Fiction logo

Solomon at Court

Imperious or Regal?

By C. Rommial ButlerPublished 8 days ago 1 min read
Agares from Collin de Plancy's Dictionnaire Infernal, Paris, 1863

“Don’t ball your fist at me!” Thaddeus screamed.

“You mistake my balled fist as a sign of aggression,” Solomon replied. “I am holding her back.”

“Her? Who?”

“One of the many demons at my command. She slobbers at your ear even now.”

Thaddeus could feel a presence at his shoulder which he could not see, pressing heat, a radiation. “Listen, Solomon, it was not my intention to offend you. It was just business, you know?”

“Yes, old friend, I know; and so is this.” Solomon unfolded his fist and Thaddeus fell to the ground, shaking violently, eyes closed, head cracking against the stone floor of the temple.

Thaddeus stopped shaking and a pool of blood spread out underneath his head, a crimson halo. His eyes opened but he did not look out of them. The body sat up. The mouth stretched into a cruel smile, and the demon spoke.

“He is dead, but I can animate him for a time, master.”

“Drop him in the moat and leave him to the crocodiles.”

“But I won’t be released until the body is consumed.”

“I know. Let that be a lesson that you should never jump ahead of my signal again. I had to use the power of my will to restrain you. Not a considerable amount, because you are weak and stupid, but any amount is too much. Don’t make me waste my energy on you again, or the price will be your complete dissolution.” Solomon spoke coldly, calmly. He had no need to feel, let alone show, anger.

“Yes, master,” said the demon, but as she rose to throw herself to the denizens of the swamp that guarded this temple fortress, she glared at the exorcist, hating him with her eyes.

He did not even watch her go but turned and left the throne room.

She would not disobey again.

HorrorMicrofictionHistoricalFable

About the Creator

C. Rommial Butler

C. Rommial Butler is a writer, musician and philosopher from Indianapolis, IN. His works can be found online through multiple streaming services and booksellers.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 days ago

    I may be missing some context but I felt so sorry for her. Loved your story!

  • L.C. Schäfer7 days ago

    Oooh this one hooked me right away and didn't let me go

  • Sasi Kala8 days ago

    Your narrative is gripping and filled with tension.loved your story!

  • So eloquently written. Wonderful work, Charles!

  • Babs Iverson8 days ago

    Loved the fable!!!💕❤️❤️

C. Rommial ButlerWritten by C. Rommial Butler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.