Fiction logo

SHORT STORY

Horror

By Ejeh EmmanuelPublished about a year ago 4 min read

A SHORT STORY

I was given a teddy bear on my birthday and ever since then the person who gave me the teddy bear stopped talking to me.

I tried all my best to make things work between us but all my efforts was in vain so I moved on, Maybe our friendship was not even supposed to be in the first place.

After some weeks after my birthday I was so busy with side hustling and studies which I hardly even have time to pray. During that time I couldn't remember the last time that I opened my bible and study the word of God and as time flies, I became lazy and weak in prayer.

One night immediately after the power was restored I quickly plugged my phone and took my pen to write a fictional story about evil spirits...but suddenly I felt a wave of weariness which made me feel restless and I didn't know why I was feeling that way at all.

“Oh come on, what's wrong with me... Is this writer's block again? I said to myself and crawled to the bed.

Then I couldn't control my eyes contacts with the teddy bear, I was looking at it like I was looking at a human being and we were both looking at each other.

“What is wrong with me? I whispered and carried the teddy and laid my head on its chest. I didn't realized when I fell asleep and woke up in the middle of the night, when I woke up I realized that the bulb was switched off and I couldn't remember vividly that I didn't switch it off.

Everything looked so strange to me and most shockingly, the teddy bear that I was laying on was right beside me and I was laying my head on the pillow.

I stood up from the bed and walked like a toddler to the table, I was shocked to see that the ink has spilled on my giant story book and the inkwell has fell to the floor.

“What’s going on? I asked myself several times till I finally slept off again.

After that night I had forgotten what happened and my love for the teddy bear became even stronger that I even communicated with it like a friend.

I lost interest in associating with people, I enjoyed talking to the teddy bear than talking to people. “I am not in the mood” is what I told people when they talked to me and some people neglected me as well.

But there was a lady who was so interested in me that even as I was ignoring her she still came to visit me.

“What are you doing here Debby? I asked her and continued refilling my pen.

“I am here to pray with you.” she said and sat on the bed. I was about to say yes and welcome her wholeheartedly but immediately I glanced at the teddy bear I became cold all of sudden.

“You need to leave now! I said with an hint of derision in my cracked voice.

She grimaced at me and stood up from the bed but immediately she stood up she mistakenly hit the teddy bear so it fell on the floor.

“Leave! I shouted at her so she left. Immediately after she left I felt relieved again and continued writing. I didn't know till I slept off again.

The following day I heard that Debby was involved in an accident and she was in the hospital. I didn't care because anytime I wanted to think straight and my eyes contacted with the teddy's I would loose focus.

I isolated myself in the room and became more closer to the teddy, I even named it and started telling it everything I have done and seen in my life without getting a response from it.

In the middle of the night, the wind was howling and the curtain was blowing like it would remove from it holder. I opened my eyes and saw that the teddy that I left on the chair was laying beside me on the bed.

“Wait?! How is this possible? I shouted and threw the teddy over the window and went back to sleep.

If I was counting the hours, minutes and seconds then the time I woke up back would be 5 hours after I threw the teddy over the window.

I didn't know where the pain came from, right on my left arm. My left fingers were shaking as my arm was so weak that I couldn't even carry it up.

“Oh Lord! I carried and rolled over the bed in severe pain. Then right on my abdomen, I could feel that sharp pain like something unknown was splitting it into pieces.

The pains were so unbearable, I couldn't reach my phone maybe even if I wanted to call anyone around.

I was on the bed through out the night, I couldn't move nor walk my body...I started whispering the lord's prayer till I could see the sunlight through the window.

“May I come in? I heard that voice from the door but I couldn't talk as I was struggling to, and after few minutes that the person has been knocking she finally opened the door and came in.

It was Debby, poor lady her head and hand was badly injured and she still came to me after chasing her away.

She sat beside the bed and took my hand to her chest, tears started flowing on our faces and I still couldn't talk to her. It was like she knew what has happened to me when she didn't ask me what happened but started praying for me.

Throughout that day she was praying like heaven would open and I was saying muttering amen till I could talk again but when I did it was just like that of a baby that was just learning how to talk.

When I regained my strength finally, we both went to the backyard where I threw the teddy and we burnt it to ashes.

After few days that we burnt the teddy I heard that my friend who gave me the teddy has relocated to an unknown place and I couldn't reach her till date.

Short StoryHorror

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    EEWritten by Ejeh Emmanuel

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.