Fiction logo

Taken

A bear lost to penitence...

By Kenneth cruzPublished 3 months ago 6 min read
Like

I've seen thousands of faces come and go on this ship. I've heard the chorus of sobs, tears, screams, and wails as they create their own macabre melody. So many beautiful youthful faces broken to darkness, as if they knew they were all in their final hour. It’s cold and lonesome in this dark corner as I drown in a vat of penitence that comes from just being a hapless toy. Oh, how I long to go home.

My brown frayed fur is now black and soiled. My only long-term companions are the bugs that scamper and dance upon me or the mice and rats that scurry by. Tears and blood stain this chamber, urine and feces are its perfume. I was once a bright happy bear. Soft as a rose petal with a heavenly scent like freshly baked banana bread. My owner Maddy took me everywhere. I was her comfort, her safety, and at the end of the night we would go back to her cute cozy room nestled in pink and she would hold and squeeze me tight all through the night.

I don’t know who the men were that snatched her that day. Her horrific screams still echo in my button ears, like some looping tragic melody. If I had a heart it would have surely stopped in fear. I’ve never seen a face turn so ghostly pale. As they snatched her away, she clung to me tight, not unlike someone lost at sea clinging to a buoy. Her nails dug through my round curly fur as she cried and flailed. If only there was something I could do. Turn me into a giant monstrous bear so I can save my Maddy, I prayed. I longed and wished for us to be home in her comfy bed away from these horrors, but Instead through darkness we were led.

When we were first pushed into the vast blackness of the large van I almost thought we would find comfort. So many other youthful innocent faces like my Maddie’s, but upon closer inspection I realized they were all lost to fear and pain. It was as if I was watching a horror film staring at the blank dead expressions on most of the girls who already seemed broken and sullen. Few still had a glimmer of hope and fight, but deep down I already knew something was wrong. Maddie snuggled me tight and buried her face in me the whole ride, her tears rolling down and dampening my fur like a steady rain.

I thought maybe she was overreacting. We’re just being taken to a new home, I told myself. Young girls often are dramatic during change and it’s my duty as her favorite toy to bring comfort during these times, so I did my duty diligently soaking up every tear and sob alike. Withstanding every bite of angst, even those that tore my fur. I’d do anything to comfort her, my young owner and friend.

If I was more than a soft little teddy bear maybe I could have done something, and this wouldn’t have been our end. So, while I stood lost in guilt most of the ride wishing I could have done more, but deep down I knew I really was as helpless as her.

As the vans whined and screeched to a halt, I heard a foreign language outside and could see each of the young girls' faces fill grow wide with fright. There was a loud thud as the back doors opened and I think I popped some of my stitches in that moment and let out some of my cotton fluff.

If my shiny plastic eyes could have mustered up tears I would have surely cried as the girls were ushered up and out like cattle outside. These men were cold and mean, pushing the girls around like they weren’t human but instead robots or machines. One of the older girls tried to scream and run from the scene, but she was grabbed by hair, tossed over someone’s shoulder and her efforts were to no avail. It was the same for the rest as some kicked and flailed, but one by one the girls were tossed in a large empty space in the back of a ship that could have rivaled the Titanic.

Me and my Maddy were close to the final ones. She was tossed aboard with such regard, as if she was a doll just like me. By now I could tell my girl was tired and broken. As she held me close, I could feel her tremble and I wasn’t sure if it was out of fear or from the cold of the night.

I’m guessing it was probably both, because when we entered this dark space my Maddy didn’t sit on the benches upfront. Instead, she found herself in a dark corner in the rear and nestled with me tight. She held me so close as we slept through what had to be both day and night. At least for that time things felt alright. Little did I know it was the last night I’d be held so close, but at least in her warm embrace it felt that we could have been one. Only when the doors cracked giving way to the morning sun was any peace I had found done.

They snatched the girls out one by one. This time my Maddy was the very last one. They gripped her by the arm and forward she flung. I heard her yelp in pain and wished I had a vocal box so I could let off a fierce scream. Instead, I could only watch as Maddy was snatched up, her grip on me lost as I fell to a filthy floor that reeked of urine and more.

As they pulled her out the door, I heard her voice for a final time as she cried out, “Teddy!” I tried to reach for her with all my might as I saw her small hand flailing about. Her tiny fingers opened and closed reaching to grab a hold of me. Instead I stood lost on the bottom of this filthy place. They slammed the doors shut muffling her screams and cries. I saw her shadow putting up a final fight with kicks and flails that were to no avail, but that was the last of her I’d ever see.

Time has passed by since then I don’t know how long I’ve been in this dirty, cold, wretched place. My Maddy is gone I’ve been left all alone. Since then, I’ve seen a sea of little faces come and go. Occasionally one or two look at me, but none have picked me up. In the end I doubt I can have that bond with anyone except my little Maddy who’s now gone. I wonder where she is or how she’s fairing without me. Maybe one day one of these girls will take me with them and I’ll get to see.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.