to look over at us wondering what is going on. “You really didn’t notice, that’s so cute” She smiles at me and points at the top of the cup.

I look down trying to figure out what is so funny, and on the top of the cup written in black sharpie was her phone number and next to it read. “Call me.” Emma winks at me as I look up to her then walks away to help other customers. As I stand there in shock of what just happened I can't help but notice that I am watching her walk away with a giant smile on my face. The only things I can think about are how amazing she is and how great this slice of chocolate cake is now going to taste.

Love

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    RQWritten by Richard Quinteros

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.