Fiction logo

Sunset City

Myrna Collins

By Myrna CollinsPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
Sunset City
Photo by Ramiro Pianarosa on Unsplash

I lived in Sunset City that sat on the edge of Tree Trunk Grove. Though the people of Sunset City had the opportunity to walk the dusty paths of Tree Trunk Grove, they rarely did. The grove was vast and sometimes the paths would end abruptly and unless the traveler turned around and followed the trail back exactly, they would risk becoming hopelessly lost.

On days where I needed to clear my head, I had a particular trail that I liked to follow. It went in a semicircle, always spitting me back out near where I parked my car. Today was an especially bad day, so I had decided on a different trail. One of my co-workers at Energy Bean had recently lost their grandmother, who had actually lived in the grove. No one seemed to know for sure what had happened to the old woman, but my friend hadn't left her grandmother's cottage in the woods upon learning of her her death.

So on this day I had decided to wander off my usual path onto a different path taking me deeper into the trees. My mind raced as I tried to imagine what my friend was going through, but I hadn’t had much family. Growing up it was just my dad, since my mother left us and my dad’s parents had passed when he was young.

I sighed as I reached up and gathered my auburn hair to pull it back into a loose bun. I brushed off some fuzz that landed on my yellow, button-up crop top, wondering if I should have worn something a little more suitable for the woods. My sun washed jeans did well protecting my legs from any prickly plants, but my white converse wouldn’t have very good traction.

I heard a branch snap, I whirled around, my heart rate picking up as I scanned my surroundings. I was still alone, the sun tendrils sneaking through the tree branches to cover the forest in a golden mist. It would be dark soon, but I wasn’t ready to turn back yet. I had dropped two trays of cookies and mixed up several orders at work today and I need nature to take the sting away from city people’s unkindness.

Everyone these days were always in a rush, too busy to be kind. I sighed once more, crossing my arms as a chill ran through me. I turned around once more, feeling as if a pair of eyes were on me. I studied my surroundings a little closer this time, taking my time as I scanned the tree trunks. When I turned forward to keep walking, I was met with the eyes of what must have been a… bear? It was a giant, fury beast that growled a warning at me.

The beast was maybe ten feet in front of me, tense as if ready to pounce. As I stood, frozen in fear, I couldn’t help but doubt this thing was an actual animal that I have ever heard of before. It’s head wasn’t that of a bear, but looked more like a ram, but the body was bulbous like a bear’s.

“Get down!” I heard from behind the bear, but before I could identify the source of the voice a firm, sweaty body slammed into me, knocking me to the ground.

“Don’t move,” the man whispered as he lay on top of me, a stick digging into my hip. I obliged, holding my breath, not really able to breath with his weight crushing into me. The animal seemed to make a confused grunt as it took a few calculated steps toward us. I closed my eyes as my cheek brushed against the man’s moist neck. He seemed to be very sweaty as if he had been jogging through the forest before happening upon me.

“We need to run,” he said very quietly, causing the animal to stop in its tracks. “Now!” the man shouted, jumping to his feet, dragging me with him. He gripped my wrist tightly as we took off away from the animal.

“You need to stay right behind me, concentrate on keeping up or I could accidentally rip off your arm,” he told me nonchalantly, as my legs moved to their own accord. I stared hard at the back of his head, focusing on keeping my steps in time with his as our surroundings whizzed by us at impossible speeds. I didn’t dare turn my head to try and understand what was happening, why I couldn’t make out any trees or plants, why everything around us was a green and brown blur. I really didn’t want to lose my arm.

I focused on the man’s black. shaggy hair, his simple cotton clothing that hugged his muscular body. I tried not to think about what was about to attack me, or who this man could be, and why he was capable of, not only running at impossible speeds, but allow me to match his speed. I didn’t even dare to look down at my own legs, for the safety of my arm.

Finally our speed was slowing, the man’s posture slouching ever so slightly as we came to a stop. Was he tired? I couldn’t see his face clearly as he quickly assessed our current situation. His face was sleek with perspiration, causing his hair to slick back as he ran his fingers through it to clear his eyes.

“We lost it,” he sighed with relief. I didn’t say anything, just stared at the handsome Asian man who may or may not be from outer space.

“Oh, you must be confused- you're hurt.” He stepped toward me holding a hand up to my right cheek as if to touch me, but seemed to think better of it, instead digging through his pockets. I touched my face gingerly, feeling my cheek was wet. I looked to my hand, finding my fingertips covered in blood. I looked back up to the man as he dropped things from his pockets that shouldn’t have been able to fit. But as objects, such as pads of papers, a sword, several books, and an oar, hit the ground they disappeared.

Finally he pulled out a small pouch that I hoped was just a first-aid kit. He opened the draw string and produced a band-aid and alcohol wipes. I let him patch me up, never taking my eyes off his.

“What are you?” I finally asked. He cocked his head at me as he stepped away.

“I’m a witch,” he answered simply. “My name is Kyo.” He held a hand out to me. Out of reflex I took it without saying anything, unable to comprehend what he just said. Kyo the witch.

“Key-oh,” I replied slowly. “Key-oh… the witch.” I wasn’t sure why I enunciated his name so dramatically while still holding his hand, but there was no reasonable excuse for me not to believe him. I had just faced a creature that couldn’t be real, escaping it by traveling through the forest at impossible speeds.

“Are you alright?” he asked. I blinked a few times, realizing I was still holding his hand. I released him, turning on my heels, starting into the trees. I brushed away cobwebs as they hit my face and arms. They seemed to be everywhere.

“Wait up,’ Kyo said as he caught up with me. I blew a raspberry as another cobweb hit my lips, wiping at my face fiercely.

“Please wait.” Kyo placed a hand gently on my arm. I jerked away from him, stumbling into yet another spiderweb.

“What is up with all the spiders!” I exclaimed as I stopped walking, attempting to wipe away the webs from my skin.

“There are no spiders,” Kyo replied, worried. I looked around us, realizing that the trees looked different in this part of the woods, of course I wasn't quite sure how far we traveled, since we had been moving at warped speed.

“What’s your name?” Kyo asked me, almost suspiciously. I met his gaze, narrowing my eyes. I weighed my options. I could trust him, since he did save me from an unknown entity and was honest with me, as far as I knew, when I asked him what he was.

“Violet,” I finally answered. Kyo went rigid as his eyes widened.

“Violet Maria Thompson?”

My face grew hot as I clenched my fist. Kyo started digging through his pockets once more, this time producing a small, unmarked box wrapped in brown paper. He opened it to reveal a single violet with a note resting on top of it. All that was written on the piece of paper was my full name.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Myrna Collins

I have a million characters trapped inside of me, just screaming to have their stories told.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.