Fiction logo

Subsistent Lies

Chapter 30: Colin

By Kimmie HitePublished 2 years ago 9 min read
Like

When I heard from Calib that Gabby had taken my place in the tourney I was furious. Furious because she had drugged me with every intention to take my place in the tourney. When I confronted her she denied doing it and that only made me madder; madder to the point where I almost struck her, but I should of known it wouldn’t be so easy to bend her to my will, she was after all her father’s daughter. To make matters worse she went to my father’s studies to pay off her family’s debt, so that they wouldn’t be dependent on us anymore. I followed her to the studies in time to hear their conversation from the door. What he said to her could of called means for me to kill him, but I knew my father well enough to know that there was a reason behind everything he did. After she had left his studies I went in to talk to him:

“What were you thinking!?”

“Colin shouldn’t you be heading to court?” He said retrieving papers from his desk and ignoring my question.

“Why should it matter? I’m not going to offer for her.”

“Are you still mad at the fact she took your place?”

“We are Drayton’s what kind of question is that!?”

“Forgive me I am growing old, but the last time I checked we were Gulliver’s” He said adding up numbers and then weighing the bags of gold on his desk. I stood there waiting for him to answer my question. “Are you still here?” He asked looking up from his task.

“I am waiting for you to answer my question as to what you were thinking in hinting to Gabby that Jacquet is not her father?”

“Gabby is a smart girl she will find out soon enough and I think it best that it should be you who should tell her, just in case she finds out the truth about the death.”

“Why? What’s done is done nothing can change that no matter how much we want it to be changed. Besides I already told you I will not offer for her hand today not after….”

“You will not ruin all my hard work! You will offer for Gabriella’s hand and she will marry you. Just like Calib will offer for Zaria’s and marry her. Nothing has changed! Do you hear me! Nothing! And you would be a fool to let the fact a woman who is better than you in swordplay and jousting, slip through your fingers because you think she took your place on purpose!” I opened my mouth to contradict him, but he cut me off. “I would suggest my son, that you remember who gave you the goblet of wine in the first place and ask yourself what extent would that person go to protect Gabby. You are dismissed now.” I turned towards the door. “You and your brother are running out of time. If all goes according to plan we can regain our old lives and no one will be the wiser. We will be the wealthiest and most powerful family, and not even the King will be able to do anything about it.”

“And what of Isabella?” I said my back still turned hand on knob.

“She will be taken care of. One of my old friends will make sure of it. Now go!”

After my brother had left me to see if he could prevent Zaria from falling for Giovanni I stood staring at the castle. I didn’t care what my father said or whether I messed up the plan by not offering for Gabby, Gabby drugged me, she was the only one capable of doing something so underhanded out of the three Fairavard sisters. Besides, Zaria even said the goblet was from her. Zaria! My eyes fell upon her as Calib walked past me leading her and Isabella back to their chambers. I came here to wish you luck. I also wanted to grant you a drink before you head onto battle. But Gabriella wishes to give this drink to you. For luck, she points out. Of Course. The wench would do any and everything to protect her sisters, she probably would have even tried to seduce me like her whore of a mother did to so many men including my father. The only problem if she had done that it wouldn‘t have worked; what my brother saw in Zaria was beyond me. In fact what anyone saw in any of the Fairavard sisters was beyond me. They had no wealth nor power, they only had their beauties and all beauty fades in time. If it wasn‘t for my father I wouldn’t even be bothering with Gabriella, but I had lived with my father long enough to know that his plans never go wrong as long as everyone does as they are told. I sighed as I began to head towards Gabby’s chambers. All I knew was that my father better hold up his end of the deal when Gabby chooses me because if not I will go back to Vespar and continue with my plan to become the ruler. I trudged up the stairs to Gabby’s chambers and on the way ran into Giovanni. “Good day, Ambassador.” I said politely.

Giovanni only looked at me. “If you don’t mind me asking Drayton,” My face showed no reaction to the old name and it made Giovanni mad. “Forgive me I mean Gulliver, you just look like-anyways where are you headed to?”

I smiled knowing what he was trying to retrieve out of me. “Why I’m headed towards my future-brides chambers to make plans for our wedding day.”

“And what makes you so sure, Gabriella Fairavard will choose you for her husband?” Giovanni asked trying to hide his contempt.

“Lets say it was her father’s dying wish.” I said putting emphasis on dying.

Giovanni’s face went livid with rage, but he controlled it and went down the stairs mumbling under his breath. I smiled as I continued towards Gabby’s chambers. Even though I did not want to be bothered with Gabby it would be worth it just to get under Giovanni’s skin. I knocked on the door and a very sleepy Gabby opened the door. “Catching up on beauty sleep are we my lady? Of course it’s not like you need it.” Gabby made a move to close the door, but I prevented her from doing so with my foot. “Come now is that anyway to treat your future husband.”

