Fiction logo

Starving

& Untouched

By Randy Wayne Jellison-KnockPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
21
Starving
Photo by Sean Boyd on Unsplash

He was starving

in this season of famine from human touch.

Sometimes she would take a hand

or arm

or grant a random hug

occasionally even tender

but never that touch,

the one which by her own words

she knew might make him feel loved.

Nigh nineteen years,

left to wither on the vine,

love once promised, long e’er withheld.

And all he sees now,

day after day,

evening & night,

is a single looped rope

strung from the rafters.

Short StoryLovefamily
21

About the Creator

Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock

Retired Ordained Elder in The United Methodist Church having served for a total of 30 years in Missouri, South Dakota & Kansas.

Born in Watertown, SD on 9/26/1959. Married to Sandra Jellison-Knock on 1/24/1986. One son, Keenan, deceased.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • J. Delaney-Howe8 months ago

    I felt this deep my friend. Shockingly honest and raw.

  • Atomic Historian8 months ago

    This is amazing Randy! I was not expecting to feel so much this morning. I’m not gonna lie, I first clicked on this because I’m always curious when someone chooses the same Unsplash image I have for a piece

  • Kristen Balyeat11 months ago

    Ahh, dear Randy, I'm so sorry I'm just seeing this. I am very behind on my reading these days. I wish I had seen this sooner. This one broke my heart. If I could give you a massive hug, I would. Instead, I will send one over the wire and I hope you feel it. You are loved! I am close to someone who has considered that last line more than once, not for the same reasons. The darkness that surrounds that feeling is immense and feels inescapable at times. There is always a new day, and feelings do pass, the sun does shine again, although I know sometimes it doesn't feel like it. There are so many that love you, dear one. The world is a brighter place because you are in it! Sending lots of love your way, my friend.

  • Amelia Moore11 months ago

    aww. lovely and sad. great work.

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    Damn, I felt this one. But I never want to reach that final step. After a few years of working from home and masking and distancing, I think that there is more than a chance that we can all overcome that 'famine from human touch'. Thank you, sir!

  • This was so sad. To long for a touch that never comes.

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    I felt this. Every line, I felt this. My love language is touch, and I feel starved every day. I'm sending you the biggest, warmest, soul-touching hug in the history of hugs, my friend. And I'm not being glib when I say to tell that noose to fuck off. Too much of an amazing person to leave this world behind. I'm always available to chat if you need to :)

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    Oh my 🥺 This is so moving. I honestly have no words, but my love goes out to you, Randy! We never really know what people are going through 😞 I hope all is well ❤️

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Leslie Writes12 months ago

    Oh, dear. A very painful situation to find oneself in, but there is so much to live for. I sincerely hope you are okay, Randy. I hope you know how many lives you touch with your words and your presence. 💖

  • Test12 months ago

    Beautiful and sad. If your world is small and dominated by somebody who is not kind, or is a broken person, it can be a horrible soul-killing experience. Children suffer the most in these unloving situations, with no understanding and nowhere to go. Adults can suffer similarly, trapped in a marriage to someone who cannot show affection. A lovely capture of the pain of this.💙Anneliese

  • Lisa Herdman12 months ago

    This was beautifully worded and written, I love the serious depth of emotion you give us through your writing! On another note, I hope you are doing okay. You are a wonderful human and deserve many good things in your life!

  • Kelley Stead12 months ago

    So many touched deprived people in this world

  • This was so sad and emotional. Hope you're okay Randy 🥺

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    This is very sad poem , the longing was felt strongly.

  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    Whoa! That was intense! 💖

  • Roy Stevens12 months ago

    Oh wow, that's powerful stuff.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.