Fiction logo

Sublime Lights

A Fiction Unforgettable Adventure

By Anyelin Mejia Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
Sublime Lights
Photo by Lucas Marcomini on Unsplash

I will never forget that moment when it all began in Fairbanks, Alaska, where my spouse and I had the initiative to take a deserved vacation in that state in North America. I had always dreamed of going to Alaska, (I know it sounds crazy because of how cold it is, but it doesn't matter) it has the most beautiful landscapes in the entire universe and the most wonderful forests where almost everyone is used to camping during the weather and warm temperature. Not only that, Alaska is one of the most majestic states in the U.S. and the World, not only for its ecological system but also for the nocturnal moments that seem like a fairy tale; its starry nights and northern lights. It seems awesome to you, right?

First of all, I was at home working and doing chores all the time, then my husband came back home exhausted. He entered the house, he kissed me, he sat down the couch, then he looked at me saying:

-My love, I already talked to my boss about what we agreed on.

-Great! And then? What did he tell you?—I answer him.

-Well, we agreed that I could take the vacation for three weeks!. He didn't refuse at all. —He was expressed.

-What a great news, love. –I answered euphorically.

Luckily, it was already his last week of work since he finally reached an agreement in his company that he would take three weeks of vacation. Moreover, my husband smiled at me and said:

-By the way, I already booked our vacation, will be for a week.

-Oh, yeah? And where will our vacation be this time? –I asked him.

-Guess where...He answered me in a picaresque expression.

-Come on! Please, tell me! You have me intrigued. –I spoke impatiently.

Happily, he replied– We will go to Alaska! What do you think?

-Are you talking to me seriously? How exciting!–I answered him with a lot of rejoicing, then I kissed him, and he smiled at me again.

Titus (my husband) and I always tend to be two people with an adventurous spirit, who always have plans to explore new horizons, new lands, and new cultures in all countries of the world. We had already visited some countries in Europe, such as Italy, Spain, Switzerland and also the border areas between Europe and Asia, where Turkey is located. We have visited Israel, land of my ancestors and some other countries, within Latin America. I always say that I enjoy every moment when we travel around the world together; they are new experiences that I acquired every time.

In this case, when we arrived at our destination in Fairbanks, Alaska, before winter came, I was stunned by the place and the cabin where we will be as well. We arrived at the cabin very exhausted and at that moment, we decided to take a shower and having some rest. On the other hand, when we both showered, We went to the kitchen for some hot chocolate, and as it got dark, I saw those stars appear out of nowhere, and I was amazed because I’d not seen something like that before. When I got excited, my fatigue disappeared, and suddenly I said to my husband:

–I think I will go out to take some night photos. I don't want to waste this moment for nothing.

–Enjoy, love. Don't stray too much.– My husband said with a smile on his lips after kissing me.

I was outside, and I was able To make the most of the night. For the first time in my life, I was able to take photos of the sky surrounded by the Milky Way. It’s like being on another planet far from earth, and then, unexpectedly, I saw stars shower. I couldn’t contain my happiness and I called my husband:

– Love, there’s a stars shower, hurry!

— I’m coming! He exclaimed.

Both of us enjoyed that moment. We almost spent the whole night looking at the sky, hugging and talking until we were sleepy, and we went to sleep.

By Jake Hinds on Unsplash

Second day, it has already dawned, and there were still days to enjoy In Alaska. My husband and I decided to eat breakfast outside the cabin because the day was extremely beautiful, after all, a Titus’ friend called us to meet him at his house here in Fairbanks. They were talking for a moment to confirm the time we could arrive and they both agreed that it would be this afternoon that we could go, because before we go to visit him, we have to do certain things first.

It’s already afternoon, and we have arrived at James’ Home. James is the name of my husband’s friend. James and Titus have been friends since childhood and they had even studied together at the same school, in Cincinnati. Then, both had been separated by Destiny because each of them went to different colleges from different states. On the other hand, time passed, and they met again within the company where Titus has currently been working, and then, James decided to move to Alaska for other job opportunities, But right now he runs his own business, and he has a beautiful dream house, that even my husband and I were delighted.

However, hours passed, and we had shared a lot; we were talking about everything even they were telling jokes, and we laughed so much. Also, James and Titus were talking about business, and James has been proposing to him to work together in his business, then, Titus was thinking about it, and then he asked me:

– Love, do you think that will be the right thing to do?

–As long as it is of great help and benefit, I more than agree with the proposal.– I replied.

We were all satisfied and happy With this wonderful opportunity, even though it is an additional job, it is a business model where you can work from home and wherever you are. After that agreement and much sharing, We said goodbye, and we returned to the cabin.

The days passed, and we have enjoyed the best; We were shopping, hiking in the mountains, swimming in the rivers, even camping with James and his girlfriend. It was all wonderful, but we only had six days left in Alaska. Today is the day had been covered with snow since The afternoon of the fifth day. Titus and I were motivated to do something we had always wanted to do a long time ago, skiing!. I tell you we were both very happy. Well, we left the cabin and went to line up to borrow the ski equipment, And we got it, and there was the fun began. For a moment I thought skiing would be difficult for me, But I had noticed that it wouldn’t. It turned out to be easier that skating on ice (I wouldn’t even want to remember the first time I skated...it was a disaster!!) I started step by step and little by little, and in that same moment, I started skiing like almost a professional and my husband alike. The emotion was so great that we were hungry, and we went to lunch.

By the time we finished, it started to snow again and immediately, we returned to the cabin as fast as possible, because it was falling more and more intensely. The blizzard lasted all afternoon, so we had no choice but to stay inside the cabin watching TV or some interesting movie, until the night fell. After the blizzard ended, the night cleared, and still, Titus and I were inside the mackerel warming ourselves in front of the fireplace along with the living room and preparing ginger tea and toast for dinner, while we were having dinner, suddenly, we saw green lights went through the kitchen window, and I told Titus that I would go take a look outside and when I came out, I was surprised I saw with my own eyes, The Aurora Borealis or as many know it: "The northern lights". It was something extraordinary and sublime that I had never seen before (I just saw it in pictures and movies). He didn't want to miss this moment; I took a Short video and a photograph as well so that I will always remember that magical experience that I had lived on this vacation. In the same way, my husband took the opportunity to capture a wonderful memory of the Aurora Borealis.

We stayed up late almost all night, excited and enjoying that amazing spectacle of green flashes of the northern lights. It's a shame that it was time to go back to Cincinnati, but I thank Titus very much for fulfilling that desire of being able to go on vacation to Alaska. It has been an experience that I will never forget, and I still have the photos of that night. I hope to go on vacation to Alaska once again because it's a state worth loving and there are places that we haven't visited yet.

Adventure
Like

About the Creator

Anyelin Mejia

Believer, Dominican-Jewish, Arts Passion, Makeup Artist, Gamer, Model, Musician, Music Bachelor, Singer, Fitness Self-Trainer, Love for nature, and pet stylist aspirant. I love to inspire others.

“I am my only limit.”

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.