Fiction logo

She's My Man

Part 2: Xlipto

By Edara OtukPublished 7 months ago 4 min read
2

“Yes, the girl”, Buzan continued.

“I saw her in one of the visions I had when I drank of the fountain of knowledge.”

“You what?” This time the mother could not help but flare up. She stood up and stared down at her son.

“You are not a child Buzan. You have heard the most common saying in the land ‘Drink, drink and a little more thou goest mad’. You have heard over and again the myth about the man, who stumbled on the fountain of knowledge, could not resist the unending call of knowledge, drank and drank, never satisfied, he stepped into the fountain and till this day, no one has heard of him.”

“Did you consider what would become of your family if we lost you? Did you for once think of the consequences of your action?”

“Mum I’m sorry. I truly am but the truth is that I do not regret having done that and that was the only way to tap the knowledge and I only drank a handful, nothing more. Fine, it was tempting to continue, but then I saw her. I saw her ma and that was all I needed to stop.”

His response got to his mother. She was speechless. The son was obviously in love. The look on her boy’s face broke her heart.

‘This is a disaster’, she thought.

‘Everything about him has always been outstanding for pete’s sake.

How would she handle this one? Why didn’t his heart choose one out of the fair virgins in the land. Another universe, another whole universe!’ She lamented to herself.

‘What is she now supposed to tell the boy? Give out the truth as it is or give him false hope that there’d be a way. The only way she sees a way is in another life; if Mother Nature grants his wish to be reborn in the same universe as the girl.’

“Ma, you are not saying anything.” Buzan’s voice interrupted her thought.

“I lack words Buzan”

“Say something Ma,” he pleaded, looking expectantly at the mother.

The mother sighed.

She took some minutes to calculate what to say and how best to relate it.

“Buzan, there are hundreds of virgins in the land. You will learn to love another.”

She was disappointed in herself. After all her thinking and calculations, that was all she could say. She could not even term his feelings for the alien an infactuation. She was Xliptian, she knew how it is finding one’s mate. Your heart chooses one and just that one for life, except in some cases that one’s mate has died, if you are lucky enough your heart could find another.

Unfortunately, it almost never happens. The Xliptians were almost immortals. Death was nothing normal to them. Except a follow Xliptian raises a sword at his brother or there’s an attack by a stronger force, the Xliptians do not naturally know death.

And ofcourse, the faster and easiest way to incur an attack by a stronger force is to enter the cave of the undead when it’s not during the fairest of days without following due procedures i.e being sanctified and fortified by the high priestess and it almost as well never happens.

The only other time the Xliptians had recorded quite a number of dead was due to the former reason.

There was a riot caused by the king's brother who thought it was better if he were the king and had successfully won some hearts over . So many xliptians had lost their lives and mates due to the clash. Those that lost their mates had to live and dine with pains and loneliness.

Such that could not bear to continue had begged the high priestess to put them to sleep until their hearts signaled a mate which no one knew if that would ever happen.

Motion was moved to give them a painless death and end their misery by the elders. The high priestess had put them to sleep and till date no miracle has happened to any of them. The high priestess was yet to agree to the request of ending their lives.

The mother was very worried about the fate the son.

“There’s one way out son,” she voiced out.

“You will have to go and see the high Priestess”.

“That will get me in trouble Ma. I know I should not have been there in the first place.”

“It’s either that or you live a mateless life, since you have already lost your heart to an alien.”

“I’ll be punished Ma”

“That, you will be. Nevertheless, you will as well be attended to. Judge for yourself if it won’t be worth the risk.”

One could see Buzan’s helplessness plastered on his face. He had lowered his head and supported it with his palms on both sides of his face. After some minutes have passed, he sighed and straightened in posture.

“I will go and meet the high priestess Ma.”

“Are you sure about this?”

“Yes Ma”

“I will go with you then.”

“No ma. Please I do not want you to get into trouble because of me. I beg you, let me do this alone.”

After some seconds of consideration, the mother accepted his plea.

thrillerYoung AdultSeriesLoveFantasyfamilyAdventure
2

About the Creator

Edara Otuk

I am a passionate wordsmith with a flair for story telling. I strive to create works that resonate and inspire. In every piece, I infuse a piece of my soul; I pour my heart into every word, hoping to leave you with a thought or a smile.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test7 months ago

    Such a beautiful story.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.