Fiction logo

Special Delivery

A microfiction story

By Merrie SandersPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
12
Special Delivery
Photo by Nellie Adamyan on Unsplash

The heat register hums its sleepy tune as I stare listlessly at the snowy yard. The peace of the scene is interrupted by the crunch-crunch-crunch of the ill-prepared neighbors as they trudge arduously to their front door, arms full of supplies and children.

The mug in my hands holding my third cup of coffee is cooling quickly now as the windows fail to keep the cold out. I glance at the clock to see it's half past noon, so he should be here any minute. Unless the weather's delayed him. But isn't that in the creed? "Neither snow nor rain..." It's the first one, I think. He should be here.

I hear the squeal of cold brakes and the bound of a truck hitting a speed bump too hard and know it's almost time. I pull a hat over my tangled hair and wrap my scarf around my neck three times. I put on my coat and boots and slide my fingers, nails bitten down to nubs, into gloves.

Time now to brave the blustery, bitter cold. My husband shoveled before work, but it's impossible to tell since the snow has been falling all morning.

I trek down the driveway and open the mailbox to see one letter. It's a card in a red envelope dated a week ago. My name in the recipient field scrawled sweetly in my late grandmother's loopy handwriting, a heart sticker on the back sealing the treasure inside.

The last card she'll ever send me.

Short StoryMicrofictionfamily
12

About the Creator

Merrie Sanders

Writing for fun and as an escape from the everyday. After all, what is life for if not to create?

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    Ooooh. Powerful ending and so well-written considering the word constraint. Especially “scrawled sweetly in my late grandmother's loopy handwriting”.

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Oh my. Such a tale. Excellent.

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Ah, Merrie. This was such a bittersweet micro. Made me feel warmly sad.

  • D.K. Shepard3 months ago

    Lovely! Drawn in right away with the way you built the scene! And so poignant in the close!

  • JBaz3 months ago

    Oh damn you got me…real good with this one. I was the last grandchild to receive a gift from my grandfather. I still have those pair of gloves. Congratulations

  • Alyssa Nicole3 months ago

    I love this micro! Great job capturing such a sentimental moment in just a few words. Congrats on your top story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.