Fiction logo

Technology: The Next Level

Drones Rule Mail Delivery

By Roseanne F CassarPublished about a year ago 5 min read
1

Technology: The Next Level

After I got home from running errands all morning, I decided to sit on my porch, drinking a cup of coffee with an enjoyable read. While reading my new book; the phone rang. I answered my phone, to my surprise; it was a friend from the past. Wow…I couldn’t believe it. I haven’t spoken to or seen Shirley in ten years. We go way…way back, like junior high school. We were on the phone for three hours. She ended the conversation letting me know that she sent me old pictures of us; I will be getting them by priority mail sometime today. I smiled on the thought of seeing pictures of us girls, teenagers, college students and so on.

As soon as I got off the phone; I went back to the porch to sit outside to enjoy my book and my coffee which is now cold. I sipped some coffee and yep, it’s cold. I went back inside with the cup to heat the contents in the microwave. A minute later, coffee’s hot again and back on the porch to try again on some serious reading.

There were minor interruptions here and there but no big deal, right? I finally sat down in the chair, but I gave up on trying to read the book. I just sat there with my eyes closed taking in the sun and gentle breeze. It felt so good to relax; usually, it’s hectic because all the running around I do between my stay-at-home job which is with the kids’, school, practice, cleaning house and cooking for house hubby. Including the dogs too. This is my schedule for the hectic days during the school year but with summer I can relax more and enjoy the day.

As I’m sitting in my chair, I can hear a strange noise, but I don’t know where it is coming from. I get up from my chair and walk down the steps. I look all around my front yard. I look on both sides of the house and then I saw it. Flying in the air from up above. A nice size machine or something. I didn’t know what to do honestly. I did get scared and ran inside my house, looking out the window. I quickly called my husband, told him there’s a machine-like UFO thing flying above our house, and it looks like an either a box or a package is attached to it. Um…my husband laughed at me and spoke. “Honey, we don’t have that kind of technology yet.” I answered him. “Are you sure? Maybe you should come home extremely fast; use your broomstick dear.” House hubby chuckled as he replied. “I’m sure it is nothing serious. If it starts shooting laser beams, then call me again.” I replied. “Fine. Love you. Bye.” House hubby replied. "Bye, hun."

Once I got off the phone, I went back to the window to go check on the flying object. I looked; didn’t see it. I went back outside; didn’t see it but a box sitting on the top step. I didn’t want to go near it, touch it, or pick it up. Ok…so I’m actually deathly afraid to go anywhere near this box that came from outer space. I don’t know what to do with this thing. I guess just leave it there until my husband comes home. He will think of something.

Hours have passed by now; the box hasn’t exploded yet. My husband is home examining the box. He can’t make heads or tails either. There is an address label on it addressed to me from who; the return address seems to be missing. My husband and I are scratching our heads on who sent this box.

I did my best to describe this machine to my husband. It was a nice size, exceptionally large black thing with what looks like helicopter blades spinning; about four of them. I’m guessing four cables holding this box, keeping it from falling to the ground. It truly is a strange way to receive a package.

My husband and I were lounging on the porch, we were still talking about the box and its arrival. Our children were out running around, and our dogs somehow managed to get through the barrier. As I was telling my husband about the phone call, I had with my long-time friend Shirley; my phone rang.

My husband answered the phone. “Hello…Dominos…How can I help you?” “C’mon Hahaha…very funny. Is my daughter home?” Ed replied. “Hahaha…Yes mom. Hold on.” Ed shouted. “Hun…phone. It’s your mother.” I answered. “Ok. Bring the phone out here please.”

I took the phone from my husband and answered. “Hello mom. How are things by you?” Mom answered. “Things are good here. I called to see how things are by you.” I replied. “Well…things here have been very strange all day. I was sitting on my porch ready to get serious on reading a new book until a strange looking UFO machine showed up.” Ed and I are still trying to figure out what is going on.” Mom replied. “Was there a box or something attached to this UFO?” I answered. “Yes, how did you know?” Mom replied. “Laughing…yes, I did know. I sent the box to you. The crazy looking machine is called a drone. I was assessing the drone out. I wanted to see how it would do in long distance mail delivery. So, you didn’t like the drone? The drone is innovative technology and besides, I wanted to try something different.” I started to laugh. Talking to my husband before answering my mother. “Babe, my mother is the one who sent the drone to deliver the box. So, I guess it is now safe to go near the box and open it now.” My mother answered. “Go ahead and check.”

My husband went to get the box. Ed replied. “What the heck did your mother send us. This box is heavy.” I replied. “Mom, Ed says that the box is heavy. What did you do; try this method of delivery to skip out on the delivery charges? Mom replied. “In a way yes. Plus, I got paid for trying a new method of mail delivery.” I replied. “Wow. It looks like Ed got the box open and oh wow! It’s loaded with all kinds of goodies. The kids are jumping up and down with joy.” I continued. “Can you hear the kids in the background?” Mom answered. “Yes, I heard them. Tell them they’re welcome. Enjoy the goodies.” I answered. “I will and thank you for the scare.” Mom replied. “Anytime. Then started to laugh.”

I hung the phone up. I looked at my husband and we both laughed at ourselves for being silly. We waited all day for the big reveal of what is inside the mystery box and who sent it. Mystery solved.

Mystery
1

About the Creator

Roseanne F Cassar

Hi,

My name is Roseanne. Outside of my natural born profession; I consider myself to be a Writer. I realized while attending the College of Staten Island, what my second passion in life is; "Writing." I absolutely love writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.