Fiction logo

THAT'S WHAT FRIENDS ARE FOR ..

.. to share hot cocoa, naturally!

By Margaret BrennanPublished 4 months ago 5 min read
5
image by hershyland.com

THAT’S WHAT FRIENDS ARE FOR

Well, to share hot cocoa, naturally.

</+/> </+/> </+/>

“You remembered,” Sherry said as Amelia handed her a mug of hot cocoa.

“How could I forget? You’ve been drinking hot cocoa the same way for ..”

“Don’t you dare!” Sherry interrupted laughingly. “Don’t you dare mention how many years it’s been. I’m trying to forget them,” and added softly and sadly, “along with so many things.”

</+/> </+/> </+/>

Sherry and Amelia had been friends since the fifth grade. They lived on the same street in the suburbs, attended the same grade and high schools, and while their college educations took them in different directions, no matter the month or the weather, they got together every third Friday night, drank hot cocoa, and bared their souls.

As they got older, they shared the responsibility of hosting their little “cocoa cafés” as they called their get togethers. Sherry wanted the even numbered months and at first, Amelia thought about objecting, but quickly changed her mind.

“You know, Ameila, with your birthday falling during the even numbered months, I was hoping to be able to take you out to dinner.”

Amelia draped her arm around her friend’s shoulder and reassured her, “Not a problem, there, Sherry. A dinner birthday has absolutely nothing to do with our little “Cocoa Café dates. You’re not off the hook for a birthday dinner, just like I’ve got yours in July. Oh, and we’re not combining our cocoa dates with our birth dates. Got it?”

Sherry laughed. “Most definitely!”

</+/> </+/> </+/>

When they were fourteen, Sherry was sure she’d be failing her Algebra finals. She turned to Amelia. “Please, please help me get this through my head. How can you add numbers with letters and get an answer? I just don’t understand, and I really don’t want to disappoint my parents.”

Through hard work and Amelia’s knowledge of Algebra, Sherry passed the class. She may have barely passed, but at least she didn’t fail.

Time passed and their friendship grew stronger if that was at all possible.

</+/> </+/> </+/>

“Oh, Amelia, that dress is absolutely perfect for you! You’ve just got to buy it. Oh, and the matching shoes, too. We’ll have the best party!”

They were planning their Sweet-16 party. Their parents, together had chosen a banquet hall that would accommodate about one hundred guests, including a DJ. The girls insisted, “Aw, mom, please NO large band!”

Amelia and Sherry laughed at their parents’ enthusiasm. “Sherry, one hundred guests! Really? We have the same friends. Where would we even find one hundred people?”

Amelia agreed and checked their invitation list one more time. “You know, Sherry, we’ve checked this list probably a dozen times and even stretching it to casual acquaintances, I can only come up with forty names – and that includes potential guests of our guests.”

“Then forty, it is! It’ll be fine! Oh, and while we’re on the subject of the party, did you convince your parents to buy you that beautiful dress? You know, the one that’s the color of a field of Shamrocks. That dress so totally brings out the green of your eyes!”

“Yes and no! They loved the color but not the dress. Mom said it wasn’t fancy enough for a Sweet-16. Tomorrow, we’re going to the city. She said there’s a dress store on Main Street and she’s sure we’ll find something. She did, however,” she said as she rolled her eyes, “take the small scissors from her purse and cut a small piece of the inner seam for us to use as a swatch. I swear one day, with her whacky antics, she’s going to get us arrested.”

“Sherry, your mom’s a riot! Wish I could have been there to watch her in action.”

“Oh, no, Amelia. Trust me, you really don’t. But you’re right. She’s a riot and she never fails to make what might be a mundane day, more fun than you could imagine.”

</+/> </+/> </+/>

“Amelia, I just had a flashback to our Sweet-16 party. I thought for sure Terry would trip over his feet as he walked towards you. Although he tried to look nonchalant, he couldn’t walk fast enough to be near you. You were quite a hit in that sea blue dress.”

“And what about you? Your mom had the right idea about the dress she picked out for you. The color, although similar to what we first saw, was much better and the style? OMG! Sherry, Aiden couldn’t take his off you.”

“Yeah, Amelia, we made quite a couple. Well, at least for six months. But, there were things about me that he just couldn’t understand.”

Amelia placed the palm of her hand on Sherry’s cheek and softly said, “Yeah, I know. He had no right to ask you to do anything you didn’t want to. He had no right to ridicule you because of your integrity. I’m glad you stood up to him.”

Sherry laughed. “Yeah, you should have seen the look on his face each time I said, and loudly, I might add, hell no!”

They both giggled as Amelia stood. “Getting more cocoa. You up for it?”

Sherry sighed. “Yeah, absolutely. Then I think it’s soul—bearing time.”

Amelia stopped in her tracks. “It sounds serious. Is everything all right? Wait, that’s a stupid question. If everything were, you wouldn’t have that lost look on your face. I’ll get the cocoa and you can tell me all about it.”

Amelia, with a mug in each hand, turned and headed for the kitchen.

family
5

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 76 year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Toby Heward4 months ago

    Such a nice story

  • Awww, Sherry and Amelia have such a beautiful friendship! Loved your story!

  • Rene Peters4 months ago

    I wish I had that kind of friendship. As a teenager, that was my mental image but now I talk to none of them.

  • C. H. Richard4 months ago

    Those are the best kind of friendships ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.