Fiction logo

Tales of the Sentinel Space Guard

Part 5: Day 1 of 1,825

By Dante Maroni Published 2 years ago 4 min read
2
ERA 1 of Sentinel Space Guard

“It doesn’t matter cadet; these weights are specially designed to adjust to the maximum amount of weight you can lift with enough tension to give you some strength as you gradually use it.” He said.

The others then rush to pick up the weights and as they started lifting I could see numbers pop up on the side of the weight showing how much each person could lift. I look down at the dumbbell in my hands and lift it up to see that my max for right now is a measly 25lbs. Looking around I see a lot of the other guys are lifting 30’s, 35’s, and one guy is doing 40lbs like its nothing.

“You keep standing there and staring off into space I’ll throw you out there myself, now get to work!” the instructor yelled at me.

It has only just begun and I already messed up. I choose not to fall behind and not to become a burden to the rest of my classmates; I will be like David Sullivan or maybe even better than he was. The rest of he class was separated into groups as well; a few on the infinite climbing wall and others went to the zero gravity/g-force room. That’s the room I am really eager to go to since it is supposed to simulate what it feels like to work on the hull of the ship during travel both in and out of light speed travel.

While I’m off letting my mind wonder I hear someone in my group start asking questions about everyone.

“Hey kid, what’s your name? I’m Ronny Sanders but my friends call me Rhino.”

“Why?!” I asked.

“My family is mostly recognized from our pointy noses and unmatched strength haha.”

“Oh, haha, I think I see it! You’re the only one of us lifting in the 40’s, how old are you dude?”

“I just turned 26 today, decided passing this would be my greatest birthday present to myself.”

“Haha, how’s that working out for you?”

“So far, no complaints.” He said while struggling to curl his dumbbell for the 10th time.

“After dumbbells you will do the monkey bars across the pit; at the end you will give me 10 pullups and turn back around and end with 10 more pullups. That will count as one circuit, give me 2 per person and at the end of your 2 you will go back and do the dumbbells again for your second set. We do 3 sets today at each of your stations, nothing more and nothing less. Class 067 do you hear me?” Instructor Hannon shouted.

“Yes sir!”

We are all there for 2 more grueling hours trying to complete our 3 sets as best we could. Muscles sore, exhausted, and on the brink of hurling, everyone is just on the ground trying to catch their breath.

“If you think that was tiring just wait until I turn on the timer…now get the hell up and line up before I make y’all do it again.” Demanded Instructor Hannon.

Everyone ran over and back into position and stood at attention as he spoke to us.

“This is not the worst part, no, this is just the start to the beginning of the worst part. It will take 5 long and agonizing years for some of you to become full fledged Sentinels. Starting on year 2 you all will be given minor tags for handling minor missions around the ship. Every year after that the missions will get tougher and your tags will change colors to match the rankings you are to qualify for those type of missions. If by the time the year changes and your tags have not then that means you have not been chosen to continue training and you will be redirected to another training class in the Sentinels like the logistics team and so on.”

“Do we get any tags now?” someone asked across the room.

“No cadet! Right now, you need to show us you are worthy of getting a tag in the first place by building up your strength and trust with each other.”

“Then sir, will there be cuts after year one?” I asked.

“Of course, Year 1 started today with that training you just did. So be prepared, because by this time next year we will be having cuts!”

Some of the class began to murmur amongst each other after hearing that.

“Hey, shut up! This is what it takes to be a Sentinel Space Guard! We are the first, last, and only hope of the citizens in these here ships; we will protect them and our way of life until the very end. If you thought this was an easy job with great perks then you do not belong here, suck it up and push through any barrier you have in front of you.”

“Sir, I think I speak for the whole class when I say we wouldn’t have signed up if we didn’t think we could make it to the end.” Rhino replied.

That notion alone resolidified the entire classes resolution. When Instructor Hannon looked around the room he saw nothing but eager cadets.

“Good, we want nothing but your best and then some. Other than the yearly cuts, some of you might drop out from being over worked, medical leave, or even worse. Once you stepped through those doors up there, your new lives have already started, so learn fast and get used to it.”

“Yes sir!” the class roared!

“Before I dismiss y’all to go check Doctor Yalla’s board for your partners, any questions?”

“Sir!” I say as I raise my hand.

“What is it cadet?”

“What was your first mission like after graduation?”

Sci Fi
2

About the Creator

Dante Maroni

My Novel and Light Novel will be published someday, follow my journey through short stories into the big leagues!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.