Fiction logo

Subsistent Lies

Chapter 24: Blaine

By Kimmie HitePublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like

Sitting with the nobles and listening to them talk lowly about each commoner who was presented made me think about what I was thinking when I decided to be one of them. I felt sorry for the ladies who had to be married off in order to help their families become of the better class. Personally it was probably easier becoming of noble rank that way than what I went through, but being married off meant it would be harder to win the respect of those who knew your true birth rank. My mind drifted from my thoughts when Lady Gabriella was presented next. “No man in their right mind will let her slip through their fingers or any of the Fairavard sisters at that. It is rumored you know that their father was a good friend of the King. The fact that all of them were named the fairest in Anevia, all though the only fair one is the youngest, makes them all worth offering for.” A voice said behind me.

I turned to ask whoever had said this how they knew this information, but was compelled to keep my eyes on Gabriella when her face registered shock and hatred and then to a forced smile. I followed her gaze and saw Colin Gulliver approaching her. He bowed and kissed her hand that she reluctantly offered with a slight frown. Two other men offered for her hand. One a young Baron by the name of Jed, who just inherited the lands of Arcraz and the other a middle-aged knight of Arthur’s guard named Briar. Gabriella seemed to take much kinder to their kisses, than to Colin’s. I chuckled when I remembered what she said last night at the ball. Because when Colin finds out his bride-to-be disguised herself as him and won the tourney he will be in a fit of rage and will need his brother to calm him. It seemed it was Gabriella’s temper that needed to be calmed not Colin’s this day.

I watched as the other two Fairavard sisters were presented and then two other ladies. As everyone was leaving to either go to their chambers or mingle with future in-laws I sought Gabriella out. “Was it my imagination or was my lady not happy with her husband-to-be?” I said walking up to Gabriella from behind.

She turned around with a frown on her face. “If you mean that arrogant, self-centered, Gulliver then you are very observant my lord.” I frowned at the title and she smiled. “Oh, Blaine you would think I was talking about you?”

“I have heard you say worse about me.” I said offering my arm.

She blushed and took it. “Well that was before…..” She trailed off and I let it be.

I led her out to the veranda and into the garden where we walked around taking in the smells. “So what did young Colin do to earn your temper?”

“He accused me of drugging him in order to take his place in the tournament.” I began laughing and Gabriella looked up at me. “What’s so amusing?”

“I have only known you for a little while, but yet that sounds exactly like something you would do.”

“Well I didn’t do it and because he has accused me with no proof I will not be choosing him to be my betrothed, so I really don’t know why he bothered asking for my hand.”

“If I recall correctly you had no choice, but to choose him to repay your family’s debt.”

“Aye that is true, but our debt has been repaid from my tourney winnings so there is nothing forcing me to choose him.” Gabriella said head held high with a stubborn air about her.

“Your winnings couldn’t possibly been able to pay your debt, you only participated in one match.”

“It seems beating the King’s best is worth a King’s ransom. I wonder what he would of gave me if I had continued and won all the other matches.”

“And what makes you so sure you would of won your other matches?”

“If you and Darius are the King’s best then I do not believe I would have had much difficulty with the rest.”

“I do believe that is a stab at me and Darius’s honor my lady.” I said coming to a halt with her.

“And what pre-tell do you plan to do to redeem your honor?” Gabby asked her chin raised an inch higher her eyes shining with laughter.

“To challenge you to another match of sorts.” I said leading her back towards the veranda.

“What do you mean by that?”

My eyes began to shine with laughter too. “You will see.” She looked up at me questioningly. “ Just know this.” I said looking down at her as we approached the veranda. “This match will cost more than just honor.” I kissed her hand . “I guess I will be seeing you around until your chosen husband is announced.” She nodded. “Well then until the feast tonight.” I left her standing there to puzzle over my words.

***************************************

At the feast the only topic at hand was the possibility of an upcoming war against Vespar. I personally did not care for hearing rumors because they caused nothing, but grief which I learned from experience. This rumor on the other hand had grabbed my attention because of the fact King Arthur wanted to see me after the feast. I sighed and took a bite of pheasant. A short while later Gabriella and her sisters showed up in the dining hall. Gabriella looked as if she wanted to run rampant, but kept in check when her older sister came in after stopping their young sister from leaving the feast. I watched as she walked to her seat and was greeted by her first suitor, the middle-aged knight. They sat down and Gabriella and the knight began talking. I couldn’t hear what they were saying, but I could tell Gabriella was not enjoying herself. Taking her goblet of wine she poured it into her suitors lap making it look like an accident. Being a knight of old he did not take kindly to this. He stood up and began yelling at her. Everyone near them turned to look at the commotion. Gabriella apparently did not care to hear his words and stood up to leave. As she turned and walked off other knights of old came up to him. After a brief conversation with him, Gabriella’s suitor left the dining hall in a fit of rage. Gabriella when will you learn? I thought as I stood up to go excuse myself. With a nod from the King I followed in Gabriella and her suitor’s wake. It did not take me long to find her. I found her in the middle of the garden having a yelling contest with her suitor. I was just entering the garden when I saw her suitor pull out a small dagger from the inside of his tunic. Gabby had apparently not seen it because she made no move to leave his company. “Gabby! Watch out!” I yelled as I saw him point it at her belly.

The next instant flashed before me. Gabby looked up at me and her smiling expression turned into shock as she looked down and made a reach for the dagger. There was a struggle as I came running to her aid. When I got there Gabby and her suitor were at a stand still. They fell to the ground and Briar fell on top of her. “Gabby are you okay?” She nodded and I lifted Briar off her.

I checked to see if Gabby was okay and found her hands were bloody. I looked up at her and found that her eyes were clouded. I looked at Briar and found that his dagger was sticking out his stomach. He was bleeding fast and if I didn’t get him help he would die. I looked back at Gabby and shook her gently. “Gabby I need you to stay here okay? Don’t move! Do you hear me?” She nodded slightly and I got up to look for help.

I found the King heading to his studies. “Your majesty!” I yelled running up to him.

He turned as I came to a halt behind him. “Blaine you are early as always.”

“Your majesty, I need your help a knight has been stabbed.”

“Where?”

“In the garden.”

“Go get the healers.” The King ordered as he headed towards the garden.

When I returned with the healers I found that the King had lead Gabby away from the crowd that had gathered while I was away. The healers tended to Briar’s wound and then enlisted other knights to move Briar to the sanatorium. The King left Gabby seating on a bench and dismissed the onlookers who were already starting new rumors. “Blaine she will need someone to stay with her until word gets to her mother or sisters of what has happened.” I nodded as I turned to go to Gabby. “You do not have to attend this meeting if no one comes to relieve you of tending to her.” The King added as he summoned a messenger to him.

I sat beside Gabby and she turned to me. Seeing my face she began trembling. “He intended to kill me, I had to protect myself, please do not think ill of me.” Tears began falling from her eyes.

“Shhh, Gabby. I would never think ill of you, I think the world of you.” I hugged her to me to try and calm her. This night I would not be leaving her side.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Kimmie Hite

Born in the Philippines as a military brat I grew up as a kid exposed to all walks of life and cultures. Currently, working on releasing self published book while living with lupus nephritis as a single mother waiting for transplant

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.