Fiction logo

The Altered Sands of the Soul

"If you don't like something, change it." Maya Angelou

By J. S. WadePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 10 min read
Top Story - February 2023
40
Dall-E 2 creation

Hobnailed shoes pinched my feet as I pushed through the Mississippi farm fields toward the greenhouse behind the antebellum mansion. My quest for destruction had brought me back in time one hundred and ninety years to the year 1833. If I could destroy the literal seeds of slavery at its root, I could change the history of the world and millions of lives.

Rush Nutt, the plantation owner, had bred the Petit Gulf Cotton plant in 1833. Before, cotton only grew on coastal islands and fared poorly inland. The new cotton blend was cheap, hardy, and would grow anywhere. The impact of the hybrid blend led to the expansion of the westward movement, the rapid growth of slavery, and the travesties bestowed on native Americans. In one fell swoop, I could change it all by destroying the economics of slavery, the rabid desire for land, and stop a civil war.

The greenhouse loomed before me like a glass cathedral reflecting the moonlit sky. Pain from the misfit boots arched my foot into a cramp. Gene, my benefactor, knew the correct boot size and played his joke to remind me he was in control. A dog barked from inside the main house. I stopped. The rules were simple. Don't get caught, do not harm anyone, leave nothing unnatural from the future behind, and be on time for the exit. Break the rules, and I would become trapped forever in the balance of time. I glanced at my watch. My one-hour visit to the past would expire in thirty-one minutes.

I slipped through the glass door into Nutt's botanical lab, where plantings in various stages of growth lined the center aisle. I pulled a sealed tube from my pocket and dripped a few drops of acetic acid, derived from vinegar and salt, on each planter. My research had shown that Nutt was on the brink of foreclosure and bankruptcy. One more failure in his experiments would trigger financial destitution. No hybrid cotton, no Nutt, and I would succeed in altering history. My watch flashed twenty minutes until my exit. It was time to go.

Running from the greenhouse, across the fields, and into the pine forest, the watch flashed ten minutes to exit. Crashing through the underbrush, I tripped on a fallen branch. The crack of wood echoed through the woods like a gunshot. Horse hooves galloped toward me, and I ran for the exit point. "Who goes there?” said the horseman as he came closer. I pushed forward as one minute flashed urgently on my wrist. The static red beacon I had left at my entry point shone in a clearing twenty yards ahead. Desperate, I sprinted faster, and my face caught a pine bough that drew blood.

I entered the clearing, and my pursuer on horseback crashed in from the opposite side. The nightwatchmen pulled the horse to stop, alarmed by the beacon, as I dove toward the light. Steam snorted from the horse's nostrils as the rider leveled a musket toward my face and said, "Halt! A thief in the night, I see." The flintlock flashed, and the musket ball passed through the mist of my dissipating departure. I landed safely on the floor of my living room in the year 2023.

"You're bleeding, Jonah. Close call? Have a good night. Chat tomorrow," said Gene the Genie as his body vaporized and funneled into the decorative bottle on the coffee table.

***

I stared into the bathroom mirror and cleaned the cuts and scratches from the whipsaw branches that had slashed me like a plantation foreman. My clothes had transformed from a homespun shirt and breeches to sweatpants and tennis shoes once I had returned. "Did it work?" I asked myself, but the middle-aged face refused to respond.

Twelve saved pages on my computer would answer my question. In the first article, King Cotton had transitioned to King Rice. Next, I reviewed a historical summary of The American Civil war. It read the same as before. The third defined the Jim Crowe era and remained unchanged. "No, no, no," I screamed and returned to the first article.

In 1834 Harold Astor successfully bred a Hybrid Rice that became the staple cash crop of the south and made slavery economically viable. The hybrid rice is attributed to the expansion of the slave states and the American Civil war. The Astor rice could grow in any soil with limited moisture. Asia's Upland rice required heavy rainfall, and the southern United States became King Rice to the world.

I had failed to change anything. Gene had granted me two wishes for rescuing him from the swamp behind my house. The first had been wasted.

Throughout the long night, horrid dreams haunted me while I slept. The nightwatchmen in the dark forest pursued me endlessly, and I woke exhausted.

***

After my morning coffee, I rubbed the bottle and woke Gene. He materialized before me.

"Have you decided on your second wish to travel anywhere in the world in history?"

"My mind is spinning. I don't think I can change anything by altering the past. I've thought of Abraham Lincoln, John F. Kennedy, and Martin Luther King but after last night I don't think it would matter," I said, "How can I compete against the greed and evil of men?"

