Fiction logo

Tally

Counting the days.

By Tifany WalkerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Tally
Photo by Ivana Cajina on Unsplash

I, II, III, IIII. Seven hundred and thirty-three days. Seven hundred and thirty-three days trapped in a cell, in a cave, isolated from everyone. Years of being held captive. Seven hundred and thirty-three days of not being able to talk to anyone. Seven hundred and thirty-three days of not having a proper meal. Seven hundred and thirty-tree days of counting the days until I am released from this prison. I keep track of the days by engraving tallies in the stone where I’m being held. I keep track by the small opening at the top of the room. It’s not big enough to be a window but it’s enough to see the sunlight and have a semblance of fresh air. Water is brought to me once a week in a bucket. I found out only after I had drunk it all that it was one week exactly to get a new bucket of water. The food is once a day but enough for 3 portions if rationed correctly; this too was only after I finished everything that I realized it was the case. Seven hundred and thirty-three days of rationing food and water. I don’t know how much longer of this I can take. It’s torture not knowing when I’ll be free. I don’t even know who’s behind my captivity, who is holding me. All I know is that I’m not the first one to be held here. I know this because there were marks and drawings on the floors and walls when I got here. Sometimes my captive will take me outside, where he lets me bath under a waterfall of sorts. He keeps me chained to a tree when he takes me there. He trusts that I won’t try to escape; he's right, I won’t try anything, I have no need to escape. I deserve this treatment. What I’ve done is much too horrible to ever be let free. The conditions of my captivity might be horrible, but I manage. I get fed every day and I have enough water to keep me going. I have regular bathing periods and they can last up to a whole day; he goes hunting when I bathe, sometimes he catches something quickly, other times he doesn’t get anything. But that doesn’t affect the meals I get. He usually goes hunting when there’s still some of the last hunt’s meat left. I might be a prisoner, but I’m taken care of well enough to be sustained. Seven hundred and thirty-five days. Yesterday’s bath day was refreshing. I keep counting the days, even though I’m not entirely sure when I’ll be released from this prison. It helps keep me sane to keep track of the days. Sometimes, I’ll ask him for the date, just to keep things interesting, even though he never answers, I still ask. Other times, I’ll even ask how long I’ll be held captive for, just to keep things interesting for him, and me, mostly me though, since he doesn’t answer. Seven hundred and ninety-two days. It’s bath day. I spend most of my time in the water. It feels cool on my skin. He comes back right before dark. When he brings me back to my makeshift cell, I notice my tallies are gone. All of them, vanished, no longer engraved into the walls. What happened to them? How did the stone get so smooth after my endless scraping of the walls? I turn around to ask him what had happened but notice he’s vanished, just like my tallies. I notice the door is left ajar. This would never happen. He’s way too meticulous to forget to close and lock the door. Is this possibly the end of my sentence? Is my captivity finished? I don’t even know where I am, much less how to get out of here. I should wait it out. I was doing fine here, food every day, and a good supply of water. So I’ll start again: I, II, III.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Tifany Walker

Just a girl trying to live out her dream of being an author.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.