Fiction logo

Shattered Reflections

Mirrors of Deception

By Julian WestPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
Shattered Reflections
Photo by Katelyn Greer on Unsplash

As I stared into the shattered mirror, I couldn't help but feel a sense of dread wash over me. The once pristine glass was now broken into a million pieces, reflecting back at me a distorted image of myself. It was as if the mirror was trying to tell me something, but I couldn't quite decipher its message.

I had always been a confident person, but lately, I had been feeling lost and unsure of myself. My career was stagnant, my relationships were failing, and I felt like I was stuck in a rut. Looking at my shattered reflection, I realized that I needed to make a change.

I decided to take a trip to a remote island, hoping to find some clarity and direction. As I explored the island, I stumbled upon an old abandoned house. It was dilapidated and overgrown with vines, but something about it drew me in.

As I entered the house, I was greeted by a musty smell and a sense of foreboding. The walls were covered in old photographs, and as I looked closer, I realized that they were all of me. Each photo captured a different moment in my life, from my childhood to my present struggles.

Suddenly, I heard a creaking sound, and I turned to see an old woman standing in the doorway. She introduced herself as the caretaker of the house and explained that the photos were a reflection of my past and present. She told me that I needed to confront my fears and embrace my true self if I wanted to move forward.

As I left the island, I felt a sense of clarity and purpose. I knew that I had to let go of my past and embrace my true self if I wanted to find success and happiness. Looking back at my shattered reflection, I realized that it was a symbol of my journey towards self-discovery and acceptance.

Microfiction
Like

About the Creator

Julian West

I will try to transport you to enchanting lands, evoke heartfelt emotions, and ignite your sense of wonder. Join me as we explore the limitless possibilities and get lost in the magic of words together. Thank you for reading my stories

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.