Fiction logo

Sew Connected

The Thread That Binds

By Aquamarine FoxPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Diving Deep

Art has always been my passion to the point that I even teach it. Many of the things I know it's from experimentation and teaching myself, which is something I try to teach my students everyday. I don't do just one type of art, I do any and everything I can get my hands on. When it comes to textiles the only thing I knew when I first started out was to just try it out and if it didn't work try another way. I started off sewing by hand until my now husband bought me my first sewing machine. I struggled learning how to use it for a long time, but now I usually don't have any problems.

When I first started out my biggest enemy was random knots that I could not understand where they came from. As I got better, many would turn to me to sew buttons back on or stitch up holes in their clothes. They were very little things at first, but it grew into more of a passion as I got older. I was sad to miss out on learning from my great-

grandmother who would hand embroider these wonderful works of art that could be compared to Thomas Kinkade paintings. By time I was old enough to sit still long enough her hands could no longer hold a needle. I am glad that I often was curious about things so I do remember sitting there and watching her occasionally and the things I remember helped me get started.

I often upcycle clothing, but my real passion for sewing is to create my own creatures, plushies, and embroidery. I have made my niece several plushies, made my first interesting creature, and hand embroidered eyes for them. I have also been trying to understand and work with patterns as well as made some of my own occasionally. My style is heavily influenced by the unordinary. I love mythical creatures from many different backgrounds. My most recent project was a Kelpie and I'm currently beginning to work on making a pattern for a Kirin.

I've always been drawn to folklore and the mysterious. The Kelpie is from Celtic folklore and it is a haunting beauty. It stands out in the field as a beautiful horse that many times lore's children in. When we are young we are so impressionable and unfortunately, easy to manipulate. The Kelpie manipulates the children into thinking that they stumbled across a magnificent find. As they come into contact with it and climb upon it's back their excitement becomes their undoing. Just as the children were excited, the Kelpie's excitement grew. The unsuspecting children are now being drawn to the water as the Kelpie sheds it's disguise, but it's too late for the children to escape. As it pulls them into the water it's grotesque form emerges. As the Kelpie drags them further into the deep the truth emerges for the children that is inescapable.

Many times these stories are warnings to stay away from the unknown and the dangers of the water's edge, but looking deeper into these stories it can show you that as we are young we are surrounded by lies and manipulation. Sometimes these are not meant to hurt the ones they are told to, but just like the Kelpie, the tricks adults can play can be just as destructive. The ones that escape the destruction, often, are shaped by the pain of the truth they learn. To see and understand such lies and manipulation at a young age forces the mind to grow beyond its years.

Children should be allowed to explore the mysterious and the unknown, but always have a gentle hand that reminds them not to go to the water's edge and don't dive too deep, because sometimes there's no return.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Aquamarine Fox

AnSta

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.