Fiction logo

So Here I Am

waiting.

By Harrison Sissel Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
So Here I Am
Photo by Shorya Sharma on Unsplash

Dear diary... Day 571 since the Framework crashed and I am still here pilling away in the basement of house three in this cul-de-sac. I have to be honest, I sort of miss the subtle blue tint that the city gave the distant skyline, but I suppose now I don't have to wear my blue-blockers like I used to. Mom would be so proud, she hated those things and how they covered my eyes. What else, diary? I feel like I'm treating you like my own personal Wilson from that super old movie... Which by the way, I'm not sure if I've apologized yet to the person who owned this diary before me. I think her name was Abigail. Let's start now, Abigail, I'm sorry I stole your diary and began writing in it. But to be fair, you only wrote on three pages and I've practically filled this from cover to cover. Also, excellent choice on the light pink cover, very tasteful.

Where was I? The ground is covered in snow again, so I fear I am once again trapped inside, lest that biker gang follow my footprints. I went out a couple of days ago to gather more solar panels and any sort of canned food products that may be left. I made a discovery. One that I never thought I would make, dairy. And once I tell you, you're probably going to think I really buried the lead here, and I should definitely be more excited. And I should. But it's hard to get excited because the situation is... well... delicate.

I found my sister.

The gang has her. I was up near the old mall, where I stumbled on a huge array of solar panels. While I was up on the pole loosening some bolts I saw a few more panels on the top of the mall. They were neatly stacked and still wrapped in plastic from the factory. So, being the me that I am I went to explore. Guess what, diary! The mall is where the biker gang hangs out. I was quiet, as I always am but I still needed to see if I could at least get a couple of undamaged panels.

You should see the way they've set up the mall. The center gathering area where the Christmas trees and balloons and the Easter Bunny would've all set up is like some sort of throne room for that dick with the red leather jacket. The whole side of the room is lined with make-shift cages that they've got random people trapped in. As I was tiptoeing past I heard a slight shriek. And that's when I saw her.

I abandoned the panels on the roof and made my way back here. I have to regroup, reformulate, and put my main plans on hold. I can't just leave my sister, right?

Step one of the new plan. I had to go back into house seven and up to that bathroom. I shudder thinking about it. The smell still lingers in my nose and I just want to puke. I can't believe that couple did that. How did he have the courage to shoot his own wife before himself? That little heart-shaped locket was still clutched in her hands, the chain wrapped around her fingers. Is that was love is? Saving the ones you love from this Hell? Even at such a great cost? But I had to go. I needed the gun. Not just for protection, but to rescue my sister.

This stupid snow has me waiting. And I don't know how much longer she has. So here I am, hoping I'm not too late.

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Harrison Sissel

Curl up with your new favorite author? Writer of all things fiction. Occasionally poetry. Please give my stuff a read?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.