Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

THE ACTS OF WITCHES

CHAPTER 1

By raphwritesPublished 3 months ago 2 min read
3



My journey into the witchcraft coven wasn't coincidental. I deliberately meandered into my unbelievable after an encounter with three witches.

Prior to making that ill-fated journey back to Nigeria, I had loathed the believe in African tradition. The mere mention of witchcraft was amusing as I never believed there was such thing as witchcraft. I was well educated. An erudite scholar. Why should I believe in such tale for illiterates?
*********************************************

The sound of the opele was a strange noise permeating into my ears. It was as annoying as the haggard looking Ifa priest who was consulting a god I didn't believe existed. But I had to sit there, stone cold listening to his incantations.

I had come to Nigeria to be with my only brother who had been stricken with an ailment which defied all medical diagnosis and medications. So, I was advised to seek the help of an Ifa priest in a remote village in Osun state.

"Ifa ni ki n so fun yin wipe, e o gbe ebo lo si orita meta ni ago mejila oru" The Ifa priest said to me as he continued his incantations.

His words angered me greatly, but I had to accede to them because I can't watch my only sibling who sponsored my education to the UK die like that. I was bent on doing anything to ensure he stayed alive.

"Baba, e s'eto ebo na ki n se oun tio ye ki n se. E ma je ki egbon mi ku. Mi o ni elomi ni ile aiye yi" I said in desperation.

I looked at my brother lying almost lifeless. His bones were visible. I felt so much pity for him and wished I could do as much to bring him back to good health.

Booda Tunji managed to turn his head and let out a boyish smile. He had overhead my conversation with the Ifa priest and was pleased with my resolve to save his life.

"Booda mi, e o ni ku. Mo n'igbagbo pe e ma pada je eso ilakaka yin pelu iye ati alaafia" I assured him while I raised him so we could make our way out of the shrine.

I was to get all the materials needed for the. sacrifice and prepare myself too. We were asked to return after three days with the items which was to be used to make the ebo before I would carry it to a T-junction to drop and my brother would be well again.

AdventureFantasyFan FictionfamilyCONTENT WARNING
3

About the Creator

raphwrites

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.