Fiction logo

She's my man

Part one- Xlipto

By Edara OtukPublished 7 months ago 5 min read
Like

Busan » she called.

She called again after waiting some minutes without getting any response. She stood at the door impatiently, cursing in her mind.

She could swear with all gods in Xlipto that her son was still in bed. She wrestled against the idea of entering the room. Yes, the door was locked but since when did she need a door to enter into any room. The last time she had entered her son's room, she had met him naked to the bones; not that it bothered her in anyway, she was his mother and his nakedness was nothing new to her but the son's reaction was enough to give her a rethink this time.

He had screamed the planet to vibration and with the speed of light literally had dressed up. When she had recovered from the vibration, the look he had given her was of pure horror.

"You should have at least warned me before coming in ma," he had said accusingly.

"I'm a man now, I need some privacy."

And that was how he'd gotten her to promise she'd always knock on the door and patiently wait for him to open before she'd go in.She was already getting mad with impatience.

"Buzan!" she cried out again swearing she would go in if he did not respond or better open the door immediately.

"Ma!" he called out and opened the door trying very hard to control his breathing so he would not give himself out.

"What have you been doing all these time?" She asked him, noticing the way he was trying hard not to gasp for breath.

"Nothing Ma. I was just trying to tidy up my room before I let you in. I didn't want you to start whining about how I can't keep my room clean and all".

She entered inside the room and looked around to fill herself in with what was really happening. The room was clean, she'd give him that but something was just off. She could not place what but she could just feel it in the atmosphere. She turned again to the son.

"Buzan?"

"Ma?"

"Well, are you going to tell me or should I find it out myself and you know if I find it out myself..."

"Fine!" he interrupted her.

"Fine! But you have to promise me that it will be between us".

" And if you've done something stupid?"

"Hmmm..."

"Buzan?"

"Ma it's something stupid but I promise you it's for a good course."

"And that's suppose to calm me down? What's the reason if I may ask?"

Buzan looked down and anxiously scratched his head. He slowly looked up to the eyes of his mother still staring at him.

"I'm in love ma..." he said drawlingly, half expecting the mother would not just get it.

To his surprise, she smiled. Buzan's mother could recognize that sheepish look on the son's face. That was the same his father, her beloved gives her when he is overwhelmed with love and does not know just how to express it.

"Who is the girl" she asked.

"Errrmmmm. That's where the problem is Ma."

He lowered his head again to the ground and anxiously chewed on his nail.

“Ma, I know how you will react to this but please just hear me out first?” Buzan pleaded.

“Okay I’m listening”.

“I somehow heard about the secret chamber that holds mysteries of the universe?”

“How did you come about such information?”

“I can’t say ma”

“You know such discussions are forbidden?”

Buzan was already getting frustrated due to where the discussion was diverting. He ruffled his hair and heaved a sigh before trying his best to comport himself and calm his impatience so as not to get himself into trouble by getting is mother infuriated.

“Ma please?”

Knowing quite well what the son was referring to, she decided to let go and listen.

“Ok. I’m listening Buzan”.

“I was intrigued.”

“I’d be surprised otherwise”, the mum replied.

“We made plans to visit the secret chambers ourselves.”

“You can’t be serious! You did what?” She shouted suddenly before she could get a grip on herself.

“Ma please!” She looked at her son sternly before she relaxed back on where she was sitting for him to continue with his tale.

“Like I said, we made plans to visit the secret chamber.”

He said it while staring searchingly at his mother’s face, looking for the slightest sign of provocation. When he was unable to find, he relaxed and continued.

“We eventually went to the place”

“To the cave of the undead? How did you get past the traps?"

Buzan chuckled proudly and mellowed down when the mother daggered her stares at him.

“It was not very simple Ma, and I was with my friends, Pretscal and Druce. The two sharpest Brains in Xlipto”

“And the brains didn’t help you analyse the fact you’d be in trouble if anyone found out? How come everyone that has heard about it was sharp enough to understand that the cave of the undead is forbidden and it never occurred to you trio?”

Buzan looked down avoiding his mother’s eyes and the mother knew she would end up not getting the whole story, the undiluted story if she kept on interrupting him with her queries.

“Ok. Continue”, she encouraged.

“Before I continue ma, I’ll like to ask a question. How come you’ve heard about the secret chambers and I have never?”

“You are still too young and reckless. Imagine your first reaction when you heard about it; to go hunting for the cave of the undead. You and your friends were lucky that we are in the fairest of days when evil slumbers. The forces you would have met there would have wiped the smirks off your faces.”

Buzan made a mental note of things he would ask her when she was in a better mood.

“Fairest of days when evil slumbers”, whatever that meant.

The thought of what probably would have happened if they were not lucky made him shudder.

“How is the girl related to the secret chamber?” she asked as she was already losing patience due to the sensitivity of the subject matter.”

Series
Like

About the Creator

Edara Otuk

I am a passionate wordsmith with a flair for story telling. I strive to create works that resonate and inspire. In every piece, I infuse a piece of my soul; I pour my heart into every word, hoping to leave you with a thought or a smile.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.