Fiction logo

Surf, Sand, and Shakes

Reflections of a Perfect Summer Day

By S.K. WilsonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

The perfect Summer’s day, it’s something that seems impossible and almost beyond our grasp in the morning. But now as I look back at the events of the day just gone, I feel if we didn’t achieve a perfect Summer day today, we never will.

A combination of mutual cravings and free schedules meant my housemate and I both managed to land a day off, and the weather forecast made it clear to us. A day at the beach was a must, combined with a day of no-holds barred treats and favourite foods.

9:00am - It’s already beginning to warm up, probably going to reach the mid to high 30s today so a cold breakfast of Aussie Summer is called for, Weet-Bix all round and Iced Coffee.

9:45am - We’re in the car, heading towards the beach, or should I say beaches, there are three close together to choose from.

“Nobby’s is usually the quietest, and has the least seaweed,” said my housemate.

“Yeah, but Newcastle beach has Kiwi.”

We agreed, Newcastle beach it should be, afterall we were aiming for a perfect Summer day, and without a visit to Kiwi to finish off, it wouldn’t come close.

10:15am - Now parked, and turning the engine off, we hop out of the car, grab the gear and head to the beach. As we walk across the sand, my bare feet are welcomed by sand that is warm, but not yet scorching from the sun, another win.

Finding a good spot, we drop the gear, and trusting in the unwritten code of the beach, Don’t touch my stuff, and I won’t touch yours. We make our way into the surf.

Fraggle Rock! That’s a cold shock to the funbags!

Stepping into the water and wading in is the usual mix of loving the cool water, being hit by a shock of cold as it reaches the thighs and lower regions, then a quick adjustment to the temperature, my guess the water was about 20℃.

12:30pm - Tired, beginning to grow hungry and feeling the first stings of the sun as the sunscreen wears off we elect to come out of the water, not a bad go of it. Good surf, not too crazy but not still, collecting our things, a silent communication forms and we look towards the chip shop nearby, then to each other.

“Hot Chip lunch,” we say in unison.

The line is short and our orders are taken, for my housemate an order of chips with tomato sauce, and for me chips with vinegar, the perfect seaside feed for a Summer day at the beach.

1:00pm - Lunch finished and the paper wrappings scrunched and placed into the bin, it’s now time… time for the perfect end to this beach trip.

“Kiwi time,” I say.

“Yeah!”

We cross the road from the beachside chip shop and over to a small shop nestled amongst the apartments that line the streets, we enter the shop and look at the sign, the deliciousness that awaits within making us glow with anticipation.

Kiwi Ice-Cream Parlour

I don’t know why this place is called Kiwi, and I don’t know why it’s not in a better location, but boy am I glad it’s here today. The best milkshakes within 100kms for sure, possibly even NSW.

They make them how a milkshake should be made, you pick what flavour ice-cream you want from their huge selection, and they add full cream milk, then blend. The best things are the simple things, to me these milkshakes are the epitome of Summer and the closest we get to the perfect treat, and the only way in my view to end a day at the beach.

It must be at the end of the day, if you are going back into the water or planning anything other than walking back to the car, leave the milkshake till later. You will ruin it and yourself, and these milkshakes must be given the respect they deserve.

“One Caramel Whirl Milkshake, and one Triple-Chocolate Milkshake please,” I ordered for us, and paid.

“My treat,” I say to my housemate. “The beach was my idea after all.”

1:30pm - We’re sitting on a grass hill looking over the beach, drinking the best milkshakes in the land, the cool creamy milk and ice-cream mix keeping us cool in the afternoon sun.

“I’m thinking we should top today off with Ho-Wah’s for dinner,” said my housemate, in between sips of her shake.

“Done.”

We continue savouring and enjoying every last sip of our milkshakes, enjoying the Summer views before our eyes, and the liquid perfection in our hands.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

S.K. Wilson

She/Her | Australian 🏳️‍⚧️ Author

My short form writing mostly falls into the absurd, strange and nonsensical. I enjoy writing micro-fiction collections, been dabbling in poetry.

Debut Arthurian fantasy novel out now! The Knights of Avalon

🩷

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.