Fiction logo

Shadow Academy, chapter 39

The Nyght Tales, book 1

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

By the end of the first day, more than half of the students had been booted out of the Tournament. And there were still many people I'd have to face if I wanted to make it to my finals.

Elys had somehow scraped by, he and his opponent having been caught in a stalemate for about half an hour before knocking him out cold.

Unlike Wren, who took down her opponent within the first five minutes of the round. She hadn't held back, though. And Wren clearly had been smarter than the male she faced.

So, pretty much every angel I knew made it past the first round. Lucky us. Or was it?

I'd heard brutal stories about contestants dying during the Tournament. Yes, we were all consenting adults and knew the risks, but it still brought a sour taste into my mouth.

I sat in my room, playing games on my tablet. There was supposed to be a party tonight, but I didn't plan to attend. I didn't see the point, and my mind was drained of energy.

Besides, peace and quiet called to me after all the shouts and screams of today. How did Elys handle it with such ease? His hearing was at least double the strength of mine.

I shook my head, setting my tablet on my bed. I massaged my temples, eyes closed. My whole being ached, but my head hurt the most. Perhaps a visit to the infirmary would do me good.

As I stood, my door opened, and Tarek stepped in, "Thought I might find you in here."

"I was hiding from all of the people."

His brow lifted, "Am I people?"

I smirked, "Depends on what you want."

"To see how you were doing."

"Everything hurts, especially my head."

Tarek grabbed my shoulders, gently pushing me back onto the bed. "I can help with that."

Sitting next to me, he placed both hands around my temples, eyes closing. Warmth rushed through me, my skin tingling as the aches and pounding subsided until they dissipated completely.

"How's that?" he leaned back.

I rolled my neck, "Thanks. I had forgotten you're half asa."

"It's not something I show off," Tarek shrugged, "And you're welcome."

"Why not?"

"The Academy doesn't think it's wise."

I frowned, "Well, that's stupid."

He didn't reply.

I didn't feel like arguing with him at the moment, although I didn't feel like doing anything with him until the Tournament was over. I needed to save what energy I could.

I laid back, the pillow cushioning my head. "I'm still mentally exhausted, though."

"The Tournament will do that to you."

"Yay me."

He smirked, "Well, I should get going. Gotta make sure the other students don't cause too much trouble."

"Okay."

I laid down after the door closed, closing my eyes. I was lucky he knew what I needed when I needed it. Most people had no clue.

I heard faint noises coming from outside as I let my mind wander. I heard them every day, despite the soundproofing in the walls.

I really did need to be by myself right now, the back of my left hand tingling. Elys was near, but I knew he wouldn't bother me. Besides, he was probably too busy having fun with Wren anyway.

I smirked at the thought, my mind relaxing.

Despite my attempts to fall asleep, my stomach had other ideas, grumbling at me for food. Too bad I couldn't have dinner brought up to my sleeping quarters. I'd checked within the first week of me being there.

I slowly sat up, sighing and putting on a long sleeve shirt before standing and exiting my quarters. The hallways and stairs felt longer and farther than usual. Hopefully, no one would bother me.

As I walked across campus, fellow students hurried around, getting things for the party. I noticed multi-colored light emanating from the auditorium. I supposed it was a better place for the teachers to watch without disturbing the atmosphere.

I rolled my eyes, speeding up towards the Mess Hall. Shouldn't we wait to celebrate until after the Tournament ended?

Hardly anyone occupied the Mess Hall. Thank the Divine. I got my food quickly and sat at an empty table. The kona was delightful for my tastebuds, warming my insides.

And I was able to eat in peace, no one coming up to congratulate me on making it past the first round. Now I only had to wait until tomorrow.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.