“You have some nerve to still think that it is you who will become my husband after what you accused me of.”

“Ahh, yes about that Gabby,” I said trying to put remorse on my face, all though I wanted to show anger when Zaria came into my view from behind her. “I apologize.” Her face registered shock. “I shouldn’t have accused you without proof. Can you find it in you heart to forgive me?” I bowed deeply making sure to keep my foot in the door.

Gabby yawned then said, “at last you have come to your senses, but I am afraid it has come too late. Now if you don’t mind we are not scheduled to meet until the feast, I bid you farewell.” With that Gabby opened the door wide and slammed it into my foot.

I cursed as I began hopping up and down on my good foot, cradling my banged up one with my hand. I began limping to the stairs to get to the dining hall to where the feast would take place in a couple minutes. Turning I saw Jacqui’is smirking at me as he headed in the same direction as me. For a second I thought of letting Jacqui’is have the wretched hoyden, but knew my father would do much worse to me than he has done to his enemies if I didn’t come through. Gabriella Fairavard when you become my wife you will pay for everything you have put me through; starting with your lover. I thought following in Jacqui’is wake.

At dinner Gabriella was as stubborn as ever, she would not talk to me or even acknowledge my presence. It wasn’t until after dinner was over that I forced her to engage in conversation with me. “Would my lady honor me in talking a stroll in the garden with me?” I asked offering my hand as I stood up. Gabriella stood up and turned away from me heading towards her chambers. I grabbed her arm and twirled her to face me making sure to keep a firm grip. “Unhand me this instant!” She yelled under her breath.

“At last my lady speaks to me.”

“I would not call yelling speaking.”

“I would rather have you yelling than not speaking to me at all. Now will you walk with me or will I have to carry you out to the garden kicking and screaming.”

Gabriella stared angrily at me and then resentfully took my arm. Outside Gabby’s temper calmed down a bit like I hoped it would, but she still refused to talk to me. “It is a beautiful night is it not?” I said handing her a flower off a bush. She took it, without looking at me. “It reminds me of the night when we were little and helped Epona‘s mother give birth to her. Remember what you told me that night?”

“Aye I do, but you should know by now that nature calms my demeanor. Besides we were little and like all girls I had dreams of having children of my own. Now I do not have those dreams or any dreams that have to deal with being someone’s wife, especially now that I see no need in one no matter what mami says.”

“What about what you said in the stables the day of the tourney?”

“What about it?”

“Seeing as how I didn’t participate I think you should keep your end of the deal.”

Gabby stopped to look at me. “Colin Gulliver you have some nerve!” She yelled. “You expect me to keep my end of the deal when it is your own fault that you didn’t participate in the tourney! You drink yourself unconscious, blame it on me, and now use it make up my mind to marry you after you have apologized for falsely accusing me! I don’t know who is worse you or your coward of a brother!” Gabby let my arm go and headed towards her chambers.

“Gabby don’t you dare walk away from me!” I yelled after her, but she kept walking. “It is what your father wished!” Gabby stopped in mid stride and dropped the flower. “He wished for you to marry me and Zaria to marry Calib.” I knew I had twisted the truth, but I had no other way to convince her otherwise that it was me that she should choose.

“Your lying.” She said turning to face me.

“Why would I lie?” I asked going to her.

“Why would you not? You have tried everything else to convince me to choose you. Why would you not lie about what papi wanted? Papi kept so many things from me, mami, and my sisters why would he confide in you.”

“Why do you think me and my brother was over the farm a lot before your father……” I let the sentence drop. “Gabby I would not lie to you or hurt you. It is what your father wanted. Believe me if it was not his wish I would let you live your life away from marriage because I know how you feel, but it was his wish and seeing how…..” Again I let the sentence drop.

Gabriella fell to the ground and began crying into her hands. I bent down to console her, but she would not let me touch her. “Is everything okay here?” I stood up at the sound of Jacqui’is voice.

Gabby stood up and ran into his arms. Jacqui’is hugged her to him and took her to her chambers leaving me in the garden alone. “That did not look like it went well.” I heard a familiar voice say from behind.

“I shouldn’t worry about my situation, but your own. I know Gabby will choose me because she will not want to dishonor her father’s wish, but you on the other hand.” I turned towards the figure. “Isabella Fairavard follows her heart and her heart has been taken by Darius Harte, your work is cut out for you.”

“My work has been accomplished.” The figure held up a vial of red liquid.

I smirked. “My father has chosen his allies well. The heart may be strong, but the mind makes the final decision.” I dismissed the figure and headed toward my chambers.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Kimmie Hite

Born in the Philippines as a military brat I grew up as a kid exposed to all walks of life and cultures. Currently, working on releasing self published book while living with lupus nephritis as a single mother waiting for transplant

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.