Fiction logo

Snow-Covered Driveway

A Story Of Fiction

By Nettie BPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
www.kofi.com/nbphotoart

Is there such a thing as the perfect murder? Or is it all just an illusion?

I live in the midwest where snow is a guarantee every single year. But as we all know, winter is not what it use to be 25 years ago let alone 5 years ago. We're going through this pattern where heavy snowfalls are more frequent and so are the higher temps which means melting and ice. If roads, driveways included, are not cleaned properly the snow will get packed down by the vehicles, melt, and refreeze into thick ice sheets that become dangerous to walk on.

Some feel the roads should have this layer for insulation, I don't. I expect a clean driveway and pay someone good money to get this done after every snowfall. Unfortunately, I am not their only customer. He has several and even though I was his first paying customer and was also the one who referred him to all of his current customers I somehow fell to the bottom of the list. Even though his home is two doors down and he has to pass my driveway to get to everyone else's.

I've been patient and forgiving for the last few years and with every complaint came an excuse as to why he didn't get to me first. His favorite was because I work from home I don't need to be plowed right away but others did need to get out for their children's school or for their own "early morning job".

I'm sorry, did he know my schedule? Did he know what I had to get done every single day? Doesn't matter if I want to spend the entire day in or not, I'm paying him to clean my driveway, and to hell with everyone else's reason. Here's an idea, leave earlier but these arguments resulted in wasted breath and an occasional early plow which was usually on the weekends.

The final straw was for him to drive by and see me hand shoveling out my driveway and not pull in to finish the work or stop and say he'll be over in a few minutes. Nope, he keeps on driving. I was able to clear enough to get my car out and took off for running my errands it is only then, a few doors down, I see his truck parked in a driveway and he is standing in the garage talking to the house owner. Both are laughing, flirting, and just as he turns to leave she pulls him back and gives him a long, deep kiss that he doesn't reject.

I'm sure his wife would appreciate that but even more so, this is where he spends his time having an affair while I pull every muscle in my body trying to clear out my driveway so I can get into town. My hands grip the steering wheel, my teeth clench, and rage fills my body.

The country road I live off of is always the last one to get cleared and today, after one sweep the snow is already melting and creating a thick slush. It wants to grab onto the tires and pull me in but I keep both hands on the wheel. Up ahead someone is crossing the road to the mailbox. I take my foot off the gas and let my car coast along. They are taking their time so I move over into the oncoming lane to go around. I'm almost even with them when they suddenly turn and step out onto the road. They didn't even look, just turned and began walking.

I hit the breaks and a grinding sound against the tires is heard but I'm not stopping because the slush has gripped the wheels I turn the steering wheel to avoid them but the back end comes around and the last thing I see before I close my own eyes are the eyes of the person in the middle of the road, fear, and shock are in their wide eyes and the last thing I hear is a loud thump as the car collides with their body.

The cops are called by a neighbor who witnessed the incident, the person is dead, and I'm standing there giving a statement. I don't feel shock, horror, or even sadness just contentment because now the affair is officially over and perhaps now I'll get my driveway plowed on time.

Young AdultShort StoryMysteryHumorFan Fiction
1

About the Creator

Nettie B

Welcome! Thanks for stopping by, if you like my posts, show your support with a tip, pledge, or subscribe. Also, check out my website at www.ko-fi.com/nbphotoart for more of my photography.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.