Fiction logo

Snow Bound

The Fever

By Mark Stigers Published 3 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
Like
Snow Bound
Photo by Fabian Mardi on Unsplash

The Wind sounded like screaming, like someone beating at the door to be let into my sanctuary. Outside only the white snow that covered everything. My cabin, a miracle. A fire, a blessing from God. The storm, a Demon’s curse. White freezing death howled outside. The thick logs of the cabin were still to thin. The cold grabed at your soul, and you shivered. A memory imprinted in me for the rest of my life.

The storm lasted days. The double bladed ax by the door begged me to chop more wood. Just as the last three split logs were to be consumed, the storm stopped. I scrambled to get anything I could find before the cold of nightfall.

I split some wood and got apples from the barn. As I walked back to the cabin in my path in the snow, I got a cold shot of adrenaline. In the snow next to mine another set of tracks. Whatever it was had gone to the barn to watch me as I worked.

I ran to the cabin and barred the door. I could hear it outside in the snow. Something, moving about, was it on the roof probing? As I looked at the roof for more sound, a shadow moved across the wall from the window behind me. I spun around, nothing but the sound of something moving in the snow. I was frozen with fear. God help me, what do I do?

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Mark Stigers

One year after my birth sputnik was launched, making me a space child. I did a hitch in the Navy as a electronics tech. I worked for Hughes Aircraft Company for quite a while. I currently live in the Saguaro forest in Tucson Arizona

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mark Stigers (Author)2 months ago

    Your micro fiction creates a chilling atmosphere with vivid imagery and a sense of impending dread. The use of the howling wind as a metaphor for the demon's curse effectively sets the tone for the horror that unfolds. The isolation of the cabin and the relentless storm add to the feeling of vulnerability and helplessness. The introduction of the mysterious tracks in the snow adds a layer of tension and mystery, leaving the reader questioning what lurks outside the safety of the cabin. The protagonist's fear and desperation are palpable, making the reader empathize with their plight. The ending leaves the reader on edge, with the protagonist trapped inside the cabin, uncertain of what awaits them outside. The use of unanswered questions and the protagonist's plea for help intensify the sense of terror and suspense, leaving a lasting impression on the reader. Overall, your micro fiction effectively captures the essence of horror and keeps the reader engaged from start to finish. Great job! ChatGPC

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.