Fiction logo

Sisters' Iliad

To the Women of this World

By Matthew PrimousPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Sisters' Iliad
Photo by Gemma Chua-Tran on Unsplash

Sisters you are strong. You are vibrant. You are young in spirit and flesh. You are all the colors of a rainbow. You are all over this world. You are in the light as well as in the darkness. And yes you are equal to men. Your minds are great and small. Your hands are strong and meaningful. You are a bright shining human beings. You are the torch. You opened the eyes of men and you embraced the complexities of life. You are to be admired and respected. You can grow in grace and be so ever true. You can lead us when the way is foggy. You can build us up when there is a leader or none strong enough to take the part. You can be the chief of the tribe. You can be the Queen of Kings. There is a secret power within you that is meant to guide us all. I believe in you sister is what your family says and what your friends says. I trust you is what the world will say because you are a steady souls that leads us on a steady path. I will follow you is what those who entrusted you with their life will say and proudly defend.

You can accomplished anything you put your mind to. Whether it be medicine, wars, leadership, counseling, you will make a change. You will draw us toward a better union. You will make us see that all people are equal. And the light from your soul will make us whole and the knowledge that you possess will feed a multitude upon multitude until all believe and know that we all can be just like you. Your voice is a guiding beacon. You can make the world in which we live a better place. Speak sisters and let your voices be heard. Speak sisters from the mountaintop and from the valley low and let us all hear what is truth. Let us hear what is right. Let us all come together and resound what you have spoken. Speak for the weak and speak for the lame. Speak for the mute and speak for your community. Speak with justice and speak with delight. Let us be transformed in your Heavenly assessment of humanity. Be not afraid of the anger. Be not afraid of the rebuke or scorn for you know that you are right and the just are on your side, sister. Lead bravely and boldly before the world. Show yourself to be resilient and others will follow in your footsteps. Sisters I am talking to you. I am addressing you with dreams and ambitions. Never let them die. Be bold as the kite and fly high, never let anyone tell you that you cannot be something. Sisters are a gift and a treasure that lighten one's life. They can be helpers and guides. I know a few close and I had many not close. Sisters can carry knowledge and pass it on like no one before them. They can encourage their own and even men to be men. Don't underestimate the power of sisterhood.

I know a sister or two who taught me to see from their perspective and it was not easy. They taught me to cry when no one understands. They taught me to feel when no one listen. They taught me to look at the brighter side of things. They shown me how to use my head to figure out the problems. Their very laughter made joy happen in my life. Their very smile made me feel overwhelmed. I know a few sisters that can teach you a thing or two. Their words went deep and I felt it in my soul. Just the words of power and delight and it made me wonder if I was really alive. They told me everything I've done and everything I hope to be. Being surrounded by sisters did not make me weep only strengthen me. Their minds made me wonder about life and my place. Everyone needs to think a little deeper. Everyone needs to give a little more. Everyone needs to be a little more compassionate. And this will be a better world. I rely on the advice of my sisters and their friends teaching me to listen to earth and heaven. They told me to listen to my own heart and reject the fears. I listen and I grew and loved. At my heart's fast pace I rested and at my heart's slow pace I challenge listening to my sisters' advice. I knew how to take on the world. I knew how to take my place and never try to outshine others who dare for more. I knew how to hear the call of the great and small. Not only to hear but to answer in due time, it bequest me to listen first then answer. My sisters said that a desperate cry must be urgent and an urgent cry must be despair. And we can never let despair take our hope or the hope of others. Sisters said use your strength wisely, little brother because you are only given it for a time. Don't use it for fame or power. Use it to help others and those sisters who need it the most. Choose who you entrust with it. Sisters give wisdom and sisters refuse to faint. Love them and love yourself with visions of true life and happiness.

And to the sisters suffering, my heart cries for them. Those that starve every night on a crust of bread. Those that can't live on their own. Those who everyday is a fight. My hopes is that someone and something saved them. For the more sisters we lose, the less we gain. Every sister has their place in this world. Every sister has their meaning. No matter what color, creed, and all the "ism", we must know that sisters have to rise to the occasions. They have to stand up for what brotherhood leaves out, sisterhood must bring back in.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.