Fiction logo

Snowhumps

A bit of indigestion

By Tina D'AngeloPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
6
Snowhumps
Photo by Brent Olson on Unsplash

"Copy. Rescue Hut #1. Rescue Hut #1. We're gonna need more searchers. Over."

"Copy. What? You lost or something? Need Mommy to hold your hand? Over."

"Copy. No, seriously. Brady and the victim's partner are now missing. Over."

"Copy. You on the right trailhead? Over."

"Copy. Yes, dumbshit. Windhill West. Over. It's creepy as fuck out here, and the blizzard is picking up. I mean, there's nothing. No sign of anyone ever being here. Over."

"Copy. I told you something was going on up there. I'm calling it in down the hill. Stay on top of the trail marker. Don't move. Over."

"Copy. Over."

Fuck that shit. I'm not sitting on my thumbs while Brady and two other skiers are in trouble, I thought, as I snapped on my skis. A quick perimeter search looking for clues won't hurt. Grabbing my poles, I pushed off down the hill, where the others must have gone, shushing through the fresh powder pouring from the dark, ominous-looking sky.

Visibility was down to about two feet in front of me, as the wind began howling, pushing against my forward movement. Almost as if it was conspiring with the snow to keep me from finding anyone.

"Damn!" I tripped over something hidden by the falling snow, landing on my face. Wiping my goggles off, I squinted against the snowscape, "What the fuck?"

A broken ski stuck awkwardly out of the snow. Panicked, I clawed furiously through the snowpack, looking for a body, a clue, anything.

thrillerMysteryMicrofictionHorrorAdventure
6

About the Creator

Tina D'Angelo

G-Is for String is now available in Ebook, paperback and audiobook by Audible!

https://a.co/d/iRG3xQi

G-Is for String: Oh, Canada! and Save One Bullet are also available on Amazon in Ebook and Paperback.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Leslie Writes3 months ago

    This is a great scene

  • Omg omg omgggg!!! You left us at a cliffhanger again! I gotta know what or who they find!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.