Fiction logo

Some Legends Get Left in the Valley

A Bedtime Story

By Harbor BenassaPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
3
Some Legends Get Left in the Valley
Photo by Zane Lee on Unsplash

It started off that way, in the dark. The tranquil swirl of snow made barely a whisper at the bedroom window of Grandma's cabin in Canaan, and the eerie critter-less quiet was a welcome discomfort for to keep awake. I was no more than a ten-year-old sprout when I sat awake under that quilt, listening for the footsteps I was sure I'd hear crunching in the temperamental valley snowfall, searching for its hulking shadow overtaking the floodlight leaking onto the opposite wall. And I laid up watching, watching that surface, flat and far and blurring from focus, slow breaths pressing in my lungs, afeared to turn round and look out that window, if I'm to admit it rightly now. I strained with all my might in that black room, and there it was! Accomplishment thrilled within my chest. I had one chance to turn around and look out that window, into the floodlit snow, to catch that sasquatch once and for all. So I twisted my little body towards the light, hoisting up high to see overtop the headboard, and the first thing to catch me was a red ribbon dragging in the snow, long streaks of muck left by a sharp, gaunt thing dragging a prize behind in its bloodthick maw, backing through the snow hunched with the weight of its prey. And as I saw that bundle of bones with the deer's leg in its mouth, son, it also saw me. I ain't never spoke it till now.

PsychologicalMicrofictionHorrorfamilyFable
3

About the Creator

Harbor Benassa

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Ooh. This is good. The tension builds right from the beginning and I love the voice of the narrator. Well done.

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    What a captivating micro! I loved the character voice narrating such a haunting encounter!

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    That moment where you see something you've been desperate to see but realise that, once you have, it might have been better if you hadn't.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.