Fiction logo

Snapped

In the south of Scotland, where lakes are frozen on foggy middays, something was about to happen...

By JaimiePublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1
Snapped
Photo by Stephen Ellis on Unsplash

Frosted leaves crumbled and snapped underfoot as we picked our way down the bank towards the pond. Birds strode over the ice, sneering at our awkward gaits. I admired the sunlight pouring from over the trees in the distance.

A sound like crystallised wind chimes hit the air and rang out around us. The sound filled me with a thrill I couldn't identify, fear? Awe? Our heads whipped around, eyes searching. My cousin. He giggled and threw another rock. The sound rose again. I shivered.

My breath fogged in my eyes. My swollen hands ached. I snapped another picture on my analogue camera, feeling the shutter button texture my finger. I imagined the photo would be beautiful: filled with the frosted ground, tree strewn horizon, and rising sun, gloomy from fog.

You're too close.

I'm not, I'm not.

You'll fall in.

I won't!

He stood so close to the surface of the ice, his shoes were breaking it. Even as he stumbled, arms raising into the sky to correct his balance, his wind-bitten face scrunched in determination to show he wouldn't fall in.

I snapped another picture, imagining that in the photo it would look as though he was balancing on a precipice and his shadow on the ice would reflect back at him.

We turned away.

A shout went up into the air. Our heads whipped around, eyes searching. He lay in the water, ice fragmented around.

I snapped another picture.

Short StoryMicrofictionHumorfamily
1

About the Creator

Jaimie

Amateur writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Penny Fuller2 months ago

    The last line was a definite surprise...

  • Toby Heward3 months ago

    Such a cute story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.