"The famous poet Maya Angelou once said, If you don't like something, change it. If you can't change it, change your attitude," said Gene.

"What wrong with my attitude?" I said.

"Only you can answer that question, Jonah. What is driving you to modify the past? Guilt? Are you so noble that you are free from any wrongdoing? Are you any different than those who have sold the world into evil throughout history?

Gene's wisdom haunted me for days. Each night my nightmares chased me through the woods. On the third night, I could see the rider’s face. He pointed the musket at me and said, "Halt! A thief in the night, I see." The young man was Rodney Wright from my sixth-grade class. Rodney was black. I launched from my bed, heaving air. Why would a convicted felon haunt me? Everyone in town knew his story. The young football sensation had made news headlines when he was accused of threatening a teacher and expelled.

The circumstances were questionable because the white teacher had a record of baiting black students. His often-repeated mantra was, "Everyone should know their place." With the sudden destruction of his future, Rodney joined a local gang and took the wrap for a robbery gone wrong. The judge gave him a thirty-year sentence for 2nd-degree murder.

Rodney didn't chase me the fourth night, but I found myself standing in the schoolyard at Spann Elementary, where I had attended sixth grade.

______________

I carried my Superman lunch box across the playground and waited for the first bell to ring. Bored, I walked to the ladder bars near the gym and climbed up the steps.

"Stop, you can't be there. The gym bars are off limits before school. You know that."

I turned to see Rodney Wright standing behind me. He wore a white Jr. School Safety belt across his chest with a silver badge. I had applied to be a member of the Jr. Safety program but had failed the rules test.

"Who says?" I said.

"The rules say it and you know it. Get down from there and back to the waiting area," Rodney said.

I climbed down, retrieved my lunch box, and walked toward my friends near the fence. They had witnessed the exchange and jeered at me for obeying him. "Are you going to take that from him? Are you a chicken? Bak, bak, bak." I stopped and turned around.

Rodney blocked my path when I returned to the ladder bars. "You can't go in there. Don't make me turn you in."

A crowd of students encircled us. Someone whispered, "Fight, fight, fight," until it became a unified shout. Rodney appeared nervous, stepped toward me and said, "Jonah, let's stop this now. I don't want to fight you."

"Hit him," someone shouted.

I became more afraid of what my friends thought than doing what was right. I swung and hit him in the chin. Six inches taller, he took the blow, jumped forward and punched me square in the mouth. Stars lit my vision, and I landed on my butt with blood oozing from my lip."

Another Jr. Safety member arrived along with the principal to assist Rodney and ended the confrontation.

"What is going on here?" Mr. Lamb said. Before Rodney could answer, a boy in the crowd said, "Rodney hit him first."

Mr. Lamb asked me, "Is that true?" I hesitated. "Speak up, Jonah."

"Yes sir," I lied.

Rodney was suspended for three days and lost his position with the Jr. Safety Program. For the rest of the year, when he saw me in the hallways, he would whisper, "Thief,” and walk on.

____________

My t-shirt clung to my chest from the night sweats that convicted me of my forgotten crime. Maya Angelou's words indicted me. I wanted to change the world but had yet to change myself.

I showered, woke Gene, and said, I know what I want my second wish to be. I need you to return me to November 10, 1970, at seven forty-five a.m. at Spann Elementary School in Summerville, S.C.

____________

Scared, I looked down at the lunchbox in my hand. My white converse low tops had the same grass stains I remembered. A crowd circled around us. Someone whispered, "Fight, fight, fight," until it became a unified shout. Rodney appeared nervous, stepped toward me, and said, "Jonah, let's stop this now. I don't want to fight you."

"Hit him," someone shouted.

"Rodney, take me to the principal's office. This is all my fault. I'm sorry." The crowd of kids shouted "Chicken. Turncoat." and vulgar, racist names. Outside the office, Rodney said, Thank you, Jonah. I was scared."

Mr. Lamb whacked my butt with two licks of a paddle and gave me two hours of after-school detention. When I came from the office, Rodney waited for me in the hallway. "You want to sit with me at lunch today. With the way your friends act it might be safer."

I entered the boy's bathroom, found the exit beacon in the last stall, and returned to 2023.

_____________

The house was quiet and unchanged, except Gene's bottle no longer sat on the coffee table. A black plaque sat in its place engraved in silver.

If you don't like something, change it. If you can't change it, change your attitude.

Maya Angelou, Poet of the People

A weight had lifted from my soul that had festered for decades, but my butt still smarted from the two paddle licks. The clock of my soul, like the sands of time, had been altered forever. Hours later, the doorbell rang, and Rodney Wright stood on the porch and said,

"Come on, old man. Don't tell me you forgot about the neighborhood poker game again. This old NFL pounded brain remembers commitments better than you."

