Fiction logo

So LA

A story about two down-to-earth friends meeting for brunch.

By Shelby WeimerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Two besties, Meghan and Sarah, meet for Sunday brunch at Meghan’s house. After graduating college together and moving out of the midwest, Meghan is so happy to still have a friend in Sarah. LA is certainly an adjustment and if anyone gets it, it’s Sarah.

Meghan has prepared a beautiful spread for her and her friend; one that Sarah could never dream of making herself. This gathering has been in the works for weeks due to scheduling conflicts and frankly, just not wanting to. They hope to end the dumpster fire of a year that was 2020 on a good note. Yes, this is a pandemic story, deal with it.

The doorbell rings. Meghan and her very large dog rush to the door. After nearly running her over, Meghan pushes him off of the door and then off of Sarah as she enters.

“Oh my god, it’s so good to see you! And you too, of course, Atlas!” says Sarah.

“Come on in!” Meghan says, motioning her to the balcony. They each grab a glass and settle at the patio table.

“I’m so happy you could visit during these ‘unprecedented times’,” Meghan laughs.

“I know, me too! This year has been INSANE!” replies Sarah.

“Almost as insane as the amount of rosé I’ve had to cope!” They both overdo it with the laughter.

“For sure! LA has been kicking my ass!”

“Ugh, I know. Everyone here is just so extra. Sometimes I just can’t keep up.”

“Well it’s good to know LA hasn’t changed us.”

“Yeah, give me a good bonfire and a flannel over a hike up Runyon Canyon any day!” exclaims Meghan.

“You can take the girl out of the hick town but can’t take the hick town out of the girl,” agrees Sarah. They start to dig in. Sarah looks down to her plate, examining the avocado toast. “Hey, do you know if this avocado is organic?”

“Oh. You know, I don’t remember. I’m so sorry.” Meghan’s apology is genuine.

“It’s okay… I’m just on an organic vegan keto diet.”

“I totally forgot! Here, try the açaí bowl.” She pushes it closer to Sarah.

“Look at you, using the fruit from your garden!”

“Actually, I picked these berries up from Whole Foods on my way home from work. They are organic though,” Meghan reassures her.

“Just not organically organic…” Sarah realizes she’s coming off like some kind of asshole. “You know what, it’s all good. No big deal. So tell me what’s been going on with you?”

Meghan tries to brush it off. “Well I started doing yoga again so I went out and got a new mat. So. Thick.”

“I am a SLUT for a thick-ass yoga mat!”

“Yeah, so I’m excited. With my last one, I couldn’t even lay comfortably through my sound baths.”

“That stresses me out just thinking about it! I may need to get out my acupuncture mat.”

Meghan attempts to guide the conversation back to Sarah. “But anyway, tell me about work.”

“Oh I’m actually in line for a promotion!”

“Nice! Let me grab my crystals and manifest that for you!”

“Thanks! I’ve been meditating on it during my commute.”

“Well with LA traffic, I’m sure you got this in the bag!” They both laugh a little too hard at the dad joke and sit with it for a few seconds. Meghan looks at her watch. “Shit, I’m late for my light therapy appointment!”

“Just reschedule it," she offers.

“I can’t. I have group therapy, couples therapy, individual therapy, and physical therapy directly after!”

“Sounds impossible but okay,” Sarah retorts.

“I’ll meet you later and we can talk about it over a salad.”

“I would kill for a good salad right about now.”

“I'll see you at our usual spot in between the taco trucks!” They gather their things. Brunch will have to wait.

“Okay fine, one more meal before my juice cleanse!”

Meghan is on her way out the door with Sarah right behind. She stops. “Hey, do you remember where I parked my tractor?”

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Shelby Weimer

I write about funny things, entertainment, pop culture, travel, and everything in between.

If you like what ya see, subscribe! :D

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.