Fiction logo

Sometimes, a small act of kindness can make a big impact on someone's life

Homeless

By MEHMET CALISKANPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2

It was a cold winter day, and I was walking to the library to return some books. As I passed by a street corner, I saw a man sitting on the ground, wrapped in a tattered blanket. He was holding a cardboard sign that read "Homeless, anything helps."

I hesitated for a moment, unsure of what to do. I had seen homeless people before, but I had never actually interacted with one. I had always been told to avoid them and not to give them money because they would just use it for drugs or alcohol. But something about this man's eyes caught my attention. They were sad and empty, like he had lost all hope.

I took a deep breath and walked over to him. "Excuse me," I said. "Can I buy you something to eat?"

He looked up at me, surprised. "Uh, sure," he said.

I went to the nearest convenience store and bought him a hot meal and a warm drink. When I returned, he looked at me with gratitude in his eyes. "Thank you," he said. "God bless you."

I smiled and walked away, feeling like I had done something good. But as I continued on my way, I couldn't shake the image of the homeless man out of my head. I wondered what his story was, how he had ended up on the streets, and if there was anything else I could do to help him.

Over the next few days, I found myself going out of my way to walk by that same street corner. Each time I saw the homeless man, I would stop and talk to him for a few minutes, offering him food, water, or warm clothing. He never asked for anything more than that, but each time I saw him, he seemed a little bit more grateful than before.

One day, he told me his name was John. He said he had been living on the streets for over a year, ever since he lost his job and his wife left him. He had nowhere to go and no one to turn to. He had been struggling to survive, and he had lost all hope.

As he spoke, I realized that I had been wrong about homeless people. They weren't just lazy drug addicts or alcoholics - they were real people with real problems. They had families, friends, and dreams, just like everyone else. But they had fallen on hard times and needed help.

My encounter with John changed my perspective on homelessness and on life in general. It made me realize that small acts of kindness can have a big impact on someone's life. It also made me realize that sometimes the things we fear or avoid are the things we need to face head-on.

After my encounter with John, I started to pay more attention to the people around me, especially those who were struggling. I realized that there were many people in my community who were dealing with difficult circumstances, whether it was poverty, illness, or mental health issues. I started to be more compassionate and empathetic, and I started to look for ways to help.

I also started to volunteer more, whether it was at a local soup kitchen, a homeless shelter, or a mental health organization. Each time I volunteered, I met people who were struggling but who were also incredibly strong and resilient. They taught me that even in the darkest of times, there is hope and there is love.

As I continued to volunteer and to help those in need, I realized that my encounter with John had changed the course of my life. It had opened my eyes to the world around me and had made me more aware of the struggles that others were facing. It had also made me a more compassionate and empathetic person, and it had given me a sense of purpose and meaning.

In the years since that encounter, I have made a conscious effort to be more open-minded and empathetic towards others, to see beyond my own biases and assumptions, and to recognize the humanity in everyone I meet

Fantasy
2

About the Creator

MEHMET CALISKAN

6be465ca83422ab5303f52ba68c9181463a2d9eecc505aa11d28f715361fce4e

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.