Fiction logo

Street Hop

A Hip Hop inspired short story

By Joe PattersonPublished about a month ago Updated 24 days ago 4 min read
Street Hop
Photo by Shot By Joe on Unsplash

Andre is standing on the corner leaning against the brick building that is his apartment complex when a man dressed in raggedy clothing approaches him. “What you got for me, youngblood?” the man asked. “I got that good for you right here” Andre replied while reaching into the right pocket of his flight jacket. Out of it he pulled a tiny ziplock bag with a white powdery substance, it was heroin. The rugged man gave André a 20 dollar bill and André gave him the small bag of heroin. “Preciate that, youngblood” the man said as he walked away. As André stood waiting for another customer, three young men with black jackets similar to André’s started approaching him from across the street.

“You on the wrong side of the street homie” one of the men said. “Don’t feel like it to me” André started. “I earned this corner, y’all need to go”. “Let’s negotiate” one of the men said while punching André in the gut. The other two then joined him in punching and kicking André. In the midst of the punches and kicks André broke out of the scuffle and started throwing punches. As André fought to fend off his attackers they suddenly heard the sound of a police siren. A police car sped up behind them as they became aware.

“Nobody move” one of the two cops in the car yelled out. André’s three attackers rose up as the police car stopped and drew their guns. “Put your guns down” one of the cops screamed as he and his partner drew their guns in return. As André ducked and ran away his three attackers started firing shots at the police as the police started firing back. The further André ran the more distant the shots became. He also heard more police sirens in the distance. As the sirens started coming in his direction he hid behind the stairwell of the neighboring apartment complex as the cars drove by.

When André rose to his feet he was greeted from behind by a familiar face. It belonged to his friend Tracy. “Yo what up Dré?” Tracy greeted with suspicion. “What up Trace?” André responded nearly short of breath. “You ight?” Tracy asked curiously. “Yeah” André answered while looking over his shoulder. “No you’re not” Tracy began. “You out here in these streets gettin’ yourself in trouble, am I right?” “And what if I am?” André asked sarcastically. “Dré come with me” Tracy demanded. André followed Tracy inside the building they were standing in front of and they walked to the second floor.

When they reached the second story they entered the first door on the left which was a recording studio that was occupied by three other young men: Moe, Ramell and Junior. “What are we doin here?” André asked curiously. “You know what we’re doin here, Dré” Tracy began. “We’ve been homeboys since we were little kids. I know you better than anybody, so I know you can rap like no other. I also know that you need a way out of the street life, so we about to take a different route using Hip Hop.”

“So what you sayin I should do?” André asked. “Get in that booth and spit them lyrics that I know you can spit so we can get ya music out there to the people” Tracy replied. “I’ll put some instrumentals on for you. All you gotta do is go in there and lay it down”. André walked into the recording booth as Ramell and Moe started up the recording equipment. “Whats bout to happen now?” Junior asked Tracy. “We gon change his life, right here, right now” Tracy replied.

Inside of the recording booth André put the headphones sitting on the microphone over his head. “Are you gon’ put a beat on?” André asked. “Yeah, which one do you want?” Tracy asked. “Give me “Slam” by Onyx. I’m in the mood for some energy” André concluded. Within seconds the instrumental of “Slam” was playing throughout the studio. André started nodding his head as he prepared to freestyle:

🎶They gave me a block so I was throwin packs.🎶

🎶Tracy told me to hit the studio forget the block and I ain’t goin’ back🎶

🎶I was addicted to a life of crime🎶

🎶But I’m too legit to quit and makin’ hits for a life of dimes🎶

🎶Goin’ to work is like goin’ to hell🎶

🎶But I gotta leave the street or else I’m goin’ to jail🎶

🎶I ain’t gettin’ far by scammin’ the system🎶

🎶Don’t wanna be another Black man in the system🎶

Tracy and the others all looked on bobbing their heads to the rhythm of André’s flow.

🎶It’s time for me to leave the streets behind🎶

🎶If I don’t leave the streets behind then the streets are gon’ leave me behind🎶

🎶Can’t let the devil rearrange my life🎶

🎶Caught up in the same strife it’s time for me to change my life🎶

🎶The streets loved to play tough wit me. Never a bluff wit me for anyone who tried to play rough wit me🎶

🎶It’s time for me to tell the streets goodbye🎶

🎶The street’s a lie. It’s a cold world, but I’m a tell the heat goodbye🎶

Everyone collected themselves as the music stopped playing. “Now tell me this ain’t the real life you was born for?” Tracy asked André. “It is” André responded. “I’m ready to leave the streets for Street Hop”. André and Tracy exchanged smiles of respect knowing they were destined for a great future in Hip Hop.

Short Story

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Joe PattersonWritten by Joe Patterson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.