Fiction logo

Start From Scatch

A Child's Anxiety

By Anthony LaMontPublished 8 months ago Updated 3 months ago 7 min read
5

Sometimes I feel like I have trouble fitting in. There was never a specific demographic I felt like I belonged to. I was always viewed a certain way by most of my peers, no matter what group of kids they hung out with. Moving to a new city to attend a new school doesn’t ease the feeling at all either.

I was an Honor Roll student from the beginning of grade school. I attended Sigsbee Elementary for 1st grade. I excelled at English and Math in particular. My name was at or near the top of the class in most subjects, Adonis Jefferson. Most of the other kids viewed me as a teachers’ pet, just because I wanted to get good grades. I gave extra effort in class and was usually rewarded for my efforts. The other kids viewed it as special treatment. My teacher, Ms. Tremel, and my principal Ms. Mbangu had a meeting with my parents, Laticia and Darrell, earlier in the year. They both suggested we accept the invitation I had gotten to go to a school for gifted kids. It was a private school. I wasn’t sure I would like it. We lived in the inner city, and I attended an elementary school in that neighborhood. I had a tough time making friends with children who looked like me, from the same environment as my own. Now I would have to go try to make friends with kids from a completely different background?

Literally the thought of starting over, gave me an uneasy feeling. Even at 6 years old, I fully understood how difficult it would be for me to make friends in an environment where I may be the only black student. I have not lived through segregation, but things still weren’t overly integrated while I was in elementary. I lived in an inner-city neighborhood and went to school there. The prospect of going to a suburban school did not appeal to me.

My parents and the school officials thought it was an amazing opportunity for a young man as bright as I was and at the age I was. I was already able to read and comprehend at an advanced level. Everyone felt that it made sense to place me in a school where I would be challenged and pushed to excel. I had no doubt that I would, but they did not seem to understand how hard it is to be accepted by your peers.

Sigsbee had presented many obstacles, making friends was the most difficult. Most of the other kids were basketball fans. While I was happy that the Pistons had just won their first championship, I was not a sports fanatic. I still loved wrestling, but most of them had outgrown Hulk Hogan and The Undertaker. Since my grandfather was a minister, religion was engrained in my family. Most of my classmates had never stepped foot in a church. I was a regular at mine. What finally did win a couple of friends for me was my toy collection. I was always a big fan of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, and I owned every action figure or toy related to them. I finally found something I had in common with another child.

As far as school was going, I was still doing exceptional. So, if I had been stressed, it wasn’t reflecting in my grades. Though I feel like I always do my best work under pressure. While the school year was winding down, the anxiety I was feeling had not settled. In fact, it had only grown worse. I knew I wouldn’t be here next fall, and my family was sending me out of this neighborhood to live with my grandparents. They lived in the same district as the school I was being sent to, in Woodland Heights.

I had visited here before, but outside of my grandparents and their church’s congregation, I didn’t know anyone here. I just knew that this private school was highly touted nationally.

“Good for me, I guess.” I would always think to myself.

Honestly, I was still dreading the whole ordeal. I had grown close to one of my classmates who also happened to be my neighbor, his name was Rodrick Thomas. How were going to get together to play Super Nintendo or watch Ninja Turtles now? I was in the deepest fear I had felt, in my short time of living, but my parents and teacher were all elated for me.

As terrified as I was that didn’t stop or slow down time in any way. The end of the school year had come, and I was more anxious about it now as I was before I found out I was being sent away to an entirely different environment.

“When will I get to see my friends again?” I wondered.

I wasn’t going to get to spend the summer here, I was leaving almost as soon as the bell rings on the final day of school. Most of my clothes and important belongings were all packed up, long before the final marking period had begun.

I received a “Student of the Year” award on the final day, but it didn’t feel celebratory for me. I’m not saying I didn’t earn it, I was the only student to make the honor roll every marking period, as well as have perfect attendance. I more than earned this award. It just felt like it was all for nothing, knowing I wouldn’t be back for another school year.

The last day of school is spent doing Field Day, where most of our time is spent doing fun activities on the playground. I ran around with the kids I had gotten close to, but just like the year prior I was going to another school next fall. I most likely wouldn’t see most of them again, but I made the most of it for the time being. Rodrick had already left for the summer and since we were neighbors, I did get to spend time with him before he left. I would likely see him again as he had gotten close to my family and was seen as another child by my parents as I was to his parents.

The day ended but not before Ms. Tremel said her goodbyes to me. She was ecstatic for the opportunity that was presented to me and knew I would do well. Every adult I encountered as an adolescent had this idea that I was going to cure cancer or have this important impact on society. This continued into my teenage years, but we’ll explore that later.

“Adonis it was a pleasure to have you as a student this year. I expect to hear wonderful things about you in the future,” she exclaims.

“Thank you, Ms. Tremel.” I respond. “I won’t let you down.”

I didn’t realize the expectations most of the teachers had for me. I just wanted to do well in school and become a pediatrician. I wasn’t looking to cure a disease or become a world leader.

Ms. Tremel hugged me as I left Sigsbee Elementary for the final time and said something that stays with me today.

“Exceed your own expectations Adonis. Don’t try to live up to anyone else’s.

I needed to hear those words, as it came time for me to get picked up by my parents and get on the road from there. We were off to my grandparents’ home in Woodland Heights, and this is what I would call home for the remainder of my school tenure. I still had not warmed up to the idea. I probably never will, but I was finally beginning to welcome to opportunity to attend such a prestigious school. A lot of parents dreamed of getting their kids in, and I was sought out by the school itself. I did feel blessed in that regard.

The Preacher’s Child, Chapter 1

Series
5

About the Creator

Anthony LaMont

he/him

Creative Writer | Aspiring Director

Instagram

Facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Canuck Scriber L.Lachapelle Authorabout a year ago

    I enjoyed your story and look forward to the next part. Happy to subscribe to your work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.