**** **** **** **** ****

Author's Note

In the 1790s, Eli Whitney invented the cotton gin that revolutionized the value of mass-produced cotton. Yet, cotton only grew well on coastal islands and the West Indies and remained a small commodity on the world market. In 1833, Rush Nutt of Mississippi developed hybrid cotton by splicing various cotton plants from around the world. The result became known as Petit Gulf Cotton or Gossypium Barbadense, which increased American cotton production from 150,000 bales in 1800 to 4,000,000 bales by 1860. In 1860 American cotton produced 80% of the world’s supply built on the back of stolen lands and slave labor. This fostered the land expansion from the Carolinas to Texas as this cotton plant produced more yield and was easier to harvest. Anyone who could acquire land would become wealthy. The need for cheap labor revived the once uneconomical and expensive institution of slavery, the stealing of land from Native Americans, and the Civil War.

Greed is the root of all evil and the tragic justification for bad human behavior throughout history. The author believes this to be true then and true now.

Maya Angelou taught well. If I can’t change the past, I can change myself and my attitude to influence those around me. We can alter the very sands of our souls.

HistoricalShort Story
40

About the Creator

J. S. Wade

Since reading Tolkien in Middle school, I have been fascinated with creating, reading, and hearing art through story’s and music. I am a perpetual student of writing and life.

J. S. Wade owns all work contained here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Fantastic! Your action scenes are so smooth and natural they bring the reader right along. For some reason I pictured Rodney as Bill Nunn's Radio Raheem from "Do The Right Thing". I'm glad you got to turn Rodney's story around with a little belated honesty from Jonah. Two licks! Jonah got off easy for 1970 corporal punishment! I once got five for saying 'Bless You' to a kid who sneezed when the line-up was supposed to be silent. Mind you, the Principal didn't seem to want to be hitting me, but he had to back up the teacher. She was fired the following year. I'm drifting off topic here. Great story! Should, "What wrong with my attitude?" be "What's wrong with my attitude?"? Maybe not if you're going for a local dialect effect and I should stop nitpicking. After thirty years of grading, I see these minor items in my sleep- sorry. Thoroughly enjoyed this story, Scott.

  • Testabout a year ago

    Profound, Mr. Wade.

  • ARCabout a year ago

    “…the rabid desire for land….” Wowza. YES. Amazing story, Scott. Thank you for sharing!

  • Rob Chapmanabout a year ago

    Great story, I like the integrated historical detail.

  • Sarah Danaherabout a year ago

    Congrats on top story, very well written,

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    I really really enjoyed how the story moved forward to explain and decide what the second wish would be. Once again, a great adventure from the mind of Scott Wade! 👏👏👏

  • Lauraabout a year ago

    Thank you for sharing "The Altered Sands of the Soul" with us, Scott Wade. Your writing had me on the edge of my seat, and the quote from Maya Angelou at the end is a powerful reminder that change starts with us. While your protagonist's attempt to alter history may not have succeeded, it's a poignant lesson that sometimes the biggest changes we can make are in our own lives and the lives of those around us. Thank you for sharing your creativity and storytelling with us.

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    Scott, this is excellent.

  • Li Maabout a year ago

    Spanking!!

  • Anfas Mohammedabout a year ago

    nice

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    Omg this was a great trip through time! Congratulations as well :)

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Great structure + well written = excellent Top Story. Congratulations 🎉

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Congratulations Scott!!! Great work.

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Brilliant! Congratulations my friend

  • Morgana Millerabout a year ago

    “ Greed is the root of all evil and the tragic justification for bad human behavior throughout history. The author believes this to be true then and true now.” I couldn’t agree more, Scott. Captivating read, congrats on top story.

  • Gal Muxabout a year ago

    A wonderful story. Very captivating!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    This was so good! I thought your method of time travel stood out and we all have those moments we wish we could change… this was really well written!

  • Aphoticabout a year ago

    Great story! I like that you chose a genie as the time travel method. A good message as well that is all too often forgotten.

  • suman mohanabout a year ago

    Superb👌

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Outstanding work as always. This is classic Scott Wade. Great work!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is excellent. Good luck in the challenge.

  • I've always wanted to change things that I don't like but I can't. I'm not noble enough either so the best I can do is change my attitude. This was a fantastic story!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Storytelling at its finest. Love the concept and its important reminder. ❤️

  • Excellent work and great challenge entry Scott

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.