Fiction logo

Something Darker; Chapter 13

XIII-Jax

By Katarzyna CrevanPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
1

It's been about a week, and V doesn't seem to be getting any better, but she doesn't seem to be getting any worse either. When Zanthus talks to me, he doesn't seem to care one way or the other, but with how much time he spends sitting by her side, I'm fairly certain he does care. Thankfully, Eren is too busy running amuck to notice how often Janice, Mum, and I slip upstairs to ask questions.

Today's rumors include that a party came through earlier and stopped at Lord Calus's. It also floats about that they were armed and that they're here about the Shadow Slave. It doesn't do anything to ease my concern about V laying wounded and feverish upstairs, Marks still completely visible. I had asked Zanthus if he could hide them but he had only sighed and said he wished he could.

V's fever seems to be spiking, but Mum says that it could just seem that way due to the fact she hasn't really been able to keep any food down for the last two days.

Mum is sleeping and Janice is upstairs with V, trying to get her to eat something. I'm downstairs by myself, managing our evening visitors. There aren't many of them and being a week day, they leave early.

The door opens and two men walk in. I don't recognize them. They're both wearing cloaks, and I can see the hilts of their swords. The one has fair hair, and his grey eyes are hard. The other has copper-colored hair and green, watchful eyes. They seem to be the same height, and they both carry themselves with the same confident, authoritative stance, but second seems to glance about in a calculating way, one hand resting on his sword hilt, as if he expects something to happen.

I assume it's some noble and his personal guard. No doubt here to try to find another Shadow Slave and prove himself by taking care of it. I suddenly wish Zanthus was down here. He could let Janice know to be extra careful.

They walk up to the counter and I smile by way of greeting. "Are you looking for a meal, a room, or both?" I ask.

"Neither," the second replies. He leans forward, resting his arms on the counter. "We are looking for someone though. We were hoping you could help us."

I force myself not to glance towards the stairs. This couldn't be good. I shrug. "Perhaps."

"We're looking for a girl. Black hair, blue eyes. Traveling alone save a horse and maybe a cat."

I purse my lips as if thinking and shake my head. "No, sorry. I can't think of anyone matching that description."

My response seems to agitate the other one. "Think harder," he snaps as a hand comes to rest on his sword's hilt.

The second holds up a hand. "Micah," his tone conveys the message of calm down. His eyes come to rest on me. "This is very important. Are you sure?"

His eyes don't move from my face. Keeping my face as neutral as possible I nod. "We don't get many visitors. I'm fairly certain I'd remember a girl traveling alone."

Micah quickly turns away, running a hand through his hair. The other watches me for a second, then nods, pushing off the counter. "Thank you," he says turning and walking off before I can respond.

Both men are halfway across the main room to the door when another man enters. He quickly walks up to them.

This can't be good. I really needed that cat now, or at least the ability to communicate like he did. My mind suddenly flashes to the moments when V would stand there looking at Zanthus. They were talking. Of course. I casually walk over to the books and pull down the one for the tavern keeping. Pretending to look over it, I do my best to attempt to do what Zanthus does and V can do. Zanthus. Zanthus, can you hear me? Zanthus? Come on, Zanthus. Zanthus! I keep calling out in my mind, trying to imagine myself standing in front of him, talking to him.

I'm glad you've figured out how to speak this way, but yelling this way is unnecessary. Now, do you have a reason for bothering me? Zanthus's voice says, irritated.

I think we have a problem. There are men down here asking about V. I don't think they believe my story about not seeing or remembering her.

Zanthus is silent for a second. Just a minute, he finally replies.

I look up from the book to find the two men standing across the counter from me again. Neither looks too happy.

"Where is she?" Micah growls.

"I'm sorry?" I respond.

"My men found her horse in your stable," the other says calmly, but his voice has a dangerous edge to it.

"Is it hers?" I ask, hoping I pass off my surprised look. "It was left here a while back, and no one's come to claim-"

Micah reaches across the counter and grabs the front of my shirt, yanking me forward. I'm inches away from his face. "Tell me where she is right now, or I swear I'll have you executed for treason."

"What?" Now I am surprised, and very concerned.

"He will," the second replies.

"I haven't committed any act of treason," I counter.

"Lying to the king is considered treason," he responds.

You can't just go about not as king then switch back to king to get what you want. It defeats the purpose of being discrete, Zanthus muses. Now, if you'd release the boy.

Micah- King Micah- drops his grip, and I just stare at him. I don't know how many big reveals I can take.

I look at Zanthus. He sits calmly on the counter. He flicks his tail. Are you quite done? He asks.

None of us say anything.

Good. Jax, there is nothing to worry about, these two pose no threat. Micah, Gaitan, Jax is no threat either. If anything, you should be thanking him and his family. His tail flicks again.

"Zanthus. I am in no mood for your antics. Where is she?" Micah demands of the cat.

Zanthus is silent. He watches the king.

"I've always hated cats," Gaitan muses.

That rouses a reaction from Zanthus. He hisses, ear flattening against his head. I am not a cat. It is just my preferred form. If you'd rather I could be a wolf or a dragon.

I'm not sure if Zanthus is joking about the second one, and I'm not sure I really want an actual answer. I don't get the chance to ask though.

King Micah slams his hands down on the counter. "Either tell me where my sister is or tell me what's happened."

I look at him in surprise. Sister. V was Princess Violet?

Zanthus huffs. Then looks at me. I find reunions detestable. I leave the situation in your hands. With that he stands up and walks off, slipping through the doorway to the back rooms.

The king and Gaitan look at me.

Clearing my throat, I head to the stairs. "This way."

Series
1

About the Creator

Katarzyna Crevan

Hi! I enjoy writing and have been writing for some years now. I hope you enjoy my writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.