Fiction logo

Steal Me A Life

Black Market Life

By Sheena SeibPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
2
There's Blood on their Hands

The blinding lights of police sirens distract me as I calmly turn to the right.

Calm yourself Kel. They don't know what you have. Relax. Slow your breathing. Stop sweating so much.

The past couple hours flash across my vision in snippets. The plan. Her desperation. My ill morals. The blood on all of our hands.

So much blood.

The flashing lights disappear behind me as I try to look inconspicuous.

He was dying anyways in that alley. No need to feel guilty.

Accusing eyes pierced through my being. Eyes that told of damnation and resignation. My own eyes.

I worked quick with my blade, the only thing that wasn't coarsely thrown together for this all too important moment. The only sounds in the room being the ticking of the clock and the irregular beating of his heart. He was as good as dead. Druggies at this stage don't last very long. They're not good for much of anything. But they are good for this.

Two blocks from drop off point.

Time is ticking and she's waiting for me there.

Self-assuredly I pull up, get out and go in. I stole her a life. Now it's time to save hers.

Microfiction
2

About the Creator

Sheena Seib

Canadian, born and raised. Have loved writing and reading since a very young age. I reside now on the family farm with my parents, brother, husband, and young daughter doing farm stuff.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    Oooh, was this a dodgy organ donation? 😮 I love it, best of luck in the challenge 😁

  • Kelley Stead11 months ago

    Very intense and well written. Found one typo- "passed hours" should be "past hours" I think. A good twist on the challenge. Nice job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.