Fiction logo

Sniffing Out the Prize

A Microfiction Story

By Cathy holmesPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2023
107
Photo by Author

Sixty seconds was all it took. One brief moment of time, one brief lapse of concentration by the two-legged creature, and a little patience and ingenuity on my part.

I had already disposed of the only other possible witness. That busybody blue-eared rat brought it upon himself though. I told him to keep his squeaky trap shut, but he just wouldn’t listen. When he threatened to sell me out unless I scooped him some cheese, he gave me no other choice. Sorry Mr. Rat, but you will squeak no more.

I had practiced my route for days, knowing my timing had to be precise. And then it happened! The human entered the kitchen, setting my cunning plan in motion. I stealthily ran under the big green bush and watched for my cue. The moment she opened the cupboard door, I meowed at the top of my kitty lungs.

When she ran from the kitchen, I hid behind the glittery bags. As she headed towards the bedroom, I pounced. Seconds later, I was back, relaxing under the tree with my prized bag of nip, and she was none the wiser. I’m sure she’ll figure it out eventually.

Humor
107

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (64)

Sign in to comment
  • C. H. Richard10 months ago

    Love that Abigail ♥️ Your narrative voice fits her perfectly and omg she is so cute ♥️

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    Watching a cat play with simple things is very entertaining 🥰🤣

  • Veronica Coldiron10 months ago

    😅🤣😂😅😂🤣

  • Love the cat!! Congratulations!

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    Abigail continues to rule the day!!!

  • This is so cute - full of personality and mischief. Just like the cat, I think! xx

  • Sandra Tena Cole11 months ago

    Absolutely brilliant!! 🤩 Abigail is a veritable mastermind x

  • Call Me Les11 months ago

    😂 oh Abigail you've done it again

  • Asif Ali11 months ago

    congratulation for you top story

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Sarah Danaher11 months ago

    Cats think they are stealthy but my friend's cat opens the container of treats while locked in the room

  • Krystal James11 months ago

    So cute!!! Congrats on the Top Story!

  • Chisom Kizito11 months ago

    Lovely one Cath!

  • Rao Nabeel11 months ago

    Great

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    Odd, I thought I had commented already - oh well, buddy here you go - Congrats to you and Abigail on another fine Top Story! I always can rely on your Abigail pieces to make me smile and this was no exception! So good, Cathy!

  • Amazing

  • Vimal11 months ago

    Congrats on the top story!

  • Interesting story

  • Cheryl E Preston11 months ago

    Great story really captivating

  • Sunday Adugba 11 months ago

    Interesting story. Fun time with pet

  • Imaobong Williams11 months ago

    Congrats Cathy!!! wonderful story

  • Lilly Cooper11 months ago

    Cats and Christmas trees 😆

  • Test11 months ago

    Congrats on the top story! Lots of personality in that cat :)

  • Aphotic11 months ago

    Lol! When I see Abigail I click immediately because I know it will be hilarious. This was no exception. Love it and the pictures you included.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.