Fiction logo

STIR THE WIND

jump a line

By Margaret BrennanPublished 3 months ago 6 min read
1

STIR THE WIND

Jump a line



Just a baby

Laurinda never told a soul. Her family knew but kept the secret. They all knew that in time, the secret would no longer be just that.



Her “condition” as her father called it, became noticeable when she was just six months old. Old enough to know, but too young to understand.

Her mother, Marianna, while secretly wishing for this, hoped it would happen much later in her daughter's life.

“Mom,” Marianna began questioning her mother, what am I going to do? I can’t yet allow her to be seen in public. What if she slips? Yet, I also can’t keep her captive within the walls of our home. Can you offer any advice?”

Avaleigh, Laurinda’s grandmother replied, “Actually, I do have a suggestion, but you’ll need to speak with your husband, first. This will affect him, as well.”

Marianna looked at her mother with hope in her eyes. “Mom, tell me. I’ll try anything to hold this off for a few more years.” At a second glance, she saw the mischievous smile reach from her mother’s lips to her eyes.

“Oh, mom, are you thinking what I think you’re thinking?”

“Mari, I’ll say two words just to get you going. Aunt Miranda.”

Laurinda gasped. “Aunt Randi?”

Her mother chuckled. “Yes, my dear. Aunt Randi. The one and the same. Well, actually, the one and only!”

“But, Mom, I thought she retired years ago. She said ..”

Avaleigh interrupted, “Yes, she wanted to give it all up but then Belinda was born. Little Billie just turned one lasts week. You haven’t forgotten, have you?”

“Mom, no, I haven’t forgotten. In fact, I sent Billie a birthday gift. But I haven’t seen Aunt Randi since Billie was born. They live a few hundred miles away which makes visiting a bit awkward.”

“I understand, my sweet. It’s been easier for me, but Laurinda is so much like Billie. You have no idea how much! I’m sure Randi can give you much better advice than I can. After all, being your mother and Laurinda’s grandmother, I find it a bit difficult being objective. And who knows? Maybe even Finn would enjoy a weekend away. Might help him better understand what you’re going through with Rindy.”

Marianna thought about it.

“You know, Mom, you might have a point, but do you think Rindy is up for a line trip?”

“Oh, Mari, absolutely. I began taking you when you were only a few weeks old. Rindy will be fine. And I’m sure the line would make the trip easier for your husband. I doubt Finn has forgotten the rush he’d always gotten from it.”

Marianna laughed, “No, mom, I’m sure he hasn’t.”



Thirteen years later

“Mom,” Laurinda said to her mother, “have I been good? I mean, good, like in hiding my … well, my “condition” as dad puts it.”

Marianna walked to her daughter and wrapped her arms around her. “Better than good, my love. I know it’s been difficult for you but I’m sure you realize why there was a need for secrecy.”

“I know, Mom. But how I wish things were different. Once I’m in high school, maybe things will change a bit and acceptance will be more tolerant.”

“Well, my love,” Marianna said, “we’ll know soon enough. High school begins in three weeks. Are you ready?”

Laurinda’s father walked through the door and asked, “Who’s ready for what?” His steps took him first to his wife, who he kissed softly on the lips, then to this daughter, on whose forehead he placed a more gentle kiss.

“Finn,” Marianna replied, “we were just talking about Rindy starting high school. She’s a bit worried.”

Finn stood in front of his daughter, and using two fingers under her chin, gently raised her head so he could look into her eyes.

“Rindy. My best girl – well, next to your mother, that is.” This always made Laurinda smile. “You’re beautiful, talented, with a personality that glows whenever you enter a room. What’s bothering …. Oh, I think I know.” He said as he looked at her worried face.

“My poor little girl. We’ve put you through so much. I can’t begin to tell you how sorry we are for all of that, but I hope you realize it was for your good. You’ll be fine in high school. You’ve learned to much and I’m so confident that you won’t have any problems.”

Laurinda wrapped her arms around her father and sighed deeply. “I’m just so afraid I’ll slip. I don’t want to embarrass you or mom.”

“Honey, you’ve gotten good at explaining things away. You’ll be fine. You have a good head on your shoulders and a great imaginative brain. We know you. You’ll be okay.”

Laurinda turned her head to look at her mother. “He’s right, Rindy. You’ve been able to explain away your little slips, so far. I see no reason why you still can’t. I agree with your dad. You’ll be fine.”



Three years later

“Mom,” Laurinda called from the shop’s dressing room, “can you come in here for a few minutes? I need your advice.”

Marianna stepped through the curtained doorway and stared at her daughter. Her eyes misted and she tried hard to blink them away. She raised her fingers to her bottom lip to hide the tremble as she softly said, “Oh, my, Rindy, where has the time gone? Where is my little girl? When did you grow up?”

Laurinda walked to her mother and enfolded her in a huge hug.

“Aw, Mom. I love you, too, so much so that it often hurts not to be able to hug you as much as I’d like. I owe you and dad, but especially you, a world of thanks for all you’ve done for me and everything you taught me. I doubt I could ever repay you.”

Marianna brushed away a stray curl from her daughter’s forehead. “Payment for love is never necessary. So, tell me my love, what do you need from me?”

Laurinda turned toward the wall mirror. “Mom, it’s this dress. I love it, but I want your opinion. I want to wear it to Amy’s sweet sixteen party in two weeks, but I was wondering, is it too plain? Too old fashioned? Too, well, too sexy? What do you think?”

Marianna looked at the strapless, Shamrock green dress whose attached skirt fell in soft layers that swayed to the knees as her daughter walked across the room.

“Oh, Rindy, it’s perfect. It brings out the green of your eyes making them shine like emeralds. I know it will enhance the beauty of your hair and speaking of your hair, you’re not wearing it like that are you?”

“Oh, Mom. Of course not. I just put it in this ponytail for shopping purposes. I plan on wearing it down and loose.” Laurinda smiled a slight mischievous smile and finished with, “Uh, do you want to see?”

Marianna smiled a knowing smile.

“Okay, my little witch. Stir the wind.”

With that, Laurinda raised one finger, twirled it in the air and allowed her hair to gently fall in beautiful auburn curls down her back.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 76 year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.