Fiction logo

Small World

A winter wonderland tale

By Meagan DionPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
13
Small World
Photo by Tony Ross on Unsplash

A frozen canvas surrounds me, pure and twinkling. My feet crunch in the snow, so beautiful it seems fake. Isn't it strange that we describe real things as so pretty they appear fake, and fake things as so pretty they look real? Trudging under the billowy grey skies, I make my way to the iron bench.

Time to meet Frank.

Brushing the confetti like flakes off the mahogany slats, I then smooth my woolen peacoat and sit down. Crossing my arms for warmth, I breathe into the air as if a dragon. Strangely, my breath does not become water vapor. In fact, nothing happens.

Ah, here's Frank. He smooths his peacoat, sits and breathes into the air.

"Weird, right Frank?"

Frank's silent.

"Frank, don't you think you should see your breath?"

Still, nothing. Though, Frank is a solemn fellow.

I peer at his profile. His face is hard, his eyes transfixed on something distant.

"Frank... Frank!"

Nothing.

"I mean, really Frank, you're just going to sit here and say nothing? Hello!?"

The nerve! Indignantly, I stand and storm off.

Glittery crystals cover everything, but none are falling now. The world is so silent it's almost ringing. My mind turns to Wilson Bentley and how he never found two snowflakes alike. "How can that be?" I wonder, bending to scoop a handful of identical snowflakes. Shrugging, I drop the snow and take two steps, but crash into a glass wall. Suddenly my world flips upside down, and is consumed in snowfall.

Fantasy
13

About the Creator

Meagan Dion

My life is a little crazy. Four kids, homeschool, write, create and coffee. Coffee is a verb. Do you coffee? I aspire to blow glass and finish / publish my novel. I would like to have an impact. Also, coffee.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Rhyonis; a Realm, a Rift2 months ago

    Oh wow! Chilling and thought provoking! Certainly a contender sheerly for the literal twist ending!

  • Raymond G. Taylor3 months ago

    Fantastic storytelling, so atmospheric and a great set-up to a powerful pay-off. Couldn't have been better. Well done.

  • Susan Fourtané3 months ago

    Very nicely done! It's lovely.

  • Randy Baker3 months ago

    Nice twist! I thought I knew how it would turn, but I was wrong. Good job!

  • Snowglobes! This was so brilliant! Loved your story!

  • Some globes are smaller than others. Though if you find at some point that you can see your breath, there's a good chance that glass wall is going to break & the consistency of your atmosphere is going to become radically thinner. Of course, the O2 won't be so ubiquitously tied to H any more.

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Oh snow!!! The snow globe tale is beautiful!!! Loved it!!!♥️♥️💕

  • If you guys want to know the answer, I’ll put it in a reply to this comment.

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    What a lovely picture you painted to go along with the erratic and unsure behavior of the MC. I believe she doesn't know she has passed on, carrying on as normal. Thanks for sharing.

  • Ashley Shiflett3 months ago

    Oh wow. Very intriguing!!

  • Jazzy 3 months ago

    Hmmm this was mind boggling and I like that. Perhaps I need to read it again. "Isn't it strange that we describe real things as so pretty they appear fake, and fake things as so pretty they look real?" I can only say, I have only thought this once but it is a good question.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.