Fiction logo

Steven and Gloria

The Confused Swan

By Crystal Dawn LesherPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

It was a dreary cloudy day when I came into the world. I was so happy to find that I had this old rickety barn to keep me dry. There were other little ones clucking around me. A strange human came by and threw down some sort of food because the young ones clucking near me when crazy up to the pile and started dipping their faces into it. It was nothing like I had expected from inside my egg.

I start looking around and introducing myself. I met this strange creature that was black and white and walked on four legs. How unusual.

I introduce myself, "Hi, I am Steven."

The creature said, "Hi, you can call me Betsy."

"Betsy I hope I don't make you mad but what are you?" asked Steven.

"Oh hun, you do not make me mad by asking. I am a cow," answered Betsy.

"Well, it is really nice to meet you and talk to you Betsy, I think I will go explore some more. Have a great day!" Steven said as he walked away.

The next thing I saw that caught my attention was this wooden ladder. I do not think I will be able to get up that so I just kept walking through the stalls. The next thing I see is another brown creature that walks on all four legs.

"Hi, I'm Steven. I notice that you are a cow too. What is your name?" asked Steven.

"Well, hello Steven. I am Wilber but I am not a cow." Said Wilbur.

"Not a cow, but you look just like Betsy?" asked Steven.

"While I do look a lot like a cow I am not. I am a horse." Answered Wilbur.

"Oh, I thought you and Betsy were the same." I am sorry.

"It's okay Steven you are new to our great barn. You will learn." Answered Wilbur.

I kept walking around exploring the barn. Then I saw her she was the most beautiful creature in the barn. The feathers on her head looked like she wore a crown. She must be the queen of the barn. The green and blue feathers around her neck were so spectacular. I walked over as quickly as I could.

"Hi, I am Steven and you are the most beautiful creature here. What is your name?" asked Wilbur.

"My name is Gloria. You are very sweet." answered the beautiful peacock.

Steven knew this was the bird he wanted to spend the rest of his life with so he began collecting sticks and twigs to make a beautiful nest. Surely Gloria would love him then. He would make her love him. He would love her for their whole lives.

Every day for three years he picked up sticks and presented them to Gloria who graciously accepted. The day had finally come and he was ready to show his love to Gloria. He began ruffling his feathers and lifting his wings and honking. To display his love. He began hissing and grunting making the biggest loudest spectical he could to get Gloria's attention.

After he did his display he looked at Gloria, she did not appear to be interested. So he could not help but ask.

"Gloria did I not get all the sticks you needed for the nest and did I not impress you with my dance and display of affection?" Asked Gloria.

"Steven your dance was truely spectacular but it would never work between us. We can never be partners."

Steven was crushed, "Why?"

"Steven you are handsome and very devoted as you have proved throughout the past few years, but Steven I am a peacock."

"I know you are gorgeous and you will truely be my queen."

"Steven that is not possible, we are not compatable."

"I still do not understand."

"Steven I am a peacock, you are a swan. It is not possible for us to be a pair. My partner will have a wonderful tail of the most beautiful blues, greens, and even purples. Your mate will be all white with a lovely long neck that matches yours." answered Gloria.

Come here Gloria said. Steven obliged her she took him to the pond and said, "Look at your reflection in the water. Do you see we are different?"

Staring at his reflection in the water, he now saw and he knew she was right. They were not the perfect match. He tried to hold back his tears. Then he heard it. The most glorious voice he had ever heard. He looked up and now he knew. There she was the most beautiful swan he had ever seen. If only he had come out to the pond sooner. If he had not spent so much time in that old barn. Now his life would truely begin.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Crystal Dawn Lesher

I am a mother of 2 amazing children. That does all sorts of things to try to keep my family taken care of.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.