Fiction logo

Snow Bakery on the Walker Street

Short Story

By Hazel ParadisePublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
Snow Bakery on the Walker Street
Photo by Yeh Xintong on Unsplash

"So, waiting for someone?" my friend Lexie asked.

I looked at her and she was all in a pink dress with her hair dyed pink too. She was my best friend as well the co-owner of this little bakery.

"Why would you think that way?" I ignored her.

"The way you are looking at that man on the corner makes me feel like you should hook up with someone soon, Lily," she said. She winked at me. Whenever she says something, they have different meanings. And as much as I know about her, she is not the person who is going to stay quiet on this topic. Matching her friends up with someone is her favorite task to do.

"Nothing.." I lied.

"Liar... say that you like that blue shirt guy that happens to be visiting our store for quite some time. You know it's Day 11."

Since the day, the blue shirt guy entered our Bakery, Lexie has been counting it. No one visits the bakery on the regular basis.

"It's good for us, you know that right? We'll make more money out of it," I said. The hell with the money! I like when he visits my place every single day. Although we haven't talked much yet.

"Why he comes here? Does he have a girlfriend? What do you think?" she asked,

We both looked at him. If this is true, I am going to stop flirting with the man. I pray that he is not. Please he is not. Say he is single! Just say it!

"Whatever happens, will happen." Now I am worried.

"You know yesterday he ordered Strawberry Shortcake."

"So?" I was trying to concentrate on my accounts." I said I was trying to.

She took the pen from me and tapped on my head. "What are you doing? This is not your playground Lexie."

"Boys don't eat Strawberry Shortcakes."

"My brother likes Strawberry Shortcakes," I confirmed. Did I mention that I have a younger brother?

"He is your brother. Your adorable, little, never-going-to-grow-up brother. I am talking about the real man."

"Carl is not going to like that, Lexie."

"Who is going to tell him? You?"

"You know I don't hide anything from him. I tell him everything when I go home."

"Oh dear, you siblings."

We both looked in his direction, and that blue-shirt guy was coming in our direction. This time he chose his dessert fast.

"where I you going?" Lexie asked.

"I am going in. I wanna make a new batch..."

"Oh no! You are not going anywhere. You are taking his order today."

"Please don't make me."

"You'll thank me later," without waiting she went off.

"Oh, dear..."

"Can you write a name on it?"

I turned and our eyes met. Blue eyes? Lexie said he had brown eyes. Liar.

"Yeah sure.."

"Maria."

"Sorry?"

"Her name is Maria." He smiled.

"Oh yes. Maria. Nice name," I lied. Must be his girlfriend. Oh, dear...I am doomed.

My hands were shaking as I piped the name on the cake.

"So Lily, you were busy for a few days I guess," he asked.

He knows my name! Wait, what's his?

"Me? Yeah, my baker is on vacation so I am alone at the back."

"Oh .."

When I heard nothing, I looked up and he was looking at me, biting his lips.

"Can I ask you something? Directly?"

I stopped. What is he talking about?

"See, I have been visiting the store for some time.."

"11 days to be exact.."

"You were counting?"

"Nope, my friend.."

He laughed.

"What?" I asked.

"Nope. My work half is done here."

"What did you mean?" I bit my lips. Be professional, Lily.

"Maria is my sister."

"Oh." That surprised me.

"You single?" he asked, again.

"What do you think?" I said as I packed the cake.

"Got it," he said with a smile. "are you free tonight? Don't worry. I am not going to take you to a late-night pub but just a tea or coffee. anything you like?"

I wouldn't mind late-night clubs. "But why would I go with you? I don't even know your name."

Before I could complete my sentence, he said, "Michael. So, now?"

"Uhh..." should I go? Don't act like you are in a relationship, Lily.

"I don't like coffee. But I love tea," I said, finally.

He cracked a smile.

https://www.hazelparadise.com/

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Hazel Paradise

I am a non-fiction author. I believe every author to be their own boss and have multiple sources of income. Consistency is all you need!

https://www.patreon.com/hazelparadise

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.