Fiction logo

Signs in The Clearing

Today's Gift

By jacki fleetPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like
Signs in The Clearing
Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

Here I am. Just me. My name has disappeared. It is unnecessary. I am Me. I am I. I am.

The path is soft and dewy under my bare feet. I am entering my Daily Dose of Vitamin D time. A ritual I created for myself to savor the moment, my aliveness, my being, my thoughts, and the essence of what is. This is my energy time, my triple DDD, my trip number 1 and my Me time. My Great reset after The Great Reset.

I make sure to take in the soft green light as I walk in a trancelike state. I know this path like the back of my hand. I could do it blindfolded if I had to. I do it every day. Three times a day, for at least fifteen minutes. It is here that I drank in the sun, the light, the sounds, and the beauty of my world in the present moment. I also drink tea.

Sometimes I come to The Clearing at night. I walk the path without fear. I sit and take in the subtle shapes and forms that emit a soft and subtle green light. The life force energy is just visible and is reassuring. I don't feel so alone when I witness the lifeforce glowing gently all around me.

When I first came here, I set up my little abode just down from The Clearing in among the trees. I took several trips back to the silent ruined city to stock up on things I needed, like tea cups and tea pots, pots and a few other necessities. It really wasn't necessary to have more than one tea pot or tea cup, however in these circumstances, I think it's a small pleasure.

Also, having more than one is a good idea, just in case one day another person arrives out of the blue. You never know. It could happen. It would be crazy if I was the only one left.

Choosing my tea, my pot and my cup for the trip down the path has become a ritual. I don’t have a tea, a pot, or a cup especially assigned to a time of day. I like to stand there and just allow my intuition to choose. It gives me a sense of real freedom, even though I am free, to make this small decision random and instinctual.

By Loverna Journey on Unsplash

Most of my teas are gathered from the other garden, the one I made for growing my food and herbs. The floral and leaf brews are grown from the plants right here. This gives me a greater sense of connection with all things.

So, here I am in The Clearing. I called it The Clearing when I first found it. It felt secret and sacred at the same time. My sacred secret. The Clearing was symbolic of it’s purpose. Hence the daily walk to The Clearing. It is often in the clearing that a sign appears.

I sit in the garden in my favourite spot where the sun shines through the forest of trees, and dapples above. The breeze is ever so slight, just enough to make the leaves dance. Here in the clearing is a small table and chair. Just enough for one to enjoy the moment alone.

I consider this for a moment, and it is neither happy or sad. It just is. This is how it is since the Great Reset. It just is and so I allow myself to adjust again as I realise this is a process. I may process this every day, thee times a day and yet it is still a process, hence the need for The Clearing.

The Clearing is no more than about 7 metres. It is covered in a soft mossy groundcover that is spongey under feet. The small circular space receives its light differently at different times of the day. At certain times, like now, I call it my green light, soft, gentle, healig.

This place, The Clearing, is my sanctuary. It offers the simplest of things and also the most profoundly complex. It offers a moment with my self and nature.

I see nature as an ever-present series of signs that give meaning to my day. I take every sign and write it in my Book of Signs. I draw it too. Just a small reminder of the sign makes the sign indelible in my mind and allows me to discover the various aspects of the sign within myself that emerge.

Not every day has signs, but I am open to seeing even the smallest sign from The Universe, The Source and the energies around me.

Strangely as I contemplate my mission to gather signs, my eyes glaze over and I am in my head rather than being the keen observer of my world that I think I am. This usually happens when a sign is coming. I forget the world for a moment. The world disappears and I just am for that moment, a part of the very nature in which I sit.

It has been in times like this when an unexpected sign appears. This can be as subtle as a feather or as magnificently free as a bird. These signs are my favourites, if I had a favourite. Equally a favourite would be any sign that later proves to be of significant meaning.

Regardless, I write the signs in my Book of Signs. I code them by date, and trip one, two or three. I keep the book in the cabinet that hangs in the tree. I made it especially for the book, so the Book of Signs would always be here to record the signs. I had woven the cabinet out of the branches and leaves into the frame to make it somewhat weather proof.

Inside is a metal box. In the box is the Book of Signs, a couple of pencils, an eraser, a sharpener, a sharpening knife, a couple of brushes and an old watercolor set from my previous life before The Great Reset.

The Great Reset happened a few years back. Everything had changed in the world and somehow, through it all, I survived. Life is very different now. That’s why The Clearing is important. The Clearing takes care of two things, and both of them are me.

I thank my luck for finding The Clearing. When I found it I knew I would stay. Here I am closest to my gifts. What is left of my world after The Great Reset is so different to how it was before. The before is lost and there is only the present.

They almost did it, I thought. Almost, and I smile. The Sun has been both a savior and a destroyer in these times. I have lived to appreciate both worlds. Everyone I know didn’t.

The Sun beams in at an angle, hitting the only marigold flower open in the garden bed for the season. I gaze at the magnificence of The Marigold's radiance. Like the pure radiance of The Sun. Unfolding petals like layers of a spinning world, ever radiating in eternal motion set my mind in motion as I resonate with it.

The Marigold has many layers, like an unfolding, cyclic dance. The Dance of Life. I am again brought to the events of the Great Reset. The unfolding on a human level and the unfolding on such a micro level, such as my world. Me.

The triple DDD walk is my way of structuring my day. It is something I look forward to every day as it is my only bit of routine. Days like this when The Sign has so much meaning, suddenly become structureless as The Sign has to be recorded, whatever that entails.

I automatically go to the cabinet, open it and remove the Book of Signs and the pencils and sit down again. A sunbeam strikes my head for a moment and I feel blessed.

My hand hardly feels the pen as I start to write.

Automatically I filled in my date code. This is Me and Me only, so I can track my Signs and the moment clarity occurs. It is the way I download info as I trance it onto the page.

This is the moment I give in to it all. I allow my Sign to flow onto the page and see what happens. It happens by the way of the tea, unplanned and instinctual, and so the Book of Signs entry emerges. I allow it to evolve onto the page.

Today The Marigold, the sunbeam, The Sun and the events that occurred, reminded me of the power of The Sun. The Sun decided on The Great Reset. Nothing else.

It had been the 11:11, the Breath of The Sun. Yes, I remember that fateful day like it was yesterday, and yet there are some things I cant quite remember.

That day The Sun appeared to split in two in the sky, emitting a light like no other. This was the day of The Angel. The Angel lives in my mind like the day it appeared. I breathe in the Angel light now in remembrance. My Angel came to me when the world descended into The Chaos after the Two Suns and The Great Reset. The Angel was the one who had taken me to safety as I was left amongst The Chaos. I remember The Angel saying something, but I only remember fragments. I remember a series of numbers. Mostly, I remember the Two Suns and The Light of The Angel.

Image made in Canva by Jacki Fleet

My hand automatically starts recording all references as they download. The Sun emerges as a symbol in the middle of the page. The Marigold, also is radiating, and cyclic. Twin forms. I am reminded nature has the gift of cycles, how Humanity liked to think they could control so much, and how The Sun had other plans, and of The Angel and The Light.

To survive, The Angel had guided me underground to a place where I stayed for quite some time. How long I wasn’t sure, but I missed The Sun and started to feel my life energy fading. I needed to find out what it was like out there again. No more hiding from The Sun.

When I emerged, I emerged to a world I did not recognise. Where was everyone? The streets, or what was left of them were empty. I felt dazed and went back to gather my few belongings and left the underground.

I had walked and walked for days, not seeing a single soul. I followed my feet and just allowed myself to be guided. At some point I took a diversion off the streets and followed a stream. Somehow eventually, I found The Clearing and decided to walk no further.

I felt The Sun on my face shining softly. Like being hugged by The Marigold petal I thought, and I smiled. In the present moment there is Me and The Signs. Me and the presence of The Angel.

Today's gift in The Clearing. The Sign. The Marigold. The Light. The Unfolding. The sense of The Angel.

'Thankyou for my gift today My Angel'.

By Leonie Krickhuhn on Unsplash

This story was written as part of the Vocal Fiction Challenge, Green Light. When I think of green light I think of nature and the light that filters through the leaves, and also how living forms have a light aura and energy.

If you enjoyed this read and would like to keep up with my latest stories and articles, Vocal has just added a follow feature, so hit the follow button and you won't miss out on anything.

Jacki Fleet

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

jacki fleet

I am an artist. A painter, designer and creator who likes to write. I live in the Northern Territory of Australia. Writing is something I enjoy, usually for myself. I decided it's time to start sharing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.