Fiction logo

Solace In A Little Touch Of Paradise

Where strangers once more meet

By Colleen Millsteed Published about a year ago 5 min read
5
Image courtesy of Pixabay

It’s time for a sea change.

I hate where I live, stuck in a large capital city, amidst more than a hundred thousand strangers, surviving day in and day out, but never living. Eleven years in limbo, not a friend to call my own, I stay because here I have family, as small as that is, it’s still family.

But things have changed in my little family, members branching out and spreading their wings, relationships destroyed and trashed for better ground, while the family unit fractures, disintegrates to nothing.

It’s time for a sea change.

Amongst the carnage, I pick up the few pieces that are not shattered, broken and I pack them away within my scarred and aching heart, while separating myself from the agony. Packing the important emotions and feelings, discarding the rest, I head out of the big city towards a tiny tropical island, 6,500 kilometres away and pick up life anew.

The white sand and aqua blue sea, the sun rising and setting over the ocean, the sea breeze cooling the afternoon heat — my paradise and little slice of eden.

A welcoming change of pace to the big city life. An afternoon relaxing on the wharf, fishing line in hand and silence other than the seagulls cawing. A night walk along the beach under a full moon. A meander through the markets on a busy day.

Perfection after the hustle and bustle of city life. No longer lonely whilst surrounded by thousand upon thousand strangers.

Life is good.

When I left the big city behind ten years ago, I left the fractured relationships and the broken heart. I used this island to mend my shattered heart and battered soul, accepting that I’ll never see those family members again.

The greatest of those losses was the broken and destroyed relationship of my oldest son, but here on this little patch of paradise I had learned to accept that loss, after the grieving process was completed.

All in all I’m content here on this island living life, excited to wake each day.

Until ………..

One particularly glorious Sunday, I awoke determined to catch my favourite fish for dinner that night. I packed the cast net, fishing line and bucket, heading down to the white sands of the beach.

As I wandered the shoreline, casting my net into the waters catching bait, I noticed a young man heading my way. We are the only two on the beach this morning.

I ignore the stranger, a little annoyed that he has disturbed my peace and I continue on my bait catching mission. Looking for little schools of bony herring, I cast my net once more at the barest of glimpses of a fleeing school.

When suddenly I hear my name being called. “Sandra, Sandra, I’ve been walking the entire beach looking for you,” I hear over the wind.

As I look around, I’m astonished to see it’s the strange man that was walking towards me, calling my name. I never told anyone I’d be here today so how did he find me?

“I’m sorry but can I help you?” I ask this gentleman.

He has stopped about 5 metres from me and stands looking at me as if he knows me. He waits for some sign of recognition but I have no idea who this man could be. I begin to walk away.

“Sandra, do you not recognise me, my voice? Maybe if I was to call you Mum, will you know who I am then?” This strange man calls after me.

I stop. I freeze. It can’t be!

I slowly turn and glance back, “I’m sorry you must have me mistaken for somebody else. I have no son.” I again turn and begin to walk further down the beach, praying he does not follow.

Success as he watches me leave.

I head along the beach until I climb up onto the wharf. About halfway down the wharf, there is a much guarded secret spot to catch the delicious variety of fish we call Blue Bone. A parrot fish variety that is delicious when cooked. My hope for dinner tonight.

After three hours I have managed to land a decent size Blue Bone and I head on home to cook dinner. Fish on the BBQ.

As I near my little apartment, I see the stranger from the beach sitting beside my front door, patiently waiting.

“Hello Mum, you didn’t think you’d get rid of me that easily, did you?”

I heave a loud sigh of defeat. “You’d better come in my son,” I say as I walk past and disappear inside.

Ten years ago I left behind the pain, the agony of the betrayal, of being cast aside, of being replaced. Now the cause of that pain has followed me inside, determined to have his say.

Who’d have thought we’d meet once more in this little touch of paradise. This place that has protected my heart for over a decade.

Will this be the end of my solitude, my peace? Only time will tell and all will depend solely on what this stranger has come here to say!

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Short Story
5

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Such an interesting take on the challenge, quite the interesting story! Well done!

  • I wonder what would have happened all those years ago for Sandra to leave everyone behind, including her son. I also wonder what he wants now from her. This was a fantastic story!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Really well done. It's a unique take on the challenge. Love it.

  • Amberlynn Stewardabout a year ago

    This was a very interesting story, I love that you took a different approach to this story. Great